We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an extraordinary experience of an extraordinary place: Luxor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Luxor is an extraordinary place, overall west bank because of so many wonders inside just one city.
Pharaoh's hotel, located on West Bank is, for my opinion, the best place to enjoy those wonders: imagine an hotel, just beside ticket office ( that allows you to be the first one on tombs and temples when there are many tourists), with rooms with a fantastic view on Medinet Habu and the theban mountain, seeming to be lighted on night just for you.The rooms are clean and very cheap; the restaurant offers very fresh food and sometimes, you'll meet there archeologist resting here after the digs. All the team is very nice and friendly and Refaat, the owner ,will speak with you, as you want, about Luxor or egyptian situation, helping you to understand this wonderful country, this wonderful people.
I tell that, because I just come from Pharaoh's hotel and want to share this experience with you

Room Tip: Ask rooms on the roof for the view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dobaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel, but have used it frequently for meals and drinks since 2006. The garden outside, facing onto the Theban hills, is quiet, peaceful, and there is always shade to be found. Wine and beer are always available. The main chef retired from a major East Bank hotel a few years ago. The food is always good, but the choice will vary depending on the number of customers. In the evening many locals come here to drink (hard and soft), enjoy a Sheesha, or just to relax and talk.

If you are into antiquities, the location is excellent - the ticket office is a hundred yards away and several sites are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we checked into this hotel we were the only guests staying in there, the boss told us that the protests in Egypt has caused the number of visitors to plummet. At first the boss was very friendly and helpful with information about Luxor, then after staying for 5 days we had a nasty surprise. Refaat insisted that we had stayed for 8 nights instead of 5, he said that he had called up 3 different people working at the hotel who vouched and remembered that we stayed for 8 days. We at first did not remember the exact date that we checked in, but we later remembered after checking the date we had taken a train from Cairo. After an hour of fuss and arguing, we finally managed to retrieve our train ticket information from the rail website as proof. We were very dissapointed that he tried to con us with his stories - what with having conversations and calling up people to vouch for him.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mel_Lin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went there with a bunch of friends on our discovery of Egypt and after the recent turmoils I have one thing to say to my fellow travellers : it is safe to travel to Egypt, the egyptians will more than welcome you.
That being said the hotel in itself was great, not new mind it, if you are picky it might not be for you but when you see the state of things in Egypt, I say the hotel is more than adequate.
The room was nice not too big, not much in the way of decoration but everything was working from the A/C to the plumbing.
But what made it for me was the location, on the west bank of the Nile, not in the main city of Luxor and at walking distance from famous archeological sites.
They have a great terrace facing the mountains and the desert and no one around.
We spent a good amount of time at the end of the day and at night on this terrace enjoying drinks and food and the company of staff and locals, even the owner Mr. Rafat joined us on occasions and he's quite the character.
Else, I enjoyed immensely the strolls I took in the nearby mountains and desert it was quite an experience, that plus the wonders of ancient Egypt it's a journey I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We only ate here but the staff were so helpfull that I felt I should give credit where credit is due. The problems in Cairo have obviously affected the tourism industry in Luxor and the hotel was very quiet when we stopped for a bite to heat.

Despite obviously not having the supplies in they rustled us up a good meal and I would definately consider staying here if returning to Luxor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Nice hotel with friendly staff, quiet location.
Very jummy food.
Lots of birds are singing in the morning when you have breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uuu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Great location, quiet pretty garden with lots of birds singing! Great food, very nice personnel and helpful owner.
You can see the desert with one of the worlds largest outside museum from your window.
Very pieceful!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nefermimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.8 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
1.1 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#23 of 54 in Luxor
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#25 of 54 in Luxor
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Habu City, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: $2 - $7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing