We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildebeest Camp - Oasis in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wildebeest Camp - Oasis in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed in Sept. in one of the Deluxe tents. Basic but nice with tons of space. And it was a first staying in a tent with its own bathroom. Everything was clean and worked so no issues with the room. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. The meals were fine but nothing special. The overall feel was great with people sitting around chatting so a nice way to meet other travelers. Also I used the their airport pickup service and the female taxi driver they use was right on time and a safe driver. Also joined with another couple the next day and used her for a tour around the city with several stops at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    124
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
44
105
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

biggest problem with this place is finding it and this could easily be resolved with some signs from the main road.
tent was spacious enough for one night and bed was ok, but not great. quilt cover was pretty dirty and either needs a proper wash or be replaced.
it was peaceful and good value for the price

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pel579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at the Wildebeest Camp in September 2011, and loved it!!. The place is very relaxing and I was made to feel at home from the moment I arrived. The grounds are lovely. It has a nice relaxed family atmosphere, and it is a great place to meet other travelers. All the people I meet there were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a garden tent, which was lovely and the beds were very comfy.
I would recommend the meal at night - it is delicious.
I stayed in some top resort places on my trip in Kenya on Safari, but I enjoyed the Wildebeest accomodation the most. I would recommend this place to everyone traveling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

the tents are big and beautiful, the garden is the perfect getaway from the noise and caos of the city, the food couldn't be better - really good quality for the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaridaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in mid September in a garden tent with shared bathroom and it was great, I had arranged an airport pick up but when i got off my first flight in Jo'bourg i found out my flight to Kenya was delayed by 6 hours, i sent them an email and it was all fine, they even kept some dinner warm for me. The tent was simple yet clean and comfortable, there was a safe, the bathrooms were clean and the showers hot! Barney and Fatty the dogs were great, I got a driver off them one day and he was good and not badly priced and on the day i checked out they kept my bags safe as i didn't have to be at my tour starting point till 6pm. Food and drinks were well priced

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wildebeest Camp is a lovely retreat in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.

My husband and I have stayed there three times now on different occasions as we have passed through. We have stayed once on our own and twice with my parents when they were visiting. We live in the Masai Mara and having somewhere so comfortable and safe to stay in Nairobi makes our journey a lot easier. We are not city people and it is always a huge relief to arrive inside the garden gates of this tented camp oasis.

We have stayed in each of the different accommodation options including a budget room, a garden tent and a deluxe tent.

The budget rooms are simple and nicely furnished with a shared bathroom, the garden tents are comfortable, colourful and clean with a shared bathroom, and the deluxe tent is spacious and beautifully put together with an en-suite bathroom and small verandah. Each option is great value and everyone has use of the lovely garden to relax in where you can also set up your own tent.

The nicest thing about Wildebeest is the relaxed atmosphere offering a peaceful retreat from the city. It is a place that suits all kinds of people from backpackers to families, expats to people travelling for business, and brings them all together.

The Australian couple who own and run the camp are friendly and helpful, as are the rest of the staff. The two dogs are well-behaved and also friendly.

The meals are simple and well-priced and breakfast is included.

All in all, a green getaway with heart.

Room Tip: The deluxe tents are well worth the little extra and make for a relaxing and comfortable stay with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Wildebeest Camp was a find through Nairobi Backpackers (RIP) - a lovely campsite and hostel for cheapskate travellers. 5 mins from Uchumi supermarket and 10 mins from Naukmatt and a cinema (yes) it was in a great location with frequent matatus/taxis/buses to aid travel into town or up the road. Wildebeest camp is beautiful - great facilities for eating outside, or in the dining room (with a book swap). Great reception and gift shop with charity jewellery and crafts at a reasonable price. Lovely rooms - simple but fine - and good showers. Gorgeous outdoor bandas (which did not cater for my measly budget) and lovely be-tented showers. All in all, I enjoyed it so much there - met some fabulous people with interesting plans and slept well in both a simple room and a dorm.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, this is THE place to stay for good value and a very nice temporary 'home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing