We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, good restaurant”
Review of El Gezira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Gezira Hotel
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good restaurant”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in El Gezira Gardens hotel (so not El Gezira, but they are close to each other on the Westbank) for only one night. The room was lovely, with some nice oriental touches *lamps, window screens). The layout of the hotel is beautiful and in the morning you hear lots and lots of birds. The restaurant was excellent, the people that work here very nice.
In short, we had a great stay and will stay there again next time we visit Luxor!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
38
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Used this hotel when I stayed at a local flat daily. I paid 15le for the day and trust me this is the best pool on the west bank !!!

Great pool, great cheap food, nice staff especially Saied and Ali.

Always had a smile on their faces and sold ice cold beers for only 10le.

Got talking to a couple of Brits that moved out there and they use the pool daily.

Try it !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife & I spent a few days at El Gezira Hotel. The family room was spacious, clean & very comfortable. We loved the location 1 minutes walk to the river. The rooftop restaurant had superb food, we really enjoyed our breakfasts also. This Hotel gave us a feeling of being close to the traditional Egytpian people & culture. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Marmoud organised tours & sunrise hot air ballooning with precision. We enjoyed the swimming pool, the free internet and the obvious care our hotel staff showed us & we would love to return to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cycadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

There are only eleven rooms in this homely hotel, all pristine and with private bathroom. The place has an old fashioned feel, a kind of quaintness, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The roof terrace with a view of the Nile is lovely and a basic breakfast - included in the room price - is served here. In the evenings, the terrace is a simple restaurant serving typical Egyptian food in a variety of set menus. (approx. EGP 40). Portions are large. Rooms are cleaned and fresh towels provided every morning. The hotel can also arrange bicycle hire, (although there are two or three shops on the main street of the village which also provide this service), laundry (EGP 5 per item), taxis, and arrange airport pick-ups and drop offs.
It's quiet (the whole of the west bank is quiet, but there are plenty of restaurants etc.) and just a short walk from the local ferry to the east bank (EGP 1 p.p. - an excellent place to get small change if you're running out). Double room with bathroom EGP 150.
Al Gezira's sister hotel - Gezira Gardens - organises 'Egyptian Nights'. A buffet style meal, live music, dervish dance and belly dance for EGP 150 p.p. The food and music are very good. The dancing is OK if you don't expect anything truely authentic - tourists are encouraged to get up and have a go, and this can last an age. At 22.30 there was no sign of the belly dancer so we left without seeing her.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Room 205 at the end of the first floor had a small sitting area and seemed large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2012

this hotel is very good value for money. strategically located near the port just walking distance so you can cross from east bank to west bank anytime of the day. The staff are friendly and will help you the best way they can. Would love to stay here again in my next trip to Luxor.
downside=mosquitoes in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budget_travel101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I didn't stay at El Gezira while in Luxor but I did eat at the roof-top restaurant several times. The food is delicious and the staff are very welcoming. It's also a great atmosphere and view! I would highly recommend a meal at El Gezira, at least!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were here for 3 nights and loved it very much. It is a nice hotel, good rooftop terrace, you can eat here very good and bring your own drinks if you which to do so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariannetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#15 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#23 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Gezira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Gezira Hotel

Property: El Gezira Hotel
Address: Geziret-El-Beirat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Gezira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Gezira Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing