We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonable good compromise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Land Hotel

Happy Land Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Land Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very reasonable good compromise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

is a good compromise between quality and price. the rooms are very clean and quiet. precisely what you need after a day in luxor. the manager is very helpful and really did his best to make our stay pleasant.
the hotel is a 10-minute walk from the city center and train station. good position.
if you need you can leave your luggage after the ceck out (train in the night).
in this period, the breakfast is not very rich ( a cup of tea, beans, bread).
definitely recommend the hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Cheap and basic but the manager, his welcome and his excellent advice make it a pleasure to stay here. And you're not in 'tourist' Luxor, though the temple is still nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Brilliant breakfast, friendly staff, clean, cheerful and everything worked. Shame there weren't many other travellers around though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postscript969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed three nights in this generally good hostel. Management and staff are very friendly! Rooms are average at best, but the rooftop restaurant is nice. Breakfast is served from 7.30 and consisted of fuul, falafel, tomatoes, bread and, a fried egg and coffee (better than your average egyptian hostel breakfast).

The tour I took was a slight deception (the guide seemed genuinely uninterested in providing a good service and a visit to the "factory shop" was compulsary).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
749 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place is nice, realy clean with an excellent breakfast on the roof in a holiday ambiance. ««««««««««we choose to change for 2 reasons, the noise on the street was keeping us awake, the price was high compare to around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Hi
I went to this hotel as suggested by Lonely Planet... my guide was printed in 2006 so I expected changes in prices, anyway.
However, when I arrived, I was surprised by the price but as it was late in the evening I checked in anyway. That evening I went out and checked other hotels nearby, like Princess which was 45% cheaper for similar services.
When I came back to the hotel, I asked the staff why the price was so high compared to other hotels, the staff spoke very poor English and mis-understood that I didnt want to pay, they wanted to retain my passport, etc. It made me furious and finally they called the manager and gave my passport back to me.
Next morning, I had an explanation from the manager/owner about their price. However, I found him very arrogant and unconsiderate so I left out that same morning and went to Princess hotel where staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantiLaRuina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel has basic rooms and no furniture. The beds are comfy and clean. However the bathroom was very reasonable with enough space to shower and plenty hot water. We had two rooms next to the reception area but it was not very loud during the night. For the price this hotel was adequate. We also had our laundry done here and it costed us less than 20EGP for a load of laundry!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Land Hotel

Property: Happy Land Hotel
Address: El Kamar St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing