We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing camp in Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 255 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing camp in Nairobi”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my 4th trip to Kenya and first stay at Wildebeest eco camp (previously stayed at Wildebeest camp).

The new camp is fantastic, it certainly is a paradise amongst the noise and madness of Nairobi.

Perfect hosts in lynitta and Alan and great staff too (too many to mention). We are always disappointed that we just use it as a base before and after safaris. Must stay longer in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe ensuites as wanted a break from basic camping. Deluxe tents are wonderfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic-cafc-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    153
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
59
130
94
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to wildebeest right after climbing Mt Kenya.
And it was the best: the tents are enormous, there's high speed free wifi, the burgers are delicious, the staff is helpful and friendly,...

We asked the camp to organize a small trip to Kibera the next day. Once there we saw some americans with big cameras and 2 soldiers with guns to protect them. This is the stupid voyeuristic 'slumtourism'. But we went with a guy, Rick, who lives in Kibera, so he really knows the neighbourhood. He took us to his own and his father's house and told us a lot on how it is to live in Kibera. Honestly, I could not imaging living there. But still, and thanks to Rick, we never had an unsafe or depressing feeling. He showed us how really Kibera is: poor, but with warm people who still make the best of their lives.

The camp also organizes a lot of safaris. We didn't book these, but other guests we talked were very happy about their safaris!

So everything is positive about the wildebeestcamp!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PieterJan747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dan and Alan are fine resource people--eager to help individualize your plans if needed. Really enjoyed "Rick's" Kibera's tour. Food "basic" but lots of it at dinner. Camp is still a "work in progress" as improvements seem to be ongoing. A charming, natural environment with good security--24/7.

You need to factor into your budget the 3% surcharge on credit card use.

Room Tip: Tents can be cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_alexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the new camp for several days in July. It was exactly what I was looking for in Nairobi. The location is excellent - it is a perfectly safe walk or bike ride (or 300 Shillings for a taxi) to the Galleria shopping centre which has a huge supermarket, ATMs, and a photography store among other things. While the traffic on Langata Road can be horrendous, there is a back way to the camp on the new "bypass" (a word I use loosely as at present it is an unmarked dirt road) which makes getting to downtown Nairobi or JKIA very easy. The new camp is also close to the Langata Road gate to the Nairobi National Park.

I spent the first night in a Garden Tent with shared facilities and then moved to a Luxury Tent when one became available. The Garden Tent was fine with a comfortable bed and very nice shared showers. The Luxury Tent was fantastic - huge shower with rain showerhead. It was very quiet at night except for occasional noise from planes landing/taking off at the nearby Wilson Airport.

Meals are taken on a large deck off the main house. The food was reasonably priced, delicious, and homemade - it was like being a guest in a private home. The owners' kids and pets added to the atmosphere. There is a lounge in the main house that has satellite TV and a pool table which was always lively in the evenings.

The staff will book almost any kind of safari you might be interested in - I went to the Maasai Mara for three days and it was fantastic. I found that Wildebeest Travels' prices were about average compared to other KATO listed safari companies and I was happy with the service I received. Additionally, Wildebeest Camp employs drivers who I found to be much better than taxis that rip off foreigners.

I highly recommend the Wildebeest Eco Camp and will stay here again next time I am in Nairobi.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, definitely book a Luxury Tent. Those furthest from the main house are the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iberry3dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here once in November of last year, and then again this year in July.

Take note: They recently relocated and it's no longer as ideally located as it previously was.

We didn't know this on our second stay and directed our driver to their old location only to find that they had moved. So we pretty much got ripped off by the taxi driver who took advantage of the fact that we didn't know where we were going and drove us around on a huge detour for which he charged 3500 shillings.

The new location is absolutely gorgeous, especially if you arrive at night as the pond is surrounded by lanterns and the terrace overlooking it is lovely. So the atmosphere gets five stars from me.

If you are planning to go into Nairobi during the day, the taxi will cost you a fair amount. We took matatus and local buses, so it was quite cheap, but it can be difficult to get back that way unless you know your way around.

We stayed at one of the "budget rooms" which unfortunately, at 3500 shillings, are no longer very cheap. Last year they were 2500, which was more reasonable, considering that all you get is a very small room with shared bathrooms. The rooms are very basic, and the curtains were hanging by clothes pegs, which I thought was a bit ridiculous considering the price we were paying.

Anyway, I don't think they are really geared towards budget travelers anymore, as they have many more luxury tents and only three budget rooms. (Although you can also pitch a tent, but the price for that is, in my opinion also a bit high)

If you have money to spend, you'll love it here. The owner is great, and his kids + dogs are adorable. But you will be charged quite a bit for every extra thing, from extra showers to towels to internet, and I wouldn't recommend it for budget travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are glad that overall you liked the camp and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry for the confusion with the change of location. We had emailed all customers with future bookings, however I know if you get as many emails as I do, this is easy to overlook. We are hoping with our continuing marketing campaigns that taxi drivers will come to know our new location well. And we are still trying to update everywhere online that our camp appears – which is a monumental task. We are very pleased that the feedback from guests who have stayed at both of our camps, is overwhelmingly in favour of our new location. You’re right, it really is a very beautiful, peaceful place.

You are also correct in pointing out that things in Nairobi are not as cheap as they were – even last year. Inflation and the massive rise in the cost of living in Kenya has hit individuals and businesses hard – so we were also forced to increase our prices. Although to be fair we had weathered a lot of cost increases previously and this is only our second price increase in 6 years.

I also agree that we are not the cheapest place in town. We have invested heavily in our camp and concentrated on the things that matter most to our guests – good quality bedding, good security and good food. Most guests have been happy to pay a little extra for a brand new mattress, 100% cotton sheets and the surroundings of a luxury tented camp at a rock bottom price – and of course French-press Kenyan coffee at breakfast.

But at the end of the day we are a business and must profit so that we can continue to sustain our employees and their families, plus community projects we support. Our business model is a ‘user pays’ system. So like many other budget businesses, we keep our base price as reasonable as possible, and then ask guests who choose to use additional facilities to pay for these. We prefer this rather than raising the price of all rooms and then charging all guests for goods and services they are unlikely to use.

For example, we provide towels in our more expensive rooms, but not in the cheaper rooms (as more budget travellers tend to carry one anyone). If guests would like to stay at the camp all day waiting for a late flight – they are most welcome at no charge, however we do charge a nominal fee (200/-) for a shower after checkout. As most people shower for at least 15 minutes and showers use around 10 litres a minute – this is 150 litres of water that we have to have delivered by truck and is paid for by the litre – and that is before we heat it.

It seems funny that as a cheaper establishment we get picked on for providing this optional service, but I am having a hard time thinking of any expensive hotels anywhere in the world that even have ‘after checkout shower facilities’ – free or otherwise.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future – I guarantee the pegs will be gone : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stay at Wildebeest two or three times a year with 10 or 12 gueasts, every one loves it, the service and people are great, really recomend the evening dinner its fantastic, the tents offer real luxury at a budget price. We had a look at the new Wildebeest camp earlier in the year, hard to believe but its even better than the old camp, it has a real feel of luxury safari and still very easy to get to town and the airport. If your going to Nairobi " STAY HERE " its great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Wildebeest camp was the perfect Start/End to our trip travelling around Kenya. The camp is set in the most beautiful surroundings (you wouldn't believe you were in Nairobi city). The camp was protected by a guard at the entrance and you felt very safe once inside. The camp had such a relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a luxury tent, which was clean and immaculate - just what we needed to start off our travels. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay a few nights in Nairobi.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe tent it was very comfortable and just what we had hoped for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livvynem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing