We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place - Terrific Owners and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place - Terrific Owners and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights with our two children. We were working in Kibera during the day, and coming back to this piece of paradise was wonderful. Open land in Nairobi can be hard to come by and the yard and courtyard at the Wildebeest are lovely.

We stayed in the permanent tents without bathrooms. They were spacious and the beds very comfortable. We are traveling back next August and will probably upgrade to the ensuite tent.

The Australian owners, their adorable children and grandparents, and the staff (love Justice, Daniel and everyone else) made us feel like we were part of the family.

The food was terrific. Great omelets and pancakes for breakfast and fabulous coffee. The dinners were also tasty and very well priced.

They are expanding and opening a 2nd location in Nairobi which will be even more spacious on 3 acres of land. Can't wait to see it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamtravelerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    142
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
52
116
87
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved staying at one of Wildebeest Camp's tents with fully equipped bathroom close to downtown Nairobi.

Staff were really helpful. Special thanks to Dan and to Charlie the fearless driver.

Room Tip: Plan ahead during peak season because they get booked up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelmahrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

8 of us stayed here on either side of our safari trip. My husband and I stayed in the deluxe tent that had it's own full bathroom. Another couple stayed in a Garden tent. I would recommend splurging for your own bathroom. The tent was large and in good condition. We had some issues with our shower not draining, but that was quickly rectified.

The owner Lynita was super nice and we enjoyed talking with her. The camp even stored some luggage for us that we didn't need for the safari. The included breakfast was good and the evening meals were great and worth the small extra price.
We loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our first stop in Nairobi, the garden tents give a very nice atmosphere, they are spacious, very clean, and even with a safe, it is like a hotel room with the flair of a camp, the shared bathroom and showers were always very clean, the common areas also nice and spacious, the staff very friendly. We booked a trip to the Maasai Mara with them and everything went perfect, though our driver 'Steve' was an arrogant unpolite 'ranger' we saw the amazing beautis of the Maasai Mara and came back to stay there our last night. The staff arranged our tickets to Kampala, and taxi to the bus, everything went very smoothly, if I was to come back to Nairobi, I would definetely stay with them! It is very close to the national park, to a lot of sights, and you are not in the city, the super market and mall are close by, you can walk there and it is safe, even if walking on the street the first day is a bit somber.

Room Tip: Garden tents are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I've stayed at the Wildebeest Camp twice because I like the location and the place itself is quite nice. However, the staff are so unfriendly that I've vowed to not go back. They find ways to make you overpay and some have a serious power complex. It totally ruined my experience and memory of Wildebeest Camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stay iin THE wildebeest camp three times during our trip in Kenia and Tanzania. It 's a relaxed and quiet place in a big city. The garden tents are comfertable and THE food is oke. They arrange all kind of things and have good advice.
We recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia02929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was so excited to end my trip at Wildebeest after reading all the positive reviews. I had booked a garden tent but due to cutting my trip short had to change my booking to days that no garden tents were available. I rang and spoke to someone who was very very helpful and suggested I go into one of their 'comfortable' pitched tents. She said she would put me on the waiting list. For days I tried to ring and the phone was not working. On arrival I asked if there was a garden tent and was greet with a surley NO... from then on the service was stark/unhelpful/unfriendly and basically unwelcoming. If you run a business based on hospitality make sure your staff understand the concept. The tent was uncomfortable,
cold and did not do up properly. After a 17 hour train trip from Mombassa I wanted peace to catch up on sleep but this was not possible becuase the tents are positioned very near the outside tables where guests gather to chat which a group did till around 1am... incredibly selfish. There are no signs up reminding guests to maybe consider their noise levels due to the close proximity of sleeping people! I left the next day and am now in a lovely reasonably priced guest house in Karen catching up on sleep and nursing a very horrible cold thanks to a sleepless night in an uncomfortable cold tent @ Wildebeest Camp. My advise is stay if they have a proper garden tent - they look fabulous and may be worth suffering the 'cannot be bothered to help' front of house attitude. And as for their claims to be able to help with trips and tours I saw no information available on this and was definitely not going to ask for any
help on this ..... they have a few travel tips posted on the wall but nothing about visiting Nairobi highlights. They were very full - more tents were being pitched in the garden so I guess now that business is established and obviously booming standards can slip!

Room Tip: Only stay if they have a proper big pitched tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbeehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing