We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Luxor”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Other reviews have said it all - a difficult place to leave because of the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. It's location is perfect for anyone who wants to sleep peacefully and only be woken by birds in the morning. No annoying TV , telephones, lifts or long noisy corridors. After three weeks in noisy , cluttered but fascinating Cairo it was wonderful to de-stress at this hotel. Stayed for ten nights, but this was not enough as Luxor and its environs have so much to offer the inquisitive traveller. Congratulations to Salah and Birgit on their hotel and their staff - they are a credit to them.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fulfillingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed for the first time in Luxor (Egypt) outside a four or five star hotel, like Winterpalace. Our choice for El Nakhil was easy, because o some friends already recommanded this hotel. The reservation was easy and friendly. The room was spacious and clean for the price. It was surely not "oldfashioned". The bathroom was also clean and well equiped. The missing of a swimmingpool or a large garden was not a problem. They have a nice roof for breakfast, a stay during the day and also for the restaurant at night. Maybe some will not like the area, but it is near the tombs and monuments at the Westbank. The local atmoshere is something we liked. Entering the courtyard is like entering a small oasis. So the staff was. Friendly(from the heart). Our conclusion: a very well choice if you want to stay at the Westbank of Luxor. Worth the price. A good atmoshere and a safe place to stay for a longer period, single or with a small group. This review is typed independent and I can recommand a stay. Just mail them and you have a good reservation! (We are (so no commercial connection): [-] in Holland!)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Of all the recently published travel guides I read, none of them give any value to hotels on Luxor's west bank. This little jewel requires the guides to be re-written. With two-stories and a rooftop restaurant, every moment of my trip was met by courteous, polite and understanding staff. As a rather recent addition to the area (only 6-years old) the El-Nakhil is unquestionably the finest hotel on Luxor's west bank.

Though the location is on a typical "backroad" you're only 200 meters walking distance from the ferry to take you across the Nile to the east bank temples & stores. For a price of 1-pound, about .20 cents Euro's, it the fastest way to the east side. For 5-pounds, almost 1-euro, you can have one of the many private boats take you across. Everything you could need for toiletries or food-snacks is nearby in small shops that dot the main road to the hotel. It's easy, and quickest, to take one of the many taxis anywhere you need to travel. Dendera & Esna temples are about an hour trip by car. Abydos is about 2.5 to 3 hours by car and well worth the round trip of 62 euros!

This family-run establishment takes pride in ensuring you have the best stay possible. They rely on a well-versed, multi-lingual & talented staff. Some have worked in 5-star establishments and it shows. The food is superb featuring a "western / european" menu with many fantastic selections. Unless you prefer something else, a "continental breakfast" is included consisting of omlet, toasts, honey, tea & juices. At night, small mobile firepits bring a wonderful warm glow to the canopied rooftop level. The rooms do not have television or a phone but wifi and internt is available and a television room is at hand. (If you are there to watch television you don't belong in Egypt) You can pay via pounds or euros. They do not accept credit or travelers cheques. Not a problem. Just travel to the many Automatic Teller Machines or banks on the east side.

Being on the West side of the Nile has numerous advantages as the majority of attractions are close by such as The Valley of the King's, Queens, tombs and all the necropolis temples & newer museums, such as at the Merenptah complex.

For the more adventurous types, you can even arrange a trip to the Kharga Oasis or western desert since the hotel has all the camping gear you could ever need.

If you are going to Egypt, regardless of your time in Luxor, the rates, rooms and service will match most of the packed "name hotels" on the east bank. The most pleasurable time I've ever had while in Egypt.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hemmingway_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

No worries here....rooms and hotel super clean, fresh linens daily, hot water, showers (with curtains which is not the case at some hotels) & some rooms with tubs, very quiet as you can barely hear the Call to Pray and the rooster (which was not the case elsewhere). The owners Salah & Birgit are marvelous!! The staff are all handpicked - knowledgeable, speak different languages and are extremely courteous and helpful.
The Chef is superb! The food. is very safe to eat...fruits & vegetables are cleaned with sterile water, the ice cubes made from bottled water. The food and presentation is awesome...be sure to try the Club Sandwich!
They take egyptian pounds, euro's, and US dollars but no credit cards or traveler's checks.Money exchange is available in small amounts which is most helpful. Internet station is available + wifi (I used even in room). No TV's or phones in rooms but a TV room is accessible. Rooms are spacious with screened windows & fans. Handicap rooms are also available. The location is perfect...off the main road by the ferry but an easy walk to the ferry landing. Restaurants, pharamacies, taxi's all nearby. Or...hop on the ferry for one pound to go to the East Bank for shopping + McDonalds+ Karnak and Luxor Temples...a truly wonderful place ...worth every cent!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TombRaider63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

El Nakhil is very well maintained, very clean and the service by all the hotel and restaurant staff is excellent. Because it is a small family-run hotel at the end of a lane where Egyptian families live, it offers a friendly, welcoming atmosphere where guests and staff get to know each other. The hotel has a lovely landscaped courtyard with views overlooking palm trees and lush sugarcane fields.

We would recommend staying on the West Bank if you are interested in experiencing the real Egypt. Although the West Bank is not "sanitized" like the East Bank where the hotel chains are situated, we felt more connected with the people who greeted us as we walked by their homes and stores. Getting over to the East Bank by private motorboat is easy and cheap.

With a varied menu, it was relaxing to eat many of our meals at the hotel knowing the food was delicious and always served hot.

What a night we spent celebrating New Year's Eve! We enjoyed a great buffet of Egyptian salads and dishes with entertainment provided by a snake charmer, dancers, and musicians. The owners hosted a great party!

Our room was charming with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard, but simply furnished. The room rates, which include a full and delicious breakfast, are very reasonable and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank VancouverMukluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Me & my husband stayed at El Nakhil for 5 nights, a couple of months ago. The location, in the West bank is awesome......it's so far away from all the tourist hustle & bustle, that it's actually relaxing! But, if you do want to get into the thick of things, the east bank is close enough. It's a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the public ferry. It takes 10 minutes & 1 LE to get across to the East bank, bang opposite Luxor temple. The ferry runs late into the night & we used it quite extensively. We also felt quite safe walking to the hotel late at night, as the locals are quite friendly.

The hotel is a cozy place......just the right size. And, it's family run. We contacted them via e-mail & we had swift responses.
Our room was extremely large & spacious. The bathroom too, was almost as large as a small room!! This was the only proper double bed (without putting 2 singles together) we had, in all the mid-range places that we stayed in Egypt. And the only bathroom, in which you can shower without wetting the rest of the bathroom. Both the room & the bath were spic & span.

The Hotel has a rooftop, where breakfast is served. Breakfast is hearty, consisting of fresh juice, tea/coffee, eggs, toast, butter & preserves. They can also arrange for breakfast boxes, when you leave for trips early in the morning, or like when we left for the airport at 3 am!

The terrace became our favourite hang-out space.............it's got a great setting & a great view over the sugarcane fields. After a hectic morning of sight-seeing, we would relax here with a cool drink & a fresh lunch. So too, in the night. This would rejuvenate us instantly for our next round of sight-seeing. The restaurant staff is ever-smiling & courteous. Just one disadvantage ... there weren't too many options for us, as we are vegetarians. But, still, it was so relaxing after a tiring day, that on most days, we didn't mind eating the same food over & over again.

The owners, Mr. Salah & his wife Birgit, add a personal touch to the hotel by being there. They also enquire after you, to ensure that you have no problems. They are also very helpful, if you need anything. We would like to thank the staff for keeping our room co clean! And also, for creating wonderful art out of fresh towels, everyday, on our bed. Quite ingenious....we would return every day & have a smile on our face, looking at their creations.

The hotel has internet access. If you have a local SIM card & need a re-charge, the receptions stocks re-charge cards too.

The only dis-advantage, if any, would be the lack of options to eat out, in the west bank. There are 4 or 5 other restaurants around this hotel. For more options or for great night life, you need to head to the East bank.

Personally, we loved the quiet West bank & this hotel. Will definitely stay here again, if we visit Luxor..... highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wanderlust1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children age 4 and 7 and my mom and I must say we regretted we could not stay longer. The place is tremendously clean and our room had a wonderful bath for our 4 year old. The staff went out of their way to make us and our boys feel welcome and at home. Finn says hello Iman!
It's a very close walk to the public ferry and the west bank is a wonderful retreat from the busy East Luxor side. The food at the restaurant is fantastic which made for a relaxing "evening at home" after a long day at the ruins.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jbpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#23 of 54 in Luxor
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#16 of 54 in Luxor
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
0.9 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#25 of 54 in Luxor
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 54 in Luxor
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $35 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing