We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, shame about the customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 250 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place, shame about the customer service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and was thoroughly impressed with the accommodation and the grounds. It's beautifully maintained and has a very romantic feel on an evening with the lanterns lining the pathways. The food was lovely and good value. Considering the toilets and showers are communal they were always clean and there were enough cubicles that we never had to wait for a shower.

Unfortunately on our last evening we had a problem with a coach booking we had made with them. When we asked them to make the booking they quoted us a booking fee, however when we went to pay they insisted it was twice what they'd initially said. Had we have known this we would have found another way of booking our coach trip back to mombasa. There attempt to rectify the situation was to inform us they had made a mistake but that we would still have to pay double what we'd expected. It took a good 30 minutes of heated debate about customer service until they finally accepted that we should only be charged what we were told we would be. Although we got the outcome we wanted it sadly took the edge off the amazing experience we'd had here up to this point. They clearly don't abide by the saying, 'the customer is always right'.

Overall, it is great value and we would recommend a stay here but there is clear room for improvement with regards to customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    150
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
57
127
92
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not only did I have another great stay at this fantastic camp but we went on a 5 day/4night safari with Wildebeest. Our guide (Onesmus (Sp???)) was FANTASTIC, a great host, a safe driver, knowledgeable and very friendly. Cooks Joseph and Josepht (sp) were GREAT as well. Highly recommend for your budget safari that usually does not feel budget. We did Masai Mara, Nakuru and Naivasha and got a complimentary village visit after a 2 hour vehicle break down.

Room Tip: River front at M. Mara was nicest, followed by Carnelly's at Naivasha and WCK at Nakuru but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingZooKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent three nights in a deluxe tent over two separate dates. Compared to the price you pay for accommodation in central Nairobi this place was amazing value. The tent was luxurious and the property was great and very relaxing. the staff were friendly and the food was great as well. Over all I was have no hesitation to recommending this accommodation as a great alternative to a hotel. The location of the camp is in a quiet, safe suburb and close to a major shopping mall. Great place.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe tent you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at this campsite with a large group in our own tents and it was all excellent. A few of our party opted to upgrade to a tent with beds and a bathroom which looked lovely and they very much enjoyed. All the staff were friendly and helpful and they prepared a delicious evening meal for us and coped well at breakfast time with the huge quantity of pancakes that we wanted.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN CANADA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I are staying in the dorm at the camp. The bunk beds have lovely duvets and even an accent pillow. The grounds are lovely as is the common deck area. The best part was the common supper. It was the best meal we have had in Africa (in a month). The only thing I could have wanted is a towel. Sometimes a dorm bed gets one this time not. : ).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHEAPOTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was stranded in Kenya during the Nairobi Airport Fire of August 2013. Thankfully, though, I was staying in the Wildebeest Eco Camp, so it wasn't really so bad to be stuck in Nairobi.
I'll start with the slightly bad news first: the Wildbeest Camp is not very close to Nairobi by walking standards. If you want to see Nairobi, you have to take a cab or matatu into town.
On the other hand, this is also good news. Nairobi is crowded and noisy and full of air pollution. Being in the green lands southwest of Nairobi, the Wildebeest was a quiet haven of clean air. I stayed both in a "garden tent" (about $44 US) and in a dorm bed (about $15 US). Both were quiet and comfortable.
More good news: the dinners were fantastic! They had fresh food with both omnivore and vegetarian main dishes - very nicely presentation in a simple "family buffet" style. The whole meal was a bit pricey by local standards (something like $8 US for the complete dinner), but well worth it. You could also order smaller dishes a la carte. There was a also a good simple egg and toast breakfast included with the cost of the room.
The highlight of the place, though, is the communal dining area. The long table a great place to meet people, though you can also choose a smaller table if you would like your own space. I enjoyed meeting other travelers and swapping advice about what to do in Kenya.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the Kenyan staff. They were able to arrange transport from and to the airport and were cheerful even when the place was filling up with refugees from the airport fire.
On the whole, I had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommended staying here if you would like a little peace and quiet away from the city.

Room Tip: look at their website to help choose the room type. They have good descriptions of what you get at e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAslanoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Wildebeest Eco Camp was definetely the best place we've stayed in during our travel to Kenya. We took a budget room that was very simple / rustic but the bed was very comfy. The camp is well located, just minutes from the Nairobi National Park and maybe 15 min drive from the city center, it is clean, calm, safe, well kept and decorated with taste. They serve a good breakfast as well as a buffet dinner. Really, nothing to complain about, we were very satisfied with all the services provided!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing