We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value-for-money property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 270 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value-for-money property”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great intro to Kenya. I liked the fact it's a little removed from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but still an easy commute. The property was clean and attractive, the staff were friendly (if a little forgetful with messages), and the restaurant served simple but tasty meals. The tents themselves were clean, with private safes in each. Enjoyed the visits from the resident monkeys daily

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ensuite if you don't like a walk to the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    157
    47
    16
    12
See reviews for
64
133
98
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I used the camp as a stop between trips departing from Nairobi and was duly impressed. The location is close to several of the day trip destinations and not too far from shopping, banks, and exchange bureaus. The staff and owner are friendly and informative, and the value for Nairobi is incredible. I rented a bicycle for a few days and although the roads are a bit rough (especially the shoulders of Langata rd) had a great time and got back into my exercise routine. I was a bit worried about sound carrying since I stayed in a garden view tent with shared bath, but I slept well and it was never a problem. The showers were always warm and the shared facilities were well kept. The food is wonderful, particularly the evening buffet on the deck. The deck is also a great place to meet fellow travelers for day excursions and beyond. Cheers Alan!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dive2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at Wildebeest Eco Camp once in mid June and again in mid July. The airport pick up was on time with a very friendly driver. He suggested things to do in my short stay in Nairobi. Once arrived, on a red-eye flight and on a very cold morning, the staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome whilst my room was being prepared, providing breakfast and free access to the internet (as I had arrived earlier than check in time). The staff were kind enough to get me to my room/tent before the official check in time and showed me around the public restrooms.
There's a beautiful pond with plenty of green vegetation and various monkeys, though the dogs make sure they don't come close to the viranda where food is served.

On my second stay, staff were very accommodating and even though the keys to my booked room went missing, they upgraded my room and re-opened the kitchen after it had closed to accommodate me. Everyone was very friendly and I believe I met the owner too who served me for breakfast the following morning.

A beautiful location with good clean lodging and a nice common/dining area. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lengaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place to stay if you have to stay in Nairobi. 20-30 minutes from the city but beautiful, comfortable, especially in the luxury tents. Service is great, staff are pleasant and helpful. Great value

Room Tip: luxury tents have en suite bathrooms(obviously cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed in the Wildebeest Eco Camp on the first weekend in October 2013. We stayed in a garden tent which was €39 for permanent tent structure with bed, electricity, lockers and a shared bathroom.

The bathrooms were cleaned regularly and neither of us ever saw them in bad condition. The showers were hot.

It's an oasis in the middle of the city centre with lovely grounds and a peaceful location.

I liked the food that you could buy from the bar - the snacks like sandwiches, samosas etc but I do think the buffet dinner was overpriced at 1,000ksh and we only did the buffet on the first night because of this. Laundry is also expensive.

The location is outside the city centre but well located for the David Sheldrick trust, the Giraffe centre and the Karen Blixen Coffee gardens.

We paid for the airport transfer on arrival to Nairobi and it was great not to have to worry as they were waiting for us in the arrivals lounge.

Overall I highly recommend (have already recommended to people we met on safari) and we have booked it again for our last night at the end of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were there end June 2013, so very cold. Eating area was outside so very cold there too! But nice people, good service. Bring plenty of warm clothes. Well situated for visit to giraffe reserve and the Karen Blixen house. Despite all prior arrangements, the pre-arranged taxi did not pick us up at the airport, and when we arrived at the Camp (at 5 in the morning after long travel from Italy), the staff did not have a record of our reservation. It was eventually sorted out, but when arriving in Kenya for the very first time with family, it would be pleasant if confirmed arrangements could be respected without any hassle. Good gift shop. Great set up for first night in Kenya before going on safari.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is our second stay here the first time the owners where around and this time the owners have been away. Just last night my partner and I were saying what a great job the staff are doing , everyone seems to be working very hard and is very friendly and welcoming. Being a vegetarian it would be great to have a little more choice on the buffet or offer a slightly lower rate, but after all this is not a luxury resort. This is a fantastic place and I would certainly come back anytime!

Room Tip: There is plenty of space for kids to run around, set of swings and a sand pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 165 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 165 in Nairobi
494 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 165 in Nairobi
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing