We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby - all downhill from there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Valley Hotel Luxor
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It is hard to pick the worst part of our stay here, there are so many contenders.
1) the mosque loudspeaker next to our 1st floor window.
2) the dubious red stain on our blanket (which we placed in the corner of our room, only for housekeeping to helpfully remake the bed with the same soiled blanket the next day)
3) the 2 single sheets being used on a double bed
4) the dirty bathroom
5) the poor breakfast and woeful dinner we had the misfortune to sample
6) the pool area which resembled a building site

On the plus side, they make great coffee in the lobby area, and cold beer is available.

I'm sure there are much better budget options available in Luxor, and would strongly suggest looking elsewhere (we stayed as part of a tour so had no choice)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sc00bysnacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Didn't actually stay in this hotel, just had a day room, but even that was too much. Arrived to find no towels in our room. Phoned down and requested some - none arrived. Went up to the swimming pool to take a pool towel - none were left. Went back to reception to re-request towels and was informed someone would be up straight away. Needless to say they never arrived.

Decided to eat on the roof top bar and ordered two burgers. It took over an hour to arrive and was slightly cremated - my husband's burger had an eyelash on his cheese as decoration. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient for the bazaar and luxor temple but that is the only thing in this hotel's favour. The rooms and decor are extremely dated and dirty looking and paint is peeling off the walls. Would not recommend this hotel unless you are extremely short of money

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manta-Manta-Diving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This place was horrible. The lobby seemed promising, but upstairs the carpet was threadbare, there were no blankets or pillows (unless you counted the brown threadbare rag on the bed) and there was no amenities in the washroom... including toilet paper or towels. In the hallway, we spotted a hole in the wall to the laundry, and a rat was crawling in an overflowing bag of garbage. Next was a cat meowing loudly, hopefully it got the rat. The rapid dog restrained by a bellboy on the third floor was the final straw. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Memphis Tours put us here while we waited for the evening train to Luxor. Everything else with Memphis Tours was really top notch so I find it hard to believe they know how awful this place is.

An effort has been made to make the lobby look presentable but the minute you leave the lobby the place is old, dirty and run down, even the outdoor carpeting around the pool was ripped up.

In our room, the carpet needed vacuuming and it smelled, everything was covered with a thick layer of dust and there were actual cobwebs on the light fixtures. The little refrigerator was sticky with filth. There were no towels in the bathroom and when we asked for some, a surly maid delivered some grey rags. The water pressure in the shower was a trickle. We were just glad we didn't have to sleep there. And... there's a Mosque with a loudspeaker right next door!

I let Memphis Tours know about all this when they requested my feedback. Hopefully they will find a better place to put their clients waiting for the train. It doesn't have to be 5-star but it should be clean!

Room Tip: Just don't stay there if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were placed in this hotel by Memphis tours ( we will talk about them later) for a few hours while we waited for our flight back to Cairo. Thankfully we didn't need to sleep there or much else other than go to the toilet and shower. That in itself was a worry as it was quite dirty - towels that should have been white were grey and so very thin. The supply of toilet paper was limited. Getting additional toilet paper was not that difficult but the fact you need to go to reception to ask was strange in the least. There are only a few positives. I think tour companies using this as a parking place for customers awaiting planes and trains should rethink their policy in this regard. I cannot think of one reason why I would choose stay there except It was very close to markets and temples and some fast food places that were OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We too had a day in Luxor awaiting our departure on the sleeper late that night. Yes, it is old, tired and not a three star hotel, however, for the price of fifty Egyptian pound, what more could you want? It was very close to markets, Karnak temple and the train station. Having two young children, we found this to suit what we needed, a shower, wifi and a bed for the boys to have an afternoon sleep and a refreshing swim in the pool. It is next to a mosque so is very noisy, would not recommend staying over night unless you are on a very tight budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our tour operator, Memphis Tours, put us up in this hotel for eleven hours during the day after our morning tour of the East Bank finished until we had to leave to catch the night train back to Cairo. (Not to mention that this was never shown on the itinerary, but that's for a different review.)
This hotel I'm sure was once very nice. However, lack of upkeep has turned it into a dirty, broken mess. Every place in the hotel, including the halls, lobby, rooms, and pool was filthy, stained, and/or broken. There were huge mold stains on the ceiling, the bedding was tattered and torn, and the walls were discolored from dirt.
The staff was friendly and helpful during our short time there, but it was an overall terrible experience. There are many other hotels in Luxor. Go to one of them instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wegs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#15 of 54 in Luxor
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 54 in Luxor
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#31 of 54 in Luxor
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Valley Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Valley Hotel Luxor

Address: Karnak Temple Street, Luxor LXR, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: $25 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Valley Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Valley is a brand new modern hotel seven-storey located near Nile River & Luxor Temple. Exceptional facilities & services. Hotel/Room amenities: 24 hour front desk, central A/C, central music system, deluxe furniture, built-in closets, work desks, 24 hour room service, restaurant, bar, heated outdoor-pool, lifts, currency exchange, travel/tours desk. All rooms ensuite bath/shower facilities with 24 hour hot showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Queens Valley Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Valley Luxor
Luxor Queens Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing