We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A neat change from the typical hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A neat change from the typical hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first night we stayed, we arrived after dark after a long international flight and left in the morning before sunrise to fly to Kilimanjaro - our brief stay in the garden tent was absolutely fine. It's a simple 'room', clean and simply decorated, and within a short walk to the shared bath facilities. The next morning, we left to catch our flight before the kitchen opened; since breakfast was included in the rate, we asked if they offered any sort of bagged breakfast to take with us but were told they didn't do it.

The second time we stayed was on the back end of our trip before departing for home. We stayed in a deluxe safari tent: spacious, with a nice bath and a large private deck overlooking the pond, this was a treat! Just note in both tents that there is no heat and the beds are somewhat hard.

The property is nicely landscaped and a peaceful retreat. The sitting area outside the main building is a pleasant place to relax and eat or have a drink, and the wifi works well. The owners and staff were very helpful in arranging airport transfer and a day tour of some nearby sights, though prices felt a bit expensive, as did prices on food/drinks. I appreciated that they were able to store our luggage for the day before our late-night flight, and that we were able to use the bath facilities for a nominal fee before leaving.

Overall, this is a neat place to stay if you're looking for something a little different!

Room Tip: Variety of room options and prices to fit all budgets - the garden tent was a good choice, but the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
105
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

It wa our first time to Kenya on safari and staying at Wildebeest. Having gone down a long very bumpy road it was a nice surprise to see the camp and all it had to offer. The delux tents are very clean and just enough space for us (a family of three). We did not find the staff overly friendly or helpful but we were out and about most of the time so that did not matter greatly to us. Breakfast was ok with toast, eggs or pancakes. If you want anything else you need to pay for it. We did not have dinner there in the evenings as we went out but people told us it was nice. It was very cold in the tents at night in February so make sure you take some warm clothes. The camp also has two dogs which belong to the owners, which are very friendly so if you have children that are not used to dogs be prepared. All in all, we found it a good base for our safari in the national park and to relax in after a full day out and about. Would I go again? Probably not as I would want to experience other places also. Would I recommend it to others? Yes I would.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gbg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Second time on the Wildebeest, first time at the new location. The tents (had a luxary version) is great, the new grounds are great and from my experience it is both possible to work and relax and have a bit of jogging done. Still, it is a distance from town center now and to me this makes it unpractical if you are attending meetings inside town. Pick-up and drop off at airport works nicely and definetely, to me at least, this is a good spot to land in Kenya and spend a few days - this is a first hand choice for me in cases I do not have to go back and forth to city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

So I used to LOVE this place when it was just off Ngong Road. It's location was super-convenient for travelers using it because they were spending time in Nairobi for work or study and were coming and going from downtown a lot. There was tons of food, groceries etc in walking distance and it was easy to catch a matatu into town. The new location (as of April 2012 I believe) is really pretty far from the center of town. This makes it a long matatu ride or walk to the Galleria or a prohibitively expensive taxi ride. If you plan on staying for a week and coming and going from the city centre or elsewhere in the city every day and take taxis even part of the time you will spend more on them then on your room.

That said they got a lot more space, the grounds are pretty, the staff are always nice and the food is good. This is still a great budget choice if you are only in Nairobi over 1 or 2 nights it just is not good for what I used to use it for, as kind of a hostel rather than an eco-camp. It really can't be used that way anymore. It's still a great choice depending what you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My stay at Wildebeest Eco Camp was fantastic. First time in Kenya, could not have wished for a better place to stay. I was greeted by friendly staff, a punctual driver that helped navigate nairobi the first few days.
The meals all day and especially the community dinner at night were splendid. This was a great place to meet other fellow travelers and relax. I spent my first week in nairobi there and liked it so much that i came back for the last day of my trip.
Alan and Lynetta were wonderful hosts and have done an amazing job establishing a welcoming and relaxing environment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the Wildebeest Eco Camp in such a pretty, relaxing, green location! The staff is extra helpful. The various options for permanent tents are comfortable with great beds and sheets. Meals are delicious and very enjoyable on the great terrace overlooking the pond. The frog concert at night is amazing! WiFi is very reliable on the terrace. The staff coordinates very reliable drivers whenever guests need them. Also, the assistance with travel service is extremely convenient and helpful.
LOVED having this gem as my Nairobi base, located in the suburb of Langata. Thank you!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank macha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garda lake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

nice, the deluxe tent is well organized, hot water, "clean" as can be clean a tent in Africa :-)
but...
if you are not a basic backpacker is too expensive,like their tour that you can arrange for half finding a good taxi driver, the people that work there is not so friendly, a little bit "opinionate" .
only a small story:
we have been there the xmas night and when i asked for a beer the guy gave me (smiling) a a mulled wine flavored (truly disgusting) but i drank it to be polite. i thought it was a welcome in that special night...then he gave an other one to my housband...and then he gave us the recipt for the payment of 400ksh :-)
small things, but i'm used to enjoy details
so, this place is nice in general, but with bad details....
near the airports - really noisy at night (and i don't speak about frogs ;-) - wifi works perfectly -

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maripaGardalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing