We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of an Institution than a Restaurant”
Review of The Lantern Room

The Lantern Room
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“More of an Institution than a Restaurant”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just returned from 3 weeks in glorious Luxor and of course our return to The Lantern for the majority of our evening meals was "a must". Even though times are hard in Luxor with tourist numbers down, The Lantern is still full every night with all tables before 9pm being fully booked.
Debbie, the owner, has an uncanny knack of making every customer feel "Special", and coupled with her superb food she has hit on a combination which is nigh on impossible to beat. In the 3 weeks we were there, I attempted to go through the menu and "The Specials" board but without success as there were just too many good dishes to try.
All the dozens of "Brits" who go there night after night forsaking their hotel restaurants, are testimony to just how good this place really is.
Roll on next October, for another 3 weeks of culinary bliss.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieandNasser, Owner at The Lantern Room, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
You were fabulous guests and I'm so pleased to hear we made your evenings enjoyable. I'm very pleased you joined us and I do hope we'll be seeing you again soon!

Best,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    143
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good menu - local and European choices”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We managed to get in, despite having no reservation - the food is great, the service is good. Very nice indeed

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east ham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We entered the lantern and were welcomed by the owner Debbie. We had not made a reservation but she fitted us in on a sunday which was amazing.
We ordered and the food come in good time. we were all very satisfied and full after our meal only 2 of us were able to manage a pudding. Lemon merangue pie to die for.
The main course was outstanding hot well presented and plenty of it.
The decor and furnishings are beautiful and the staff are on the go all the time.
Excelent meal and surroundings. Many thanks to Debbie and the staff not forgetting her husband slaving away over a hot stove.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieandNasser, Owner at The Lantern Room, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
I'm very happy you decided to come and give us a try and we were able to accommodate you!

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for your support and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Best,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant.”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Best restaurant for British visitors in Luxor. The egyptian night on Thursdays needs to be booked and should not be missed. Fantastic value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egyptiansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieandNasser, Owner at The Lantern Room, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for visiting us at the Lantern! I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you for letting people know about booking the Thursday Egyptian Dinner.

It was lovely to meet you and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Best,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food,Lovely hostess”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We visited the lantern twice when we were in Luxor in September.The food was amazing and really cheap.We had 2 courses for 4 of us with many drinks to go with it and it worked out around £70.We were the last people in one evening and Debbie gave her own personal supply of Jack Daniels for us to drink....There was no pressure to leave(even as it was late) and we were really made welcome.The desert of Lemon mererange pie was amazing!! We will definately recommend this restaurant to any body visiting Luxor .

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieandNasser, Owner at The Lantern Room, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
What a lovely photo!

Thank you for visiting us! We very much enjoyed having you.

I hope you will come back to Luxor soon and we'll see you again.

Best,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lantern Room also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Lantern Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing