We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“homey and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 237 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“homey and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

nice place, good facilities, pleasant company.
good value, for 13 USD a night you get a decent bed and delicious breakfast. however, the tents get very cold at night and the prices for extra services are a bit high (like wi-fi, about 6 dollars a day).
the servers are pretty friendly, and the place has a nice feel to it, comfortable courtyard with plenty of room to hang out, relax or watch tv.
great place for families, however backpackers might not find the kind of atmosphere they're looking for here. the tour operating service is pretty good, they managed to arrange a safari for us with less than a 12 hour notice, which was really appreciated.

Room Tip: best to book as much in advance as you can to get a dorm room for the same price as a tent and much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nettakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    147
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
54
119
89
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stopped in Nairobi for a few days on my way back from Tanzania, stayed for 3 nights in a garden tent. Tent had large bed, safe, and shared bathrooms that were clean and always had hot water. Didn't eat much there but ordered a few things that were all good. The camp has 24 hour security, a great garden, tv, sitting areas, books, gift shop, and travel planning assistance. Grocery stores, movie theater, pharmacy, ATM all within walking distance. Overall very comfortable place and will definitely be my first choice of lodging when I go back to Nairobi!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choi3js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed with my kids (7 and 9) in a deluxe tent for a few days. Staff were super friendly and helpful and offered good advice, it attracted a relaxed and varied clientele and we enjoyed the communal dinner a couple of times and speaking to other guests at breakfast or just hanging out. It was lovely and green - a real oasis yet not far from the centre - and the kids had fun running around the garden, playing with the dogs and helping staff - freedom in a safe environment. Had a nice little shop, snacks available throughout the day, and internet access (also a shared computer). Reasonable prices. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMamma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We only stayed one night on our way to Arusha. We arrived quite late but they were nice enough to keep a great dinner out for us, and accommodated our vegetarian diet. The room was pretty small but clean - bathrooms were pretty rustic though. Would definitely stay here again whenever in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed there during a work trip in Nairobi, in the luxury tents (bathroom included). Very clean and comfortable - its actually more a room than a tent, but keeping the nature side of things. We loved it and will definitely come back! Best sleep I have had in month!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The tented camp is brilliant, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't have asked for a better stay in Nairobi. Friendly people, good value and plenty of supermarkets etc around for your needs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here on four occasions in a variety of clean rooms and the concept of a tented camp in the middle of Nairobi is brilliant. The gardens are spacious and it is comfortable to relax here for prolonged periods of time. Safety is always a concern in Nairobi, and the grounds are surrounded by high walls, locked gate and 24 hour security - so you should sleep peacefully.

Here is a summary of the rooms I stayed in.

Budget Room - very small but adequate. Toilets are in the main building which is a moderate walk away. Considering the price of accommodation in Nairobi, this is some of the best value you will find in the city.

Deluxe Safari Tent - this is a wonderful tent set along the back wall of the property. The huge tents come with two beds (single and double) and a balcony with two chairs. They also have an attached bathroom which is very convenient, but the water didn't get that hot in the shower, but no matter.

Garden Tent - smaller than its pricier and larger sibling, mostly due to its external bathroom and shower, which did have hotter water than the the Deluxe Safari Tent. It is located at the quietest corner of the property.

Now for the "something" to be aware of, and this is not the fault of Wildebeest Camp. When there are power outages or variations (not uncommon in Nairobi), a very noisy generator in a neighbouring property fire into action. This occurred when staying in Tent 1, and you could feel the vibration through the bed. The higher the numbered tent, the further you are away from the generator - thus the Garden Tents in the far corner are the quietest when this occurs. It is for this reason that I believe the Garden Tents are the best and quietest value in the place. I know that management are working to rectify this and may have done so by the time you read this review.

The breakfast each morning was more than acceptable, with the pancakes being a strong recommendation. I never stayed for the dinner buffet, preferring to walk down to the nearby shopping centres which had plenty of options. The local Nakumatt supermarket is a 10-15 minute walk away and it is a great place to stock up on supplies such as chocolate and biscuits.

A big advantage of staying here is the ability to leave your luggage in the storage area for collection on your next stay. This is particularly helpful when travelling on the smaller planes within Kenya as they have a strict limit of 15kgs (including hand and checked luggage).

This is my first choice of accommodation in Nairobi, and I would recommend it to other people who wish a comfortable and affordable accommodation option in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Garden Tents are the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing