We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonable good compromise”
Review of Happy Land Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Land Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Treviso, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very reasonable good compromise”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

is a good compromise between quality and price. the rooms are very clean and quiet. precisely what you need after a day in luxor. the manager is very helpful and really did his best to make our stay pleasant.
the hotel is a 10-minute walk from the city center and train station. good position.
if you need you can leave your luggage after the ceck out (train in the night).
in this period, the breakfast is not very rich ( a cup of tea, beans, bread).
definitely recommend the hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Cheap and basic but the manager, his welcome and his excellent advice make it a pleasure to stay here. And you're not in 'tourist' Luxor, though the temple is still nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Brilliant breakfast, friendly staff, clean, cheerful and everything worked. Shame there weren't many other travellers around though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postscript969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed three nights in this generally good hostel. Management and staff are very friendly! Rooms are average at best, but the rooftop restaurant is nice. Breakfast is served from 7.30 and consisted of fuul, falafel, tomatoes, bread and, a fried egg and coffee (better than your average egyptian hostel breakfast).

The tour I took was a slight deception (the guide seemed genuinely uninterested in providing a good service and a visit to the "factory shop" was compulsary).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place is nice, realy clean with an excellent breakfast on the roof in a holiday ambiance. ««««««««««we choose to change for 2 reasons, the noise on the street was keeping us awake, the price was high compare to around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Hi
I went to this hotel as suggested by Lonely Planet... my guide was printed in 2006 so I expected changes in prices, anyway.
However, when I arrived, I was surprised by the price but as it was late in the evening I checked in anyway. That evening I went out and checked other hotels nearby, like Princess which was 45% cheaper for similar services.
When I came back to the hotel, I asked the staff why the price was so high compared to other hotels, the staff spoke very poor English and mis-understood that I didnt want to pay, they wanted to retain my passport, etc. It made me furious and finally they called the manager and gave my passport back to me.
Next morning, I had an explanation from the manager/owner about their price. However, I found him very arrogant and unconsiderate so I left out that same morning and went to Princess hotel where staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantiLaRuina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel has basic rooms and no furniture. The beds are comfy and clean. However the bathroom was very reasonable with enough space to shower and plenty hot water. We had two rooms next to the reception area but it was not very loud during the night. For the price this hotel was adequate. We also had our laundry done here and it costed us less than 20EGP for a load of laundry!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Land Hotel

Property: Happy Land Hotel
Address: El Kamar St | of elmadina St. luxor, Luxor 22222, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Happy Land, a backpackers’ favorite, offers clean rooms and spotless bathrooms, as well as very friendly service, a copious breakfast with fruit and fresh juices and cornflakes. in the rooftop terrace. also drinks and fresh juices are available all day as well as traditional tea and coffee. & free Jacuzzi bath. Bikes can be rente, and free wi-fi . also we have laundry facilities . also we can help you to get ISIC cards. Competition among Luxor’s budget hotels is fierce, and the Happy Land comes out well almost every time. It doesn’t need to send touts to the station! We do our best to make you relaxed and happy in the happy land hotel. P.S/ we have free pickup from anywhere arrive in luxor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Happy Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing