We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being popular has driven up the price”
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nefertiti Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

A popular budget hotel, relatively safe & clean without being creepy for females. I shared the room with 2 girls & was able to drink alcohol on the terrace without being dragged outside at night & beaten. Reception spoke good English but didnt budge too much on room price. This isnt really in the budget category, close to double the rate in our LP guide at over $40 USD for a triple incl breakfast.

The small room was tiled with air-con, hot water & small TV. Our balcony overlooked a lively market alley & was noisy until midnight. Free Wi-fi is only strong at reception & rooftop terrace. The hotel has approx. 5 levels, no elevators. Decorative stained glass lighting & colourful wall art add much life to rooms.

The hotel has a restaurant with camel on the menu. Some of the cooks I thought were local daytime taxis drivers? $15 USD for a 2 course meal plus entertainment, included a local band, a busty belly dancer, a whirling dervish & local kids doing something that looked like folk dancing. There's a McDonalds about 150 meters toward the river which is cheaper than a meal at any of the surrounding restaurants if your budgeting.

The hotel can organise tours but drivers can be hired cheaper just outside if you're willing to bargain. Located 10-15 min walk from the train station & within sight of the Nile river, just off the tourist market. The hotel's best feature is the upstairs terrace where you can catch cool winds while enjoying the view of the Valley of the Kings in the distance.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 927 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

This March I returned to Luxor and booked again at the Nefertiti as I remember having a pleasant stay the previous times I have been there.
This time however I was pleased to find that the hotel had a complete makeover, with rooms, bathrooms and communal areas upgraded nicely.

Moreover, what used to be a small roof terrace where breakfast was served is now a two tiers spacious and comfortable open-air lounge, open for drinks, dinner, sunbathing, or simply to relax and enjoy the beautiful uninterrupted view of the avenue of the sphinx, the Nile and the West bank. At sunset is a must.

The management and staff of the hotel are all very professional and tuned to the needs of the clientele, very friendly attentive and always welcoming.

The location, just beside the bazaar could be a problem if you want to go to bed early, though it is perfect for exploring Luxor with most of the key places (Temple, ferry to the West-bank, bazaar etc.) within a short walk.

Overall The Nefertiti in Luxor certainly deserve the many positive reviews it gets and I am glad to be able to add mine, grateful for the very pleasant stay I had.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank click67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great location, excellent service, clean rooms, free breakfast, free WiFi and a rooftop restaurant with a killer view... all at a budget price? Yes please!

Rooms: The rooms are pretty and with lots of charm. Our room had lots of character with the murals painted on the wall, the colorful light fixtures, the wooden floors and the wood ceilings. Our room was very clean with a comfortable king bed.

Bathroom: Clean bathroom with plenty of hot water and strong water pressure in the shower. I appreciated the little details on the bathroom sink, such as a place for toothbrushes and a shelf for toiletries and other personal items.

Location: Great location! Hotel is located across the street from the Avenue of the Sphinxes and the Luxor Temple. The hotel is located next to a market. When you exit the main hotel entrance, take a right, walk a couple of steps and there is the market with several streets of shops, vendors, coffee shops, restaurants. Two or three blocks away is the Nile River and the walkway all along the River.

Hotel Restaurant: Complimentary breakfast buffet every morning on the Rooftop with made to order omelets and pancakes. Breads, feta cheese salad, jams, hot and cold cereal are also available. The fresh air rooftop restaurant has fantastic views of the Luxor Temple and the Nile River. There's a terrace above the rooftop restaurant as well that is great for dining or enjoying a cup of coffee. The restaurant also has seating downstairs, outside the main entrance.This outside seating is very pretty with a wood ceiling decorated with lights and colorful lanterns.

Noise: Our bedroom was on the top floor, next to the stairs. Just a few feet away was the rooftop restaurant. There was always music, foot traffic, talking, yet we never heard any noise once in our room. Our room was quiet and we slept well.

The Stairwell: There is no elevator. You must take the stairs up and down. It really isn't so bad. The stairs are not steep and are angled well to where you can climb up and down with moderate ease.

Customer Service: On our last day, we checked out early, left our bags at the front desk and left for a full day of touring. We returned to the hotel later in the evening, exhausted from our day out. We had a couple of hours left before leaving for the train station. Noticing that we were tired from our day out and that we were not looking forward to the 9 hour train ride back to Cairo, we were given a room key to go freshen up/use the bathroom/relax before our departure. We were very grateful to be given a room for our personal use, free of any charge. This made a great impression.

We received great service all around, whether checking in, having the complimentary breakfast or having dinner at the rooftop restaurant. The owner, his wife and his brother are very friendly and accommodating people.

We look forward to returning to the Nefertiti Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linensandbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in febr. 2012, a fine hotel with small but clean rooms, a nice rooftop terrace with splendid views. The people there are very kind, you MAY book some tours here but they are not pushing you to do so. We loved it very much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariannetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel had a very knowledgeable and accommodating staff, they helped me with last minute tours, taxis, restaurants, and train schedules. I was on my own and they wanted to make sure I was safe and had a good time during my stay.
The breakfast was good and the roof top has a great view! The bed was comfortable and my room had a lot of space. I was on the top floor so it was a little loud due to the rooftop activity, but I love it. The location was great and it was easy to get anywhere I wanted to go.
A big plus was the hotel had a car waiting at the train station to pick up guests and you didn't have to deal with bargaining for a taxi at 5am.

Room Tip: The Luxor Temple is across the street, but follow the rows of Sphinx and you'll get to Karnack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrystalMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a wonderful, budget hotel in Luxor. The roof terrace is fabulous and you can't believe that you can be looking down on the Luxor Temple and the Nile and across to the Valley of the Kings and paying such a reasonable price.
The food at the roof top restaurant is also good and resonable. It is in such a good position for visiting the souk and taking the ferry across the river.
Staff are very helpful about organising trips - the trip up the Nile to Dendera which they organised for us was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Based on reviews here, I decided to book this hotel. Yes, it's a cheap hotel, but VERY noisy. If you are a light sleeper, good luck.

Pros: Central location, staff seemed to be pretty good.

Cons: Spartan furnishings (small sheet covering the mattress), small bathrooms where everything gets wet (including toilet paper if you are not careful), no towel hooks. And VERY noisy. If you are on the back, you are right above a place where men play dominoes all night. Very loud. Even the front is loud. Traffic noise all the time.

I highly recommend a West bank location. Very quiet over there, and the same price. Too many hassles on the East bank.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
941 reviews
3 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 85951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $24 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing