We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 237 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Garda lake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

nice, the deluxe tent is well organized, hot water, "clean" as can be clean a tent in Africa :-)
but...
if you are not a basic backpacker is too expensive,like their tour that you can arrange for half finding a good taxi driver, the people that work there is not so friendly, a little bit "opinionate" .
only a small story:
we have been there the xmas night and when i asked for a beer the guy gave me (smiling) a a mulled wine flavored (truly disgusting) but i drank it to be polite. i thought it was a welcome in that special night...then he gave an other one to my housband...and then he gave us the recipt for the payment of 400ksh :-)
small things, but i'm used to enjoy details
so, this place is nice in general, but with bad details....
near the airports - really noisy at night (and i don't speak about frogs ;-) - wifi works perfectly -

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maripaGardalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    145
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
54
117
89
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I worked for 3 months in rural Kitui, Kenya. When I needed to go to the city I always stayed here. There's wifi, delicious breakfast, coffee, tea, comfortable accommodations, hot showers, luggage storage, friendly owners and staff, great gift shop with locally crafted gifts... Galleria mall is in walking distance if you need a supermarket, frozen yogurt, fast food, health food store, or really delicious pizza or Indian food. I'll really miss this place but I'll be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mermaidyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A peaceful back-packers' place. A little out of town. The night we arrived there had been terrible floods and the owner or manager came out in his 4 wheel drive to collect us from the nearest highway. Some of the tents were completely flooded out.Part of our party were doing basic camping and their tent was moved to under cover. The staff were very helpful in difficult circumstances

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Wildebeest Eco Camp for three nights during our first couple days in Kenya. They arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport at midnight, which provided us with peace of mind when we arrived. The location of the camp is beautiful--really green gardens and a very nice lagoon. We stayed in the garden tent which was right in our budget, and very comfortable. The shared bathrooms were close by, clean, and the showers had hot water. The area that Wildebeest is located is Langata, apparently a very well-off suburb of Nairobi. It was a very safe and peaceful area, but if you want to explore the city center of Nairobi, it isn't very convenient to get to from Langata. However, Wildebeest is pretty close (taxi ride) to Wilson airport, the Elephant Orphanage, and the Giraffe Center. We booked a Nairobi day tour and a 3-day safari through the Wildebeest travel company. We thought the Nairobi day tour was a little pricey, considering it was a basically a taxi driver taking us to the nearby tourist destinations mentioned above. We also were disappointed we didn't actually get to go inside the city of Nairobi. The 3-day group safari was a very reasonable rate. Since there was nobody else from Wildebeest that had booked the safari for the same dates as us, they arranged for us to through one of their partner organizations. The safari itself gave us everything we wanted in terms of animal exposure. The only downside was that the tour guide was more of a driver, and wasn't the most chatty person. However, we still had a great safari experience.

Room Tip: Garden tent was very comfortable and close to clean shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alowery81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We overnighted here, and whilst the camp itself is lovely, there were a few disappointments which let it down a bit...first, our driver arrived an hour late to the airport and then got lost - it took us 2.5 hours to get from the airport to the camp. Apparently it was the driver's first time. Second, whilst we were informed the camp had been flooded due to heavy rains, we were not informed that this had also knocked out the electricity and hot water in our deluxe tent. This information would have changed out decision to stay here. Third, and this is possibly more a personal peeve, credit card payments attract a surcharge, something I was not aware of. Possibly I did not do my research well enough.

As I say, the camp itself is lovely and peaceful, and the deluxe tent was very nicely appointed - it was just the small details that kinda let it down for me a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great budget friendly accomodations, we booked a double garden tent and it is was truly beautiful. Shared shower and toilet facilities were very clean and up to date. Beautiful garden setting and a wonderful bar area to meet and greet with other guests. All the staff we encountered were extremely professional and helpful. The booking of the accomodations and transport from airport were flawless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingZooKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at Wildebeest for about a week, and I enjoyed every second of it. Nairobi can be a pretty overwhelming city, and it can take hours to get anywhere. Wildebeest is situated away from downtown on West Langata Road. It's close to the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Sanctuary, and to Galleria Mall (for some great good).

The place itself is brilliant done up with permanent tents that serve as dorms or private rooms. The deck of the main house served as a great place to meet and chat with other travelers while taking advantage of the great, nightly buffet dinner, or while playing with the friendly dogs and cats. I almost couldn't get up off of my chair one night because one of the cats had settled into my lap for the night and wouldn't let me move.

My stay here really helped me to enjoy my time in Nairobi, which is a fun city, but a hard city to love. Wildebeest Eco Camp, however, was an easy place to love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsa_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing