We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Wildebeest very recently in one of the en suite tents and were very impressed. It is a great safe place and also a very attractive place to stay and very clean. We used the camp as our Nairobi base before going on to other places, and each time we came back it felt like coming home. Staff are friendly, food is delicious and not expensive. Could not recommend it more highly. Generally great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    128
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
45
108
82
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I used Wildebeest as a base for various trips all over Kenya. It surpassed all my expectations. Three of us sharing stayed in an en suite tent, it was vast, clean and seriously comfortable with a private deck and chairs. Being right in the corner we were not disturbed. It's not in central Nairobi, which I thought was pretty perfect, but is close to the elephants and giraffe attractions and a short drive to Karen. The place has a lovely atmosphere and the bar/terrace is a perfect setting to while away the evening with a bottle of Tusker and tuck into the buffet supper. I would definitely go back, again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: Any of the en-suite tents with terrace are great value and I think worth spending a little more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived and they quickly put up some tents for us. 1 for me and my husband and 1 for our 3 daughters. My matrass is very thin and very smelly.When we touch down to try get some sleep, rain starts. tent leaking. On top of the 6 Americans on the terrace near the main house, having a very (very!) loud ''conversation. SMoking, drinking and getting louder and louder till well after midnight. For a very late arrival, another tent is been put up 5 meters from ours.Sounds like Japanese. ZIpp open, look for something in a plastic bag. ZIpp close. Again ZIpp open, look for something in a plastic bag Repeat. Repeat. At 05:45 a bus with Germans arrives. They shuot, throw doors , lik eit's in the middle of the day and they're alone on this world. We're glad to leave that day !

Room Tip: Get a fixed tent and fingers crossed you have other guest realizing they're not alone in this wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwende-MoNiQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you were pleased that we were able to respond quickly and accommodate your family when you arrived without a reservation. The tents that we use when our guests reserve a ‘camping tent’ are high quality rip-stop canvas tents which are imported from South Africa. They are generally waterproof, however like most pitched tents, if there is a heavy deluge (which can happen in Nairobi) or if there are items resting against the tent walls, water can seep. It can also be the case that things feel wet from the damp air, but this is not due to any leakage.

We were of course sorry to hear that other guests disturbed your enjoyment and rest during your stay. Our bar closes at midnight, however we cannot force guests to go to bed – but of course we also do not encourage them to keep the noise down and respect their fellow guests. The same is the case for guests who are arriving and departing at odd hours.

On most nights, I can honestly say that all guests are tucked up in bed by around 10pm, and the camp is very peaceful – so every night is different. But I do sympathise, and it is certainly the case that some travellers really do think they are the only people on the planet. It is really a shame that you have judged our camp, based on other people’s ignorance, because it is such a beautiful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staying here for 2 nights. In the budget room. Really comfortable bed. I can't fault this place. So relaxing sitting in the beautiful grounds listening to the birds. The food is good, and breakfast is included. The staff are so helpful, and the owners have two adorable boys. This will be my first choice next time I am in Kenya.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had already been travelling for some time when we arrived to Nairobi, and though it was expected that our budget would have to go up for the Kenya portion of our trip, it was still unpleasant to pay more for a night of camping in our own tent than we had been paying for a private room weeks ago in other cities. But like I said, that was to be expected, and probably even more so at a location of this quality.

Overall Wildebeest Camp was very impressive. Located in a quiet neighborhood, the grounds are beautiful and well cared for, and they seem to be continually making improvements (a new pond was in construction while we were there). As we were camping, I cannot speak to the rooms or luxury tents, but the shared bathrooms were clean and the showers warm. The restaurant had great selection, and the food was tasty. The owner was helpful when we had some questions regarding local transportation within Nairobi. Though not close to the airport (where I imagine many people might be arriving/departing from), it is a clean, comfortable, and welcoming place. (also of note: we did use their transport from the airport, and the driver was waiting for us as our plane landed, and promptly took us to the camp. Good service.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAPjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at Wildebeest in March and enjoyed the atmosphere and wonderful tents! The deck of the restaurant is a gathering place with wifi and plug ins for convenience. Enjoyed the landscaping. It is difficult to reach from the Nairobi Airport through awful traffic (not their fault!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wildebeest Eco Camp is one of my new favorite places to stay. Our stay there was serene, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The food was excellent and the dining area is a wonderful place to relax. The rooms are beautiful - we stayed in a deluxe tent and loved the bathroom and comfortable beds. The front desk staff are friendly, helpful and really personable. Yes, it is located far from some attractions but the quiet atmosphere and beautiful gardens are so worth it.

Room Tip: We loved the quad tent! Slept four adults in, a tiny bit crowded at times but the comfortable beds w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theyoungdycks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing