We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous oasis, great staff, fun environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous oasis, great staff, fun environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the Wildebeest Eco Camp in such a pretty, relaxing, green location! The staff is extra helpful. The various options for permanent tents are comfortable with great beds and sheets. Meals are delicious and very enjoyable on the great terrace overlooking the pond. The frog concert at night is amazing! WiFi is very reliable on the terrace. The staff coordinates very reliable drivers whenever guests need them. Also, the assistance with travel service is extremely convenient and helpful.
LOVED having this gem as my Nairobi base, located in the suburb of Langata. Thank you!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank macha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
105
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garda lake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

nice, the deluxe tent is well organized, hot water, "clean" as can be clean a tent in Africa :-)
but...
if you are not a basic backpacker is too expensive,like their tour that you can arrange for half finding a good taxi driver, the people that work there is not so friendly, a little bit "opinionate" .
only a small story:
we have been there the xmas night and when i asked for a beer the guy gave me (smiling) a a mulled wine flavored (truly disgusting) but i drank it to be polite. i thought it was a welcome in that special night...then he gave an other one to my housband...and then he gave us the recipt for the payment of 400ksh :-)
small things, but i'm used to enjoy details
so, this place is nice in general, but with bad details....
near the airports - really noisy at night (and i don't speak about frogs ;-) - wifi works perfectly -

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maripaGardalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I worked for 3 months in rural Kitui, Kenya. When I needed to go to the city I always stayed here. There's wifi, delicious breakfast, coffee, tea, comfortable accommodations, hot showers, luggage storage, friendly owners and staff, great gift shop with locally crafted gifts... Galleria mall is in walking distance if you need a supermarket, frozen yogurt, fast food, health food store, or really delicious pizza or Indian food. I'll really miss this place but I'll be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mermaidyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A peaceful back-packers' place. A little out of town. The night we arrived there had been terrible floods and the owner or manager came out in his 4 wheel drive to collect us from the nearest highway. Some of the tents were completely flooded out.Part of our party were doing basic camping and their tent was moved to under cover. The staff were very helpful in difficult circumstances

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Wildebeest Eco Camp for three nights during our first couple days in Kenya. They arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport at midnight, which provided us with peace of mind when we arrived. The location of the camp is beautiful--really green gardens and a very nice lagoon. We stayed in the garden tent which was right in our budget, and very comfortable. The shared bathrooms were close by, clean, and the showers had hot water. The area that Wildebeest is located is Langata, apparently a very well-off suburb of Nairobi. It was a very safe and peaceful area, but if you want to explore the city center of Nairobi, it isn't very convenient to get to from Langata. However, Wildebeest is pretty close (taxi ride) to Wilson airport, the Elephant Orphanage, and the Giraffe Center. We booked a Nairobi day tour and a 3-day safari through the Wildebeest travel company. We thought the Nairobi day tour was a little pricey, considering it was a basically a taxi driver taking us to the nearby tourist destinations mentioned above. We also were disappointed we didn't actually get to go inside the city of Nairobi. The 3-day group safari was a very reasonable rate. Since there was nobody else from Wildebeest that had booked the safari for the same dates as us, they arranged for us to through one of their partner organizations. The safari itself gave us everything we wanted in terms of animal exposure. The only downside was that the tour guide was more of a driver, and wasn't the most chatty person. However, we still had a great safari experience.

Room Tip: Garden tent was very comfortable and close to clean shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alowery81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We overnighted here, and whilst the camp itself is lovely, there were a few disappointments which let it down a bit...first, our driver arrived an hour late to the airport and then got lost - it took us 2.5 hours to get from the airport to the camp. Apparently it was the driver's first time. Second, whilst we were informed the camp had been flooded due to heavy rains, we were not informed that this had also knocked out the electricity and hot water in our deluxe tent. This information would have changed out decision to stay here. Third, and this is possibly more a personal peeve, credit card payments attract a surcharge, something I was not aware of. Possibly I did not do my research well enough.

As I say, the camp itself is lovely and peaceful, and the deluxe tent was very nicely appointed - it was just the small details that kinda let it down for me a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great budget friendly accomodations, we booked a double garden tent and it is was truly beautiful. Shared shower and toilet facilities were very clean and up to date. Beautiful garden setting and a wonderful bar area to meet and greet with other guests. All the staff we encountered were extremely professional and helpful. The booking of the accomodations and transport from airport were flawless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingZooKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing