We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 219 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Positives: 1) Recommend using the transfer from the airport to this accommodation. 2) staff are friendly and helpful with all requests. 3) tents and amenities are clean and close. Breakfast is included. 4) can access wifi easily.
Negatives: 1) far away from central Nairobi. 2) due to location mainly limited to only eating at animation. Food however over all taste good.

Overall would recommend accommodation to others. Rank as A-

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KylieMac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    127
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
45
108
82
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My friend and I had had a very busy couple of weeks, we climbed Kilimanjaro and then headed straight to Nairobi to join a safari in the Masai Mara. After feeling disgusting and knackered the camp was the perfect place to go to relax. The rooms were out of this world and you would never have imagined that you were in a busy city. It was so nice to have running water and a real toilet!! Nairobi wasn't one of the nicest places I have been to but the camp was pure paradise. The reception even helped my friend and I organise a day out the elephant orphanage and Giraffe sanctuary too. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The camp was also great value for money, even considering we had one of the luxury safari tents (we think we deserved it after Kili!) :) The food was also really good! I would definitely recommend this place, it really is an amazing African experience. There is also the chance to meet lots of different travellers and different kinds of people as it is also a hostel.

Thanks so much guys, I will definitely be coming back if I find myself in Kenya again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was a nice stay (2 nights), but there was a strange atmosphere. The girls were very nice, this one man from the bar and reception was rude and unpleasant. The owners were there but not really available. They promised us hot showers but we hadn't...
Good place to stay at the beginning of end of your holiday, close to the airport and not in the city centre. Beautifull garden and vey nice tents. Closeby different tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Take a tent not too close to the main deck, bar is open till midnight and people can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmarivoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a great time staying at Wildebeest! A great place for groups, families and solo travellers. The dormitory tents are snug and warm with amazingly comfy beds. Great food and beautiful restaurant deck looking out over a pond and garden. Lovely surroundings; had a chameleon in the bathroom and a monkey roaming about on our tent roof. Good location... very close to the David Sheldrick Elephant Sanctuary, Kazuri bead workshops, a Nakumatt shop and the Giraffe centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stay here often with differnt groups of people ( mostly teachers) and every one who comes loves the place and can't wait to return. As Jennifer said below it was a little noisy that week, I am a light sleeper and hardly heard the noise, I do know there was a function happening at the bomas of Kenya, just down the road, so I guess they were the culprits, all I usually hear is the chatter of Baboons in the nearby Ngong forest or the distant cries of Hyaena or Lions coming from the park. I have said it before, if you are staying in Nairobi, stay here, you will not be dissapointed. The staff are great, the grounds are great and the accomadation is great. Good value and great position.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at the Wildebeest Eco Camp in the second week of October and really loved the place. The tents are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. I took a tent with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and looked extremely new.
It is a little way off the main road but it offers a pleasant escape from the city as it gives you a feeling of being out in the country. The rates very reasonable and I thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Husband and I stayed here two nights on route to Rwanda. Stayed in the tents without ensuite bathroom. Overall the tent was very nice and we would stay there again if not for so much noise in and around the property. It was actually quite horrendous, and I'm a deep sleeper. Next to the property there was music playing almost all night, and on our first night, we had fellow campers at the lodge making food and chatting outside our tent until almost midnight. The Eco lodge should ensure that if people are camping they make their food not next to where people are sleeping. On the first morning we slept in because we had been flying the night before from Canada, so we missed the breakfast. However, the lodge is strict on the allotted time for breakfast (I believe it is served only 0730 to 1030) so instead we had to pay for something to eat. The next morning we left at 0530 for our flight to Kigali and again, no compromise; we were not allowed a breakfast. Even some toast and a banana would have been appreciated.

Bathrooms were clean and there was hot water. Friendly staff. The dinner we had there was good, but as vegetarians we paid the same price as the meat eaters (set price for dinner). Power went out a few times as a heads up, so might want to bring a head light or flash light. Apparently this is common in Nairobi, so no fault of lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing