We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 287 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My friend and I had had a very busy couple of weeks, we climbed Kilimanjaro and then headed straight to Nairobi to join a safari in the Masai Mara. After feeling disgusting and knackered the camp was the perfect place to go to relax. The rooms were out of this world and you would never have imagined that you were in a busy city. It was so nice to have running water and a real toilet!! Nairobi wasn't one of the nicest places I have been to but the camp was pure paradise. The reception even helped my friend and I organise a day out the elephant orphanage and Giraffe sanctuary too. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The camp was also great value for money, even considering we had one of the luxury safari tents (we think we deserved it after Kili!) :) The food was also really good! I would definitely recommend this place, it really is an amazing African experience. There is also the chance to meet lots of different travellers and different kinds of people as it is also a hostel.

Thanks so much guys, I will definitely be coming back if I find myself in Kenya again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 482 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was a nice stay (2 nights), but there was a strange atmosphere. The girls were very nice, this one man from the bar and reception was rude and unpleasant. The owners were there but not really available. They promised us hot showers but we hadn't...
Good place to stay at the beginning of end of your holiday, close to the airport and not in the city centre. Beautifull garden and vey nice tents. Closeby different tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Take a tent not too close to the main deck, bar is open till midnight and people can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmarivoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a great time staying at Wildebeest! A great place for groups, families and solo travellers. The dormitory tents are snug and warm with amazingly comfy beds. Great food and beautiful restaurant deck looking out over a pond and garden. Lovely surroundings; had a chameleon in the bathroom and a monkey roaming about on our tent roof. Good location... very close to the David Sheldrick Elephant Sanctuary, Kazuri bead workshops, a Nakumatt shop and the Giraffe centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stay here often with differnt groups of people ( mostly teachers) and every one who comes loves the place and can't wait to return. As Jennifer said below it was a little noisy that week, I am a light sleeper and hardly heard the noise, I do know there was a function happening at the bomas of Kenya, just down the road, so I guess they were the culprits, all I usually hear is the chatter of Baboons in the nearby Ngong forest or the distant cries of Hyaena or Lions coming from the park. I have said it before, if you are staying in Nairobi, stay here, you will not be dissapointed. The staff are great, the grounds are great and the accomadation is great. Good value and great position.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at the Wildebeest Eco Camp in the second week of October and really loved the place. The tents are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. I took a tent with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and looked extremely new.
It is a little way off the main road but it offers a pleasant escape from the city as it gives you a feeling of being out in the country. The rates very reasonable and I thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Husband and I stayed here two nights on route to Rwanda. Stayed in the tents without ensuite bathroom. Overall the tent was very nice and we would stay there again if not for so much noise in and around the property. It was actually quite horrendous, and I'm a deep sleeper. Next to the property there was music playing almost all night, and on our first night, we had fellow campers at the lodge making food and chatting outside our tent until almost midnight. The Eco lodge should ensure that if people are camping they make their food not next to where people are sleeping. On the first morning we slept in because we had been flying the night before from Canada, so we missed the breakfast. However, the lodge is strict on the allotted time for breakfast (I believe it is served only 0730 to 1030) so instead we had to pay for something to eat. The next morning we left at 0530 for our flight to Kigali and again, no compromise; we were not allowed a breakfast. Even some toast and a banana would have been appreciated.

Bathrooms were clean and there was hot water. Friendly staff. The dinner we had there was good, but as vegetarians we paid the same price as the meat eaters (set price for dinner). Power went out a few times as a heads up, so might want to bring a head light or flash light. Apparently this is common in Nairobi, so no fault of lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is definitely the best camp I have stayed in and value for money. The owners of Wildebeest have considered the comfort of their guests as first priority. I had booked in for 2 nights in a garden tent but extended to 3 as the quiet relaxing environment and comfortable garden tent was much needed after rugged travels in other parts of Africa. The tents are luxurious with comfortable beds and the Wi-Fi works perfectly. I used a shared bathroom which had hot showers and always very clean.
The lovely, jovial Kenyan driver, Kyale, collected me from the airport and 15 minutes later we arrived at the camp. The reception staff are friendly with impeccable customer service, personally taking you to your room and leaving you with a warm smile. Extending the customer service further, the restaurant staff are warm and ready to meet your every need.
The buffet dinner is well worth it as the food healthy and delicious, and the included breakfast includes eggs of your choice and a pot of coffee. The large deck is great for meals and socializing.
I would recommend the camp to anyone looking for a peaceful, comfortable friendly place to stay out of the chaos of Nairobi city but close to both city and airport.
I also recommend their day tour which is good value for visiting 4 key Nairobi sites (elephant orphanage, giraffe park, Karen Blixen museum and bead making workshop).
I am staying in Nairobi another 6 weeks and will be back at the camp on weekends when I need a break!!! I really can't fault this camp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
528 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,302 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $22 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing