We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed here for two nights in early November 2009. A nice hotel, friendly staff and they made me feel welcome.

I did not have any problems with the airport pick-up. Definately recommend the hotel to arrange this for you so that there will be no problems. This is the norm in Egypt to avoid problems.

Rooms were clean, no TV which was a blessing. Lovely view from the terrace.

On my last morning I left for the airport at 0530h, they got up to make me breakfast at 0500h and insisted I had my breakfast before leaving. A nice touch I think and good service so early in the morning.

Recommend this as a good, family run hotel.

Its a breath of fresh air from the other hotel on the east bank.

I hope you also enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IREKLMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

Pros:
*clean rooms
*beautiful view from the rooftop restaurant
*convenient location - very close to the ferry that takes you to the East bank, but note that it is at the end of a questionable alley way that is fine once you get to know the area, but may make you nervous at first, especially if you are arriving at night
*wonderful staff who take very good care of you. When we arrived it was about 1 in the morning and our cab driver was looking to make money from us every way he could. He even picked up a stranger from the streets because the stranger said he knew where the hotel was as our cab driver did not. Once we got there both asked us for tips, the stranger claiming to work at the hotel which was a lie. The cab driver would not take our money because it was old and demanded we give him another bill which we did not have. We ended up going into the hotel and the guy at the front desk saw that we were distressed and that the cab driver was clearly upset so he asked the bell boy to take our things to our room right away and he would take care of the cab driver. Being in a strange run down area in the middle of the night makes you really appreciate these gestures.

Cons:
*we had an ant infestation incident (likely from the flower that they used as part of their towel art) which would not have been a huge deal except for the fact that it was in our bed. They sent the bell boy to fix the situation which he did with an extremely toxic insect spray (it killed a mosquito that was nowhere near the bed) that he sprayed all over the bed that we would be sleeping on. He left the can for us and said that if we saw any more ants that we could just spray them. It would have been inconvenient for us to move, but we would have appreciated the offer and probably would have taken it given that the rest of the time we were there I was a paranoid wreck constantly looking for ants in the bed and feeling like I had inhaled . The rest of time we were there I was a paranoid wreck constantly looking for ants in the bed. That said, the owner seemed quite pleasant and asked us the next morning if everything was okay. We didn't complain.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWildTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashasha, owner at El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

We always offer a transfer from the airport or the railway station to make the arrival of guests safe and comfortable.
Always we can identify the taxi driver in the event of guests leaving their bags or small hand luggage in the vehicle. The drivers used by the hotel always know its location in El-Gezira, and we accept responsibility for the transfer.

The infestation incident has been investigated, and we have introduced extra training for the housekeeping staff. The training included use of insect sprays and making sure there are no harmful effects for guests.
We are sorry that the guest felt a 'paranoid wrack' because of the ants, and we would want all guests to raise any concerns they may have with the owner.
We welcome feedback from all guests as this enables us to make changes and improvements when required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I am hesitant to write too much as the El Nakhil will quickly become over-popular! :)

This is a lovely, smaller hotel, family run with quiet, cool rooms and large bathrooms. We especially enjoyed the towel creations waiting for us each evening!

El Nakhil is on the West Bank, away from Luxor city center but it's very easy to get back and forth via the ferry or private water taxis...This location was also convenient for meeting our driver early in the morning when we went to the Valley of the KIngs, etc. since we were already on the right side of the river (there are only a few bridges and it can take quite a while to cross over by car vs. ferry).

We had booked the private transfer for the hotel to pick us up but it is quite expensive becuase again, the car has to go a long way to the bridge. If you are OK with your luggage, I'd recommend just walking from the Luxor train station straight over to the ferry stop (about 15 minutes) then taking the ferry over for 1 LE and then it is only about 5-7 minutes to the hotel from there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Just a short walk from the West Bank ferry terminal, El Nakhil is easy to find if you have their map. The ferry plaza was under construction when we were there so it might be completely different now.

The hotel is not extravagant, but it is very clean and offers the basics that you would expect (breakfast, hot water, decent sized rooms, reasonable internet charges, ...). The air conditioning work well and there was a relaxing back garden and fountain in the front courtyard. One minus was that the towels were small, scratchy, and seemed sun dried (which is fine for tomatoes but ...)

The front desk person had excellent English and was very helpful. The bus terminal for our trip to Hurghada was far from town, but he wrote down information in Arabic for the cab driver and we got there without any problems.

There were plenty of restaurants on the West Bank, so we didn't have to travel to the East Bank for dinner. Since we spent one day exploring the East Bank and one exploring the West Bank, the location was as convenient as the pricier eastern hotels.

Breakfast included a choice of omelette, toast, coffee/tea and yogurt. The rooftop dining area was relaxing and nice.

Overall, the rates were very reasonable for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InSearchOfAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at El Nakhil beginning September 2009 for two nights. Our stay was comfortabl and enjoyable and was a refreshing change from the big 'chain' hotels. The rooms are good with great air con and overlook the courtyard garden. The food is also good and great value for money. I believe our bill for two nights, breakfasts and evening meals and drinks was around £ 65.

The hotel is situated in the back alleys of El gezira on the west bank and is very handy for the west bank attractions and an easy walk to the Nile ferries. The local area is safe and gives a real insight to the realities of normal local life.

The hotel was quiet during our stay (think we were the only two guests) but we were well looked after.

We would not hesitate to stay there again on our next trip to Luxor.

Any questions feel free to message us

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slicknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hotel was fantastic! Don't worry about booking activities in advance - the owners were able set up a driver & tour guide for us during our stay (toured Luxor & Karnak Temples, Valley of the Kings & Queens, Temple of Hatshepsut, falucca rides on the nile to banana island & sunrise balloon rides!). Breakfast on the rooftop area was delicious & the rooms were very comfortable (no TV - but really no need for one). Everything was very reasonably priced! Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatRSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, and was designed by its owner, Salah Gaber Ali, an artist. The room was clean, large, and comfortable, with striking colors on the walls, and with a large bathroom. It had french doors opening onto a small terrace. Unfortunately, it was too hot in Luxor in early July for us to be able to enjoy the terrace very much. Cost at the time (2009) was $36 per night, including breakfast served on a rooftop terrace with views of the Nile and the East Bank. We saw some interesting birds there, as well: pied kingfishers and little green bee-eaters. The hotel is located an easy walk from the West Bank ferry landing, but there are taxis available if you have luggage or do not choose to walk. The last 500 feet or so of the street before you get to the hotel is somewhat “alley-like”, but it provides a taste of the ambiance of what typical streets in Egypt are like. The ferry to the East Bank leaves every few minutes, and costs one Egyptian pound ($0.18) for a round-trip. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#23 of 54 in Luxor
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#16 of 54 in Luxor
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#15 of 54 in Luxor
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $34 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing