We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Now also with safes and electronic door cards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Pola Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Pola Hotel Luxor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Now also with safes and electronic door cards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The management continues to invest in the hotel.
As there are not many tourists now, breakfast has been sized down a bit.
Even in Maritime King's Island (former Mövenpick), not everything is available anymore on the menu card.
Many hotels in Luxor are now available for extremely good value.
Notwithstanding the heath of sometimes 43°, the air is dry and it's really feasable.
The ramadam in Luxor is like a big feast in the evening, and people are surprisingly friendly and less pushy than before the revolution.
At my opinion, nearby Joseph hotel is less pleasant than Pola, for many reasons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bennou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    14
    10
    15
See reviews for
9
27
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

after staying at the pola for 5 or 6 years running i was very dissappointed with the standard this year and will not be returning! theyve lost our custom, breakfast consisted of stale bread and cheese , there was never any lighting on in the hotel or air conditioning in the dining room or reception , its gone really downhill

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alimack140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Harrogate
Level Contributor
365 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Good modern hotel run by Coptic's excellent rooms and very reasonable, last time was 100ep per night!!!
But the rooftop swimming pool is great & cheap to use as an outsider, the food was very good and cheap but hear recently gone off a bit due to summer season and seasonal lack of tourists
Give it a try u will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mchawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorbas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The New Pola has a fantastic position and is excellent value for money especially at the moment when most hotels are underoccupied and offering big discounts. However they do seem a bit disorganised, particularly around breakfast where everything seems to be in short supply. Rooms on high floors at the front have balconies and wonderful views of the Nile, but are noisy from the road below - the traffic hardly stops all night. The back is quieter with fairly pleasant views. The swimming pool on the roof is brilliant, the sunbeds comfortable, but again towels seem to be in short supply. There is an extensive library - but in the dark and under lock and key! If you can persuade anyone to unlock it, it's a good resource - but best take your own torch to see what's there. The hotel is also willing to hold your luggage securely while you travel elsewhere, which was very convenient for us when we travelled to Aswan and Abu Simbel for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRondena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Its dirty, dead bugs on the bedding,The reast of the bedding was tatty. the view is a brick wall, we asked to be moved but they said it was in the contract. WE REFUSED TO STAY and went to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't do it, go to the St Joseph instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina210669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

It’s not often you get a whole hotel to yourself at a bargain rate but, after Egypt’s tourist exodus last January/February, I lived for several days in splendid isolation as the only guest in the New Pola. Two years ago, I stayed for three weeks but this was for 17 nights and I had a couple of days of near-normal service before everybody left.
Judging by the other reviewers, it’s somewhere you either love or hate. Personally, I am with the minority who do neither but happen to like the place. To be clear for those who don’t, it is no way the hotel’s fault that its guests bailed out. In the lead-up to Mubarak’s resignation, many of Luxor’s visitors got nervous, and the holiday companies pulled the plug on the rest sending the tourist trade into meltdown. All the hotels suddenly found themselves empty or virtually empty.
Sooner or later, things will start getting back to normal and, if you are looking for a centrally located budget, hotel, the Pola is a very good choice. It is well cleaned, something even most of its critics acknowledge. (When I was ‘home alone’, they still did my room spotlessly and washed the halls and common areas halls daily.) Unlike some commentators, I may have been lucky but, on both my stays, the bathroom and shower were excellent. The buffet breakfast was somewhere between “not bad” and “pretty good”, a definite improvement on two years ago when “OK I guess” would have been fair comment.
The Pola has had considerable work done since I first stayed and, a few stark hallways aside, looks first class. There are more lifts and new (or at least newer) furniture. The rooms now have small safes, a nice touch but the English instructions need a proper translation. If you want a good view of the Nile (it didn’t cost extra), get a room on the higher floors to avoid the trees across the road. Alternatively, sit by the roof pool where the view is spectacular.
The employees seem to have annoyed a number of reviewers. Yes, one or two can sometimes act as if you are an untapped money pit but most are courteous and helpful. Neither have I ever witnessed anything approaching the dishonesty some suggest. On the contrary, I have always found the staff honest, occasionally to a fault. In any case, waiters, salesmen, cabbies and souvenir sellers that ‘mysteriously’ don’t have any small change when you go to pay and/or energetically hustle tips are par for the course in Luxor. If you dislike over-tipping or being treated like a walking ATM, be sure you have some small change available.
Love it or hate it, the New Pola deserves a try and has to be seriously considered by anybody travelling on a budget. The place is a lot better than its critics suggest and, for what you get, its rates are among the best in Luxor. Moreover, if you shop carefully on the internet, you can often get an even better deal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This hotel was only just about average. The room was clean but had an appalling view of a
building site. There was also never enough toilet roll which we had to ask for. We were offered a Nile view room but only if we paid 15 US dollars a day extra. We refused this. The breakfast was v dull and uninspired. Omelettes, rolls, instant coffee or teabags, sugary juice. No variety at all. However we had 3 lunches there and altho the service was quite slow the food was tasty and well prepared.The staff were polite and friendly but v underemployed as there were only about 20 guests in the hotel. The pool looked inviting but on closer inspection looked stagnant. The water was treated and by the time we left it looked a lot cleaner. I went in it twice and it was fine. Allowances have to be made because business is v slow after the
5 week shut down but the New Pola is near other hotels which we looked a lot more
inviting. Overall I would not return there I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolizyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.6 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#27 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Philippe Hotel
Philippe Hotel
#48 of 59 in Luxor
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#12 of 59 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Pola Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pola Hotel Luxor

Property: New Pola Hotel Luxor
Address: Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Pola Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Pola Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Pola Luxor
Luxor New Pola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing