We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable hotel and lovely garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel and lovely garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at El Nakhil. The garden especially is lovely and secluded, a suntrap even in January. Helpful staff, we arrived very early in the morning by the night train from Cairo, and they let us have the room from 8 AM free of charge.
We can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchcoupleRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
71
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

El Nakhil Hotel is situated on the West Bank of the Nile, down a quiet alley, away from the traffic, dust and noise of the city of Luxor directly across the river. It is conveniently located for visiting Queen Hapshepsut's Temple, Valley of the Kings, Dar El Medina, Colossi of Memnon, Ramesseum and Habu Medinet. It is a 5 minute boat ride across the river to Luxor and access to Luxor Temple and Karnak. (Boat ride costs 1EL.) The hotel is arranged around a leafy courtyard which fills with birdsong at dawn and dusk. A large roof terrace provides al fresco dining from 7am to 10.30pm. The kitchen is excellent. The downstairs rooms open onto the courtyard. The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking it. We enjoyed sitting out on ours to watch the sun go down. It was our first time in Egypt and the owners, Birgit and Salah, were very helpful making recommendations. The staff at El Nakhil were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs, providing breakfast to order at 6am so that we could get an early start on sightseeing. I couldn't recommend El Nakhil more highly.

Room Tip: We liked being upstairs and having a balcony to watch the sunset from each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Run by Birgit and Salah, El Nakhil is located in the quiet West Bank of Luxor. Since we were arriving late at night, we called ahead, and Salah offered to pick us up. The easiest was for us to take a taxi to the local ferry, from the East Bank to West Bank, and he would be there to take us to the hotel. He was great in that he told us what the taxi and ferry should cost so that we wouldn’t be taken advantage of. Taking the ~5-min. ferry ride, for 1 LE was a nice, non-touristy experience. Salah was waiting for us with a warm greeting, and while our bags were driven to the hotel, he suggested we walk the very short distance so that we would know the way when we went out ourselves. At the hotel Biirgit greeted us and we were shown to our simple, yet super clean and comfortable rooms, each with a private patio.

A generous breakfast is served on the soothing and quiet rooftop terrace, from which you can see across the Nile to Luxor Temple. El Nakhil also serves lunch and dinner. Salah and his staff arranged our transportation to the West Bank sights, like Valley of the Kings/Queens and Ramusem for a good price similar to one quoted in Lonely Planet. What a relief to have a staff who gave us reasonable prices for the local services, unlike our experience in Cairo, where the big hotel quoted us inflated prices for taxis, etc.

I would highly recommend El Nakhil Hotel for its service, rooftop terrace, comfortable rooms and great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at El Nakhil. Clean, helpful, and a good location on the WEST BANK of the Nile in Gezira El Bairat. Very close to the ferry boat to East Luxor, so we could visit sights there, or souq, restaurants, etc, easily day or night. Public ferry is inexpensive (LE1 or less) so avoid the touts unless in a hurry.

Hotel owner and staff helpful and friendly, and we have an enjoyable stay. Great rooftop breakfast and restaurant. Hotel happy to accept LE, GBP, EURO for payment.

Room Tip: Check out the room on arrival as some have small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times, well my partner 4 times and we have never been disappointed, our review is long overdue. The location is good, away from the hassle, and the accommodation very nice, with tasteful decor and nice and clean. The hosts are wonderful, and we wish them all the best in what must be a difficult time, they deserve to succeed.
Kerry and Nora

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gozogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
515 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is my second visit to El-Nakhil. The place has not changed much - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff & management attentive and friendly. However the breakfast could be improved with an offering of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I found this place one of the best to stay in the whole of Egypt. I was warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even going out of their way to take me to a doctor. The food was excellent and was served on their rooftop dining area which had stunning views of Luxor and the Nile. The hotel's location is across the river opposite the Luxor temple and is easy to reach by public ferry (1EGP) and a short walk. I had many a fascinating conversation with Brughid, the Hotel's manager and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The room and bathroom was clean and each day I was presented with a towel design with fresh flowers on my bed which was also very comfortable.The room had a private patio with table and chairs that overlooked the beautiful courtyard garden that was full of trees and birds. So if youre looking for a place thats both relaxing and qualitative then this is definitely the place to stay. Thank you to the fabulous staff at El Nakhil for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#18 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#21 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#26 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.1 mi away
Al Moudira Hotel
Al Moudira Hotel
#15 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Property: El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing