We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enchanting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Habu City, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went there with a bunch of friends on our discovery of Egypt and after the recent turmoils I have one thing to say to my fellow travellers : it is safe to travel to Egypt, the egyptians will more than welcome you.
That being said the hotel in itself was great, not new mind it, if you are picky it might not be for you but when you see the state of things in Egypt, I say the hotel is more than adequate.
The room was nice not too big, not much in the way of decoration but everything was working from the A/C to the plumbing.
But what made it for me was the location, on the west bank of the Nile, not in the main city of Luxor and at walking distance from famous archeological sites.
They have a great terrace facing the mountains and the desert and no one around.
We spent a good amount of time at the end of the day and at night on this terrace enjoying drinks and food and the company of staff and locals, even the owner Mr. Rafat joined us on occasions and he's quite the character.
Else, I enjoyed immensely the strolls I took in the nearby mountains and desert it was quite an experience, that plus the wonders of ancient Egypt it's a journey I will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We only ate here but the staff were so helpfull that I felt I should give credit where credit is due. The problems in Cairo have obviously affected the tourism industry in Luxor and the hotel was very quiet when we stopped for a bite to heat.

Despite obviously not having the supplies in they rustled us up a good meal and I would definately consider staying here if returning to Luxor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Nice hotel with friendly staff, quiet location.
Very jummy food.
Lots of birds are singing in the morning when you have breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uuu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Great location, quiet pretty garden with lots of birds singing! Great food, very nice personnel and helpful owner.
You can see the desert with one of the worlds largest outside museum from your window.
Very pieceful!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nefermimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

i was a woman alone with my son and the owner made me so welcome he even said i was beautiful all the things a woman needs to here , but believe me he only does this so he can end up sleeping with you so if you are a woman your own just be careful i find out from other women that he sleeps with them in his hotel which in his culture this is not good at all so all women going to the pharaohs hotel luxor be very careful of this man refaat the hotel owner form my experience i wouldnt want it to happen to any other woman

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ItalyMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

In februari 2009 I stayed at Pharaohs Hotel on the West Bank of Luxor for my second time. The hotel is located right in the middle of many interesting places to visit. Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, the Ramesseum, temple of Hatshepsut and the temple of Habu are all very nearby, some of them even within walking distance! For all these attractions you have to get a ticket at the ticket-office witch is right next to Pharaohs Hotel, so very easy!

Luxor centre on the East Bank with Luxor temple, Karnak temple and the Luxor museum is easy to reach by servicebus or taxi and the ferryboat. All very cheap and taking you almost every few minutes!

The hotel itself has a nice terras surrounded by a garden with trees. It realy is a family hotel runned by Mr. Refat Hassan and his friendly staff. Don't expect any luxury and much comfort, but if you search for a good clean hotel with very good and friendly service, your at the right place! The staff is willing to give you any advise you want and helps you in every way they can.

The hotel has also an excellent restaurant that offers good Egyptian food for affordable prices.

When I visit Luxor again I will absolutely stay at Pharaohs Hotel!

  • Liked — The friendly contact with and service by the owner and the staff.
  • Disliked — Not much comfort.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexanderVandenTweel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Pharoahs Hotel is a budget hotel close to the old village of El Gourna. It sits just between the last of the green fields of the Nile Valley and the dry, dusty Egyptian desert. My wife and 4 teenage daughters stayed there in Feb 2005 and had a wonderful time.

The hotel has a patio area with a bar and comfortable chairs shaded by palm trees. The strategically placed pool table provided hours of entertainment!

The hotel itself has a cool lobby and restaurant, and three floors of accomodation. The rooms were simple/basic but clean, with en-suite and had working air-con (necessary with a heat wave producing 37C day temperatures and some hot nights). The toilets and showers were OK/adequate.

Food in the hotel was plain, tasty and plentiful (felafel, humous, flat breads, chicken etc)

The siting of the hotel allowed us to walk to Medinet Habu (600 yards), Deir el-Medina (800 yards) and up to the mountain above the Valley of the Kings (1 mile plus a climb) for a stunning view over the Valley of the Kings . Deir El Bahri was very close as well.The actual West Bank at Luxor, a mile away, had a internet cafe (importantly for the teenagers!). Getting to Luxor was a 30 min trip in a taxi (a bridge has to be crossed) for a very small fee or a trip over the Nile for an even smaller cost!

These things in themselves would have been enough to make our stay hugely enjoyable.

However the warmth and welcome given by the owner, Refat Hassan, were extraordinary and transformed our stay into a wonderful experience. One of our teenagers had a birthday and Refat not only produced a cake, he produced a party, complete with a band of local musicians and dancing, all with Refat's compliments. Hospitality takes on a new meaning under these circumstances!

So for those who want a budget hotel and perhaps some exposure to the genuineness and warmth of the Egyptian people this is a very good place to start.

We found the hotel via the web-site below:

[--]

  • Liked — Warmth of welcome
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Newbury_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal House Hotel
Royal House Hotel
#41 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#21 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#20 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#28 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#27 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Habu City, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing