We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great concept, but there is something to be aware of...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great concept, but there is something to be aware of...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here on four occasions in a variety of clean rooms and the concept of a tented camp in the middle of Nairobi is brilliant. The gardens are spacious and it is comfortable to relax here for prolonged periods of time. Safety is always a concern in Nairobi, and the grounds are surrounded by high walls, locked gate and 24 hour security - so you should sleep peacefully.

Here is a summary of the rooms I stayed in.

Budget Room - very small but adequate. Toilets are in the main building which is a moderate walk away. Considering the price of accommodation in Nairobi, this is some of the best value you will find in the city.

Deluxe Safari Tent - this is a wonderful tent set along the back wall of the property. The huge tents come with two beds (single and double) and a balcony with two chairs. They also have an attached bathroom which is very convenient, but the water didn't get that hot in the shower, but no matter.

Garden Tent - smaller than its pricier and larger sibling, mostly due to its external bathroom and shower, which did have hotter water than the the Deluxe Safari Tent. It is located at the quietest corner of the property.

Now for the "something" to be aware of, and this is not the fault of Wildebeest Camp. When there are power outages or variations (not uncommon in Nairobi), a very noisy generator in a neighbouring property fire into action. This occurred when staying in Tent 1, and you could feel the vibration through the bed. The higher the numbered tent, the further you are away from the generator - thus the Garden Tents in the far corner are the quietest when this occurs. It is for this reason that I believe the Garden Tents are the best and quietest value in the place. I know that management are working to rectify this and may have done so by the time you read this review.

The breakfast each morning was more than acceptable, with the pancakes being a strong recommendation. I never stayed for the dinner buffet, preferring to walk down to the nearby shopping centres which had plenty of options. The local Nakumatt supermarket is a 10-15 minute walk away and it is a great place to stock up on supplies such as chocolate and biscuits.

A big advantage of staying here is the ability to leave your luggage in the storage area for collection on your next stay. This is particularly helpful when travelling on the smaller planes within Kenya as they have a strict limit of 15kgs (including hand and checked luggage).

This is my first choice of accommodation in Nairobi, and I would recommend it to other people who wish a comfortable and affordable accommodation option in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Garden Tents are the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
105
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Great budget choice in Nairobi. They had a range of options, but I stayed in the cheapest option which was a shared dorm costing about 13 USD per person per night. Breakfast was included in the room cost. They also offered a dinner buffet at 7 p.m. everyday for Ksh 700. If you don't care for the buffet (the vegetarian options aren't that great) and can't eat at 7, you could order off the lunch menu any time. The restaurant and bar stays open until at least 11 p.m.

The guesthouse is in a convenient location and has pretty decent security, although you should exercise caution walking around anywhere in Nairobi, particularly after dark. You can buy pretty much everything you need, from toiletries to a Kenyan SIM card, within a few minutes' walk from the guesthouse.

Wildebeest also have a number of taxis associated with them and they can arrange for pick-ups and drop-offs to the airport or elsewhere around town. They cost a couple of hundred shillings more than you'd pay if you got a taxi yourself, but then again, you have the security of knowing that the taxi driver is legitimate and they're pretty friendly too.

The best thing that I liked about Wildebeest is that they were willing to store your luggage. So if you wanted to take a short trip around Kenya (whether it was organized through them or you were doing it on your own), you could leave some of your luggage there for a week or so without dragging it everywhere with you. That was very helpful if you didn't need some luggage and would prefer not hauling it in matarus, tuk-tuks, and bota-botas when you didn't have to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vthuppil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We have stayed here on two different occassions and cannot speak highly enough of the " camp " . I dont know where to start really...........but here goes.......so we opted for the delux tent , clean ,spacious,comfortable, en suite ( with running water), quiet and private. The idea of a tented camp within the city is fabulous concept and in my mind could cater for the leisure and buisness traveller alike ( if he /she is one that has a sence of adventure/boy scout without pushing it too far !! ) I have been visiting Nairobi for 40 years and have stayed in many of the large popular chain hotels but now Ive stayed at Wildebeest there is just no choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of there way to make you feel at home. Catering wise , on our first visit we chose the buffet, for convenience but were pleasently surprised by the selection and quality not to mention the cost, likewise on our second visit , though not from the buffet our dinner was again a good experience.
In all I would have no hesitation what so ever in recomending Wildebeest Camp to any sort of traveller with a hint of adventure but what I must say is that it is by far the best value for money accommodation experience I have had in a very long time ! We will be back .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo_Hatleskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed here for five nights in total - one in the single room, one in a pitched tent and three in a safari tent. The single room is great value, quite small and basic but adequate. The only problem is the toilets and bathroom are quite far away, and you need to go into the main house to access them. The pitched tent was even better value, and perfect if you're used to bunking down outdoors.

However, the safari tents are well worth the extra money, if you can afford them. They're beautiful and well equipped, some with en suite showers/toilets. They're well furnished, with sturdy comfortable beds.

This hostel seems to book up pretty fast, which is why I moved rooms alot during my stay. I'd originally booked a single room but had to change my reservation, which proved difficult. If you're making a reservation, be sure to stick to it because they're not very flexible in their arrangements. This was a bit of a downer, but it all worked out well in the end.

The hostel itself is easy to get to, and in a good location. The grounds are beautiful, and well looked after. It's a great place to laze around in the day or relax with people in the evening. The breakfast is great, and you can choose what you want instead of it being buffet style. The staff are generally nice, but the owner can be a little scary. I saw her arguing with quite a few guests. But the girl on the reception desk was lovely.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omniken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed twice in the place. First indoors and later outside in one of the permanent tents. Inside the rooms were small but tidy.

The tents were a nicer experience, pretty big, good mattress and allowing you a relaxation spirit after the Safari trip. People were very welcoming and in the way the place is designed you feel very secure and very free to walk around through the huge garden. The showers and toilets were a 15m walking distance from the tents, good for the noise being far, but also not very helpful in case of a night-emergency.... They do have permanent tents with private toillets.

Meal was good and breakfast really good. It's not a real backpacker, it has much more to it. Maybe the people that travel by that are so interesting, and also the fact that nairobi is not the most friendly city for long walks at night which oblige you to stay indoors. In this case, it was very pleasurable to stay there, a nice garden that serves as a lounge area.

In the neighbourhood there is a supermarket and some shops that you can arrange food - snacks. There is no comunal kitchen or anything. Prices for foods and drinks were pretty fair.

I feel the value for the room was a bit overpriced, but still worth paying. The whole city is overpriced for good accomodation anyways.

The not so positive point of staying in the tents, at least the one we did, is that you can hear people walking at night due to the rocky soil. You can also hear the people talking in the near tents. They are pretty close one to the other.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brtata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I've just completed some charity work in Nairobi and on the recommendation of friend I stayed and the Wildebeest camp - and I am soooo glad I did!
I stayed in one of the large tents with a beautifully firm double bed in it at the bottom of the lush green garden.
The facilities and accommodation were spotless and the friendly owners Alan and Lynita and their son Ollie made the place a real home away from home.

I am travelling back to Kenya later this year and will be staying here again and I thoroughly recommend the Wildebeest camp to anyone looking to stay in the area.
Thanks

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank YourNiceApartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed in the "Luxury Tents" and were wowed by the tents, other guests and tours. At first we were skeptical of the tents, but they are extremely clean and nice. The tents are an experience worth having.

Try their tours, among the best we had in Africa, especially the Kibera tour.

They provide excellent service. The hotel staff even came to our rescue when when the corrupt Nairobi Police were demanding money with AK-47s to our backs (NO JOKE).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Property: Wildebeest Eco Camp
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing