We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice local hotel with great birding”
Review of Blue Posts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Posts Hotel
Ranked #85 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is not a tourist hotel and the atmosphere is entirely different. It is on a river with two great waterfalls that can be appreciated from the hotel grounds. The rooms are nice but not as one would find in a tourist hotel. There is a computer internet center at the hotel. When I arrived there was a band playing on the grounds and everyone was having a great time with a large local crowd. Fifteen minutes later the rain began in buckets and that was the end of that. I regret that I missed it. The restaurant was good.

Now for the best part. The birding here is outstanding. On the grounds were seen White-headed Barbets (3), Eastern Honeybird, Montaine White-eye, African Golden Weaver, African Citril, Rupple's Robin-chat, Black-throated Wattle-eye, Scarlet-chested Sunbird, Grey-capped Warbler, and Grey-olive Greenbul.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Muncie - Birder,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as your preferred destination while in Kenya. We are glad you had a good experience during your stay and you enjoyed the tranquility and serenity that the hotel has to offer. You will be happy to hear that we now have free wi-fi at all our outlets and conference halls. Our band now plays every other weekend and public holiday despite the weather. It is important to also note that we have fantastic bird life as you experienced though you managed to spot just a few out of the wide variety we have, we have well trained naturalists who can take you deeper into our nature trail for a greater experience in your next visit.

Asanti sana.

Regards,

John Ngossorr
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Blue Posts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Blue Posts is steeped in colonial history (it's mentioned in Elspeth Huxley's 'The Flame Trees of Thika'). It has a very special atmosphere because of this and its location between the Chania Falls and the Thika Falls. We accepted the slightly sad appearance of the unmodernised rooms and the brave but not entirely successful attempts at English breakfast for the sake of the well-kept gardens, the space, the peace (with the sound of the Falls in the background), the friendly staff. The room itself (we had one with a verandah) was a bit gloomy, but spacious, with a comfortable bed and hot water in the shower. Internet access was available at reasonable rates.
(Beware of misleading maps: Blue Posts is not in Nairobi at all. It is just outside Thika - about 4 km NW of Thika centre).

Room Tip: The nicest rooms face out towards the falls.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The place has really good grounds and a very quite place with the sound of the water falls makes you really relaxed. The buffet menu was really good, suiting every body. found no mosquitoes in the rooms though they have mosquito nets. The animal park and the guides are really good and well conversant with the animals their. Location very strategic can visit mount Kenya on a days outing and was back in time for dinner. conference was good though not very advanced. the curios were very good. note the telephone numbers working are [--], i found out the once at this site do not work.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank browndubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Browndudai,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as preferred destination on your visit to Thika. Your kind comments are well noted and appreciated, we have since rectified the telephone number issue. we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

regards,
John Ngossorr
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Very many years ago, about a century, in fact, white settlers and other travelers going upcountry from Nairobi stopped at this place near Thika town for a drink and sometimes to spend the night. Located at the site of two waterfalls, Chania and Thika, it was a beautiful place to pass a few hours.

Nowadays, there is really not much reason to come to Thika or stay here. You'd be better off staying in Nairobi, though you wouldn't get the peaceful grounds and waterfalls there.

The grounds used to be covered with hibiscus and bougainvillea, and brightly colored weaver birds were all over the place. You can still find some of the flora, but the birds are more scarce now. The grounds are still well maintained, and in the evenings and weekends, many locals come to have a drink on the open ground outside the dining room. Some thatched umbrellas have been erected at the Chania falls viewpoint, but they are never occupied, since there is no bar nearby, and no seats. Dinner was terrible, but breakfast wasn't too bad.

A small animal sanctuary has been established, costing about $3 to enter. Not worth it - you'll see an ostrich and some other small creatures. An onsite souvenir workshop should present you with some good bargains of carvings and other curios.

The rooms are pretty rustic, but they have the essentials - a bed and a clean, working bathroom. Mosquitoes could be a problem, but the hotel can provide mosquito nets. Ask for the rooms facing the open grounds towards the falls. You won't see the falls, but you'll get a nice breeze. Air-conditioning is not available.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank ninni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PTR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank PMassimiliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
Cravers Grill Thika
#1 of 6 in Thika
4 reviews
Kima Hotel
#128 of 167 in Nairobi
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Greton
#104 of 167 in Nairobi
12 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#101 of 167 in Nairobi
52 reviews
Sky Hotel Nairobi
#61 of 167 in Nairobi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Posts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Posts Hotel

Address: Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $53 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Posts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Blue Posts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing