We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Luxor for budget travel, hands down”
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nefertiti Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Luxor for budget travel, hands down”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Cannot say enough great things about this hotel, was the best stay of our entire trip despite being the cheapest. Here's the breakdown:

Location: Central, close to Luxor temple and shops. The street name is named after the owner’s grandfather, which gives you an idea of how established this hotel is within the local community.

Rooms: The room was spartan but clean and had all the basic essentials: bed, closet, clean full bathroom. Only ding is that the walls are light so some of the street and hotel noise permeates through at night.

Service: The folks running this hotel are incredibly friendly, and we really felt like we were staying in somebody’s house instead of a commercial establishment. Everyone from the owner to the waitstaff was genuine and went out of their way to be helpful and make conversation.

Facilities: The hotel, as mentioned, is in a unique lane. They have a co-located tour company (Aladdin Tours), and a restaurant with seating along the lane that serves great food. They also have a great rooftop lounge area where you can sip Egyptian tea and smoke sheesha while gazing at the Valley of the Kings lit up across the Nile. The hotel felt like an intimate community and we got the opportunity to strike up conversations with a number of other guests at the hotel.

In summary, I am a huge fan of this hotel and would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor to be adjacent to the rooftop lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquashGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for talking the time to write this kind review. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to help make your holiday in Egypt an enjoyable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    213
    49
    20
    15
See reviews for
114
269
195
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our time! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. We also took a tour recommended by the hotel which was very informative and was a good value for our money. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozenocean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.


Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are couple traveling to Luxor for 4 days. Nefertiti hotel is the right choice from the very start. We read the good review on tripadvisor but coming and feel it by ourselves is different. The room is clean and has private bathroom which is also clean. There is free wifi which is very fast given that it is Egypt. The tv also works with several movies program available. It has AC as well. The decoration was lovely and the room is made up every day. Towel also available. The restaurant down stairs served tasty food and has the only camel meat menu on it.

The other great things is the rooftop, it is a definitely lovely place to enjoy breakfast in the morning. Mohammad the manager gives us few tips and choice of tour that can be booked directly from this hotel. We booked the west bank tour with funny guide, Aladin :).

On the last day, they gave us discount of half price because we dont stay for the whole day!. So this hotel really care about their customer. Great location as well, El Souq is just behind this hotel and Luxor temple is right in the front. Definitely the right choice that we made up when we choose this hotel.

Will come back to this place when we visit Luxor again. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ainil_Syalvianty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your time to write a review about our hotel. We are very happy that you spend a good time in our hotel. It was a big pleasure to have you as our guest .

Hopefully we can welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was fantastic; it was clean, if basic, the rooftop terrace was a home away from home, great food, but the very best aspect was the staff; they were friendly, attentive and professional, and it made our four nights in Luxor a great experience. We organised all our tours through the hotel and they were all really good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your time to write a review about our hotel. We are very happy that you spend a good time in our hotel. It was a big pleasure to have you as our guest .

Hopefully we can welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I can't recomend this hotel highly enough. The staff are lovely and the place is just great.

The roof terrace gives excellent respite from the hassles of taxis etc and has a great view over the Luxor Temple to the Nile. The food is great and the service top notch.

We stayed here in December and the duvets made for a cozy night's sleep. The rooms are really nicely decorated and the street outside is quiet which is very relaxing.

The location is great. A really good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting you and we certainly hope to see you back here, your home, one day soon!

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantatic hotel with a beautiful view of the Nile and west bank. Good, clean rooms. The thing that stands out the most is the fantastic staff. From Mohammed and Abdallah who took care of our endless shisha needs upstairs to Mohammed and Hamada downstairs who took it upon themselves to take me out for a fantastic night to the best shisha cafe I have ever experienced.
The guys are extremely knowledgable about tours and whats on offer and understand that each traveller is different so model activities to suit.
As the saying goes, come as a guest and leave as a friend. The guys here definately make sure this is true.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeingTheWorld_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel in order to inform other travelers about your experiences. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your staying with us.

It's our big pleasure to host you again in our hotel ones you come back to Luxor. Hopefully we will meet again soon.

Best regards,

Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Beautiful view of the nile, and the rooms are all up to par for a budget stay. The guys who are working there are immensely resourceful and willing to arrange any trip you'd like. Upon arriving, we were sat down and they helped us create a daily plan for our stay in Luxor/Aswan, outlining costs and arranging transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to help make your holiday in Egypt an enjoyable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Property: Nefertiti Hotel
Address: El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 85951, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing