We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic rooms but superb staff - an excellent budget hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nubian Oasis Hotel

Nubian Oasis Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nubian Oasis Hotel
Save
You added Nubian Oasis Hotel to your Saves list
Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic rooms but superb staff - an excellent budget hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in Nubian Oasis' sister hostel in Dahab so chose to stay here in Luxor. Rooms were basic but everything worked, and the location was great for us - not too far from the centre and easy to find.

The staff made this place - they really took care of us, sorting out buses, trips, general advice - even getting a friend to pick us up in Hurghada after we left!

Can't thank them enough as they really made our stay in Luxor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everwanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our stay in Nubian Oasis really ruined our stay in Luxor. The most frustrating thing was the fact that there was no airconditioning but only a small fan (which didn't help much because it was 45 C). The beds were awful: just two thin matresses which caused us backaches the next morning. The bathroom was absolutely full of ants and was really disgusting. The lock of the room was so old that it couldn't be locked, which made us feel quite unsafe at night. The guy at reception was trying to help us, but it still didn't work out. Even though this hotel might be the cheapest in Luxor, I would really recommend looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Estonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My stay in the hotel was very pleasant. The rooms are yes, very basic, but if it's Luxor that You are there for, the room doesn't really matter. The staff is really hospitable, they don't only do what the profession expects, but really make sure You get along well in Luxor. Several times I was taken to the city center by the manager's motor bike:) and thanks to the staff I got invited to an egyptian street-wedding - an event not to be missed in Egypt!

The breakfast is the best in Egypt low-budget hotels. Yoghurt, omlett with salat and bread with cheese and jam!

The rooftop is really nice and cosy and a great meeting place.

Location is simply 5 minute walk form majour attractions and still in a quiet part of Luxor! I didn't even use my ear-pluga while sleeping.

Some of the reviews here are quite dramatic, but I had a very nice experiance!
Shukran Nubian Oasis Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaidiudris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luján
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I was there almost a year ago and it was the best hostel/hotel where I stayed during my jurney in Egypt. It's the best deal for backpackers in Luxor (mainly considering the very cheap price), and all the things that does not have (because it's far away from been a 5 stars hotel) are well compensated by the kindness and good disposition of the people that work in it. For example, they helped me find bus tickets to Cairo, because I couldn't get train tickets. I forgot to post a review before about it, but it's never too late and I think I owed it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavensmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

It ain't the Ritz - but for the price it's OK. For backpackers etc, it's more than OK, but if you're looking for a bit of comfort and luxury don't stay here. We met some of the best people on our trip at the rooftop bar of this hotel, it's such a great spot. The staff are also brilliant and the breakfast was great too.

  • Liked — Roof top bar, staff
  • Disliked — Beds, bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We unfortunately only got to stay one night at the Nubian Oasis Hotel, but it was very enjoyable. They organized both a driver and bikes to take us to the sights that we wanted to see. They picked us up from the train station, and took care of finding us tickets home on a busy holiday week.

The rooftop terrace is very nice, and everyone was very friendly.

Really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank alohmann0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Where should I begin! This hotel was a nightmare for my 27 year old son and me on our adventure to Egypt. When I booked this online I should have taken a hint at the "low" price of $8 a night, but the reviews on Trip Advisor were very positive and all said it was a great value . It was close to the train station which was a plus but the lobby was not attractive at all. The room we had was awful. First of all the key didn't work so it took about 3-5 minutes to get into the room. Upon arrival my son went to the bathroom to wash his hands and his shoes got all wet because there was a large hole in the pipe. The shower had no curtain and was crawling with ants. The electricity went out for 2 1/2 hours after we arrived so we had no air(overhead fan) and no lights. We checked out before spending a night. This place might work fine for backpackers but for us it was a disaster.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty rooms and bathroom and lack of electricity
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#2 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.8 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Oasis Hotel

Property: Nubian Oasis Hotel
Address: Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nubian Oasis Hotel at Luxor is a reputable and friendly backpacker hang out. We offer shared and private rooms all with private bathrooms. Breakfast is served every morning fresh juice, eggs, tea and bread. Our facilities include a roof top garden with bar, satellite TV, music and all the SHEESHA you can smoke. We are conveniently located on Shari Mohammed Farid Street, only a 5 minute walk to the train station and Luxor Temple. Also, near pharmacy , bank , restaurants, bar, supermarket, student cards office, bookshop, and shopping bazaar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Nubian Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing