We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, family-friendly oasis in Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Ranked #2 of 287 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed with my kids (7 and 9) in a deluxe tent for a few days. Staff were super friendly and helpful and offered good advice, it attracted a relaxed and varied clientele and we enjoyed the communal dinner a couple of times and speaking to other guests at breakfast or just hanging out. It was lovely and green - a real oasis yet not far from the centre - and the kids had fun running around the garden, playing with the dogs and helping staff - freedom in a safe environment. Had a nice little shop, snacks available throughout the day, and internet access (also a shared computer). Reasonable prices. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BigMamma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

We only stayed one night on our way to Arusha. We arrived quite late but they were nice enough to keep a great dinner out for us, and accommodated our vegetarian diet. The room was pretty small but clean - bathrooms were pretty rustic though. Would definitely stay here again whenever in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed there during a work trip in Nairobi, in the luxury tents (bathroom included). Very clean and comfortable - its actually more a room than a tent, but keeping the nature side of things. We loved it and will definitely come back! Best sleep I have had in month!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The tented camp is brilliant, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't have asked for a better stay in Nairobi. Friendly people, good value and plenty of supermarkets etc around for your needs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here on four occasions in a variety of clean rooms and the concept of a tented camp in the middle of Nairobi is brilliant. The gardens are spacious and it is comfortable to relax here for prolonged periods of time. Safety is always a concern in Nairobi, and the grounds are surrounded by high walls, locked gate and 24 hour security - so you should sleep peacefully.

Here is a summary of the rooms I stayed in.

Budget Room - very small but adequate. Toilets are in the main building which is a moderate walk away. Considering the price of accommodation in Nairobi, this is some of the best value you will find in the city.

Deluxe Safari Tent - this is a wonderful tent set along the back wall of the property. The huge tents come with two beds (single and double) and a balcony with two chairs. They also have an attached bathroom which is very convenient, but the water didn't get that hot in the shower, but no matter.

Garden Tent - smaller than its pricier and larger sibling, mostly due to its external bathroom and shower, which did have hotter water than the the Deluxe Safari Tent. It is located at the quietest corner of the property.

Now for the "something" to be aware of, and this is not the fault of Wildebeest Camp. When there are power outages or variations (not uncommon in Nairobi), a very noisy generator in a neighbouring property fire into action. This occurred when staying in Tent 1, and you could feel the vibration through the bed. The higher the numbered tent, the further you are away from the generator - thus the Garden Tents in the far corner are the quietest when this occurs. It is for this reason that I believe the Garden Tents are the best and quietest value in the place. I know that management are working to rectify this and may have done so by the time you read this review.

The breakfast each morning was more than acceptable, with the pancakes being a strong recommendation. I never stayed for the dinner buffet, preferring to walk down to the nearby shopping centres which had plenty of options. The local Nakumatt supermarket is a 10-15 minute walk away and it is a great place to stock up on supplies such as chocolate and biscuits.

A big advantage of staying here is the ability to leave your luggage in the storage area for collection on your next stay. This is particularly helpful when travelling on the smaller planes within Kenya as they have a strict limit of 15kgs (including hand and checked luggage).

This is my first choice of accommodation in Nairobi, and I would recommend it to other people who wish a comfortable and affordable accommodation option in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Garden Tents are the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Great budget choice in Nairobi. They had a range of options, but I stayed in the cheapest option which was a shared dorm costing about 13 USD per person per night. Breakfast was included in the room cost. They also offered a dinner buffet at 7 p.m. everyday for Ksh 700. If you don't care for the buffet (the vegetarian options aren't that great) and can't eat at 7, you could order off the lunch menu any time. The restaurant and bar stays open until at least 11 p.m.

The guesthouse is in a convenient location and has pretty decent security, although you should exercise caution walking around anywhere in Nairobi, particularly after dark. You can buy pretty much everything you need, from toiletries to a Kenyan SIM card, within a few minutes' walk from the guesthouse.

Wildebeest also have a number of taxis associated with them and they can arrange for pick-ups and drop-offs to the airport or elsewhere around town. They cost a couple of hundred shillings more than you'd pay if you got a taxi yourself, but then again, you have the security of knowing that the taxi driver is legitimate and they're pretty friendly too.

The best thing that I liked about Wildebeest is that they were willing to store your luggage. So if you wanted to take a short trip around Kenya (whether it was organized through them or you were doing it on your own), you could leave some of your luggage there for a week or so without dragging it everywhere with you. That was very helpful if you didn't need some luggage and would prefer not hauling it in matarus, tuk-tuks, and bota-botas when you didn't have to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vthuppil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We have stayed here on two different occassions and cannot speak highly enough of the " camp " . I dont know where to start really...........but here goes.......so we opted for the delux tent , clean ,spacious,comfortable, en suite ( with running water), quiet and private. The idea of a tented camp within the city is fabulous concept and in my mind could cater for the leisure and buisness traveller alike ( if he /she is one that has a sence of adventure/boy scout without pushing it too far !! ) I have been visiting Nairobi for 40 years and have stayed in many of the large popular chain hotels but now Ive stayed at Wildebeest there is just no choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of there way to make you feel at home. Catering wise , on our first visit we chose the buffet, for convenience but were pleasently surprised by the selection and quality not to mention the cost, likewise on our second visit , though not from the buffet our dinner was again a good experience.
In all I would have no hesitation what so ever in recomending Wildebeest Camp to any sort of traveller with a hint of adventure but what I must say is that it is by far the best value for money accommodation experience I have had in a very long time ! We will be back .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo_Hatleskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
528 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,301 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $22 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing