We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$15
Agoda.com$15
FindHotel
Hurb
Etrip
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
112
5
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
112
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot lemon awesome hotel place to stay egypt muhammed tourists
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

The staff was very kind and helpful, and helped us arrange for all the things we wanted to see and do in our very short stay. Despite missing one of our arrangements (after losing my phone and going on a hunt for it on the east bank) they were amazing and very helpful! a great city to visit and definitely recommend staying here on the west bank, close to the historical sites (for easy, cheap and fun tours that they help to set up) and away from the noise
would definitely stay there again!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccisme97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

We choose to stay here because we read all the amazing reviews, but we were extremely disappointed. This was the worst place I stayed at all trip. We decided to cut our stay short after just one night. I have never posted a review until now, but after this experience I felt the need to write one to warn others.There were a lot of annoyances with our stay mainly due with our host. However the biggest reason I'd recommend avoiding this place was because of how it ended.

When we went to check out of the place and close/pay up all of our tabs, Mohammed try to charge us 400 egyptian pounds extra. This is equal to 2 extra nights, double what we actually stayed. He explained that we had originally booked for longer and so it was out of his hands. "He was only the manager not the owner".

First off, In Egypt you pay for the nights that you stay, this is the reason for paying at the end. We had been in Egypt long enough to know how things work. When we told him that was unacceptable especially since we had talked to him the night before about how we may be leaving earlier, and he failed to mention this so called policy. Which by the way was not real. He was clearly just trying to make a few extra bucks.

After much deliberation and us telling him we found the 800 was unacceptable Mohammed said how the owner said 680 pounds was ok(as opposed to the 800 he was trying to charge us) keep in mind he is sitting in front of us and has not spoken to the owner during this interaction..... so mohammed contradicted himself and was admitting he was charging us more than what even the owners had agreed to....!?!?!?!! as result, we then insisted that we would need to call the Owners of the place. To which he was very hesitant to let us speak with, and kept making up excuses about how he does not think were "allowed to" and he would have to ask permission. We raised our brows at this and questioned what hotel owner wouldn't want to speak to their guest whom has an issue. We kept insisting that we wanted to speak to the owners ourselves. He kept insisting that he needed to use our phone to call the owners and could not use his own, but would still not let us speak to the owners but he would talk to them himself on our phone... Eventually after him beating around the bush, he said that he had already texted the owner. We found that to be very sly...eventually he called him, they had an extremely short conversation, a minute at most in ARABIC and did not offer us the phone. I had requested more than once if he was going to speak to the owner to speak in english for we already felt he was trying to be sly and did not trust what he was going to tell the owner. We know the owners speak english and Mohammed has been speaking english with us the entire time, so this should not have been an issue.

As soon as he got off the one minute phone call, he told us the owner was fine with us paying the correct amount that we owed for the nights we stayed there, and not an extra penalty fee included. But even while doing this he kept trying to confuse us by using two different currencies. He kept saying something along the lines of 200 in Egyptian pounds and then 35 in usd etc. why would you use more than one currencies? This made no sense at all when I asked for the price in pounds repeatedly. finally when he started putting it all in pounds he then kept getting weird numbers, and re-erasing the calculator. When it was a simple amount since we barely did things through him. The first number was 550 pounds over the amount we should owe. These numbers did not even include the room fee so it was 33% more than the real amount we owed, not just a few pounds off. This went on for at least 5 minutes of me trying to correct the numbers for I had them all written down and added up already.

this was the biggest reason among many for writing this review. I would not suggest for anyone to come here. Everything was overpriced and dealing with Mohammed was such a headache. Any time we needed an excursion it just felt like they tried to nickel and dime you. The hotel itself was very nice for the price, and maybe the owners are very nice people, but the management was the worst I have ever experienced.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
andrea P, Propietario at Pyramids Luxor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Dear costumer , thanks for your coment is Important to us to know what happend in our hotel , this is a personal mistake made it buy one of our employes when the owner was not there, hes behavior is not correct et all and not only make you sad but also broke our exellect reputación and score. I apologíze to much always our pollicy is to help the people offer a good quality service, FARE prices and never hasel or overcharge noboby. Thanks to coment the hotel was nice and is only mohamed the one try to scam you, he is not here any more, we want to make shure our place is different from any other in egypt because here you only will find the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017

I usually don't write many reviews, but I feel compelled to write one for this hotel. The hospitality and friendliness were exceptional here. There was a problem with the initial room we had booked, but the owner went out of his way to provide us with a different room at a very reasonable price. The breakfast and lunch that they cooked here was exceptional - at the quality of a good restaurant and not a hotel in fact. They were also able to provide very useful advice on places to see , and arranged drivers and guides for tours of the sights of the west bank for us. I can't recommend staying here enough!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aceshigh1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

I can't imagine a better experience in Egypt, it is an awesome place and Paola is the greatest host ever!!! She organized for us all the indispensable tours. 100% recomended, I felt at home indeed....

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Camilogapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

If you'd rather be in the more quiet and peaceful west bank, this is your place. At a great value, Pyramids Luxor Hotel is a fine choice. An open-designed hotel run by Egyptian Mohammed and his Colombian wife along with mother-in-law and adorable baby boy.
The property is new-ish and well kept and clean. The rooftop terrace is delightful and complete with hammock and nice view of the Nile.
Wifi only worked for us from 2am-6am but it was free. This is the norm for Luxor. Some of the nights we had mosquitos but were given a repellent that made a big difference. Not a big deal. Bathrooms were nice, the hot water is limited. The hotel has an open-air design so most likely your room window will face the interior of the hotel. Also for this reason louder guests might make sleeping an issue sometimes.
The breakfast was one of my favorites! Mohammed was very accomodating with us since we were staying two weeks. He offers other services around Luxor and was never pushy with those offerings. The other hotel staff were kind, professional and helpful.
Thank you Mohammed!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aaroncolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews