We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Value and Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Value and Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times, well my partner 4 times and we have never been disappointed, our review is long overdue. The location is good, away from the hassle, and the accommodation very nice, with tasteful decor and nice and clean. The hosts are wonderful, and we wish them all the best in what must be a difficult time, they deserve to succeed.
Kerry and Nora

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gozogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
71
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
514 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is my second visit to El-Nakhil. The place has not changed much - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff & management attentive and friendly. However the breakfast could be improved with an offering of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I found this place one of the best to stay in the whole of Egypt. I was warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even going out of their way to take me to a doctor. The food was excellent and was served on their rooftop dining area which had stunning views of Luxor and the Nile. The hotel's location is across the river opposite the Luxor temple and is easy to reach by public ferry (1EGP) and a short walk. I had many a fascinating conversation with Brughid, the Hotel's manager and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The room and bathroom was clean and each day I was presented with a towel design with fresh flowers on my bed which was also very comfortable.The room had a private patio with table and chairs that overlooked the beautiful courtyard garden that was full of trees and birds. So if youre looking for a place thats both relaxing and qualitative then this is definitely the place to stay. Thank you to the fabulous staff at El Nakhil for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We loved El Nakhil for its tranquillity, West bank location, spacious room with a balcony overlooking a garden filled with sparrows and doves, and the best shower we had in Egypt. Contending with the mosquitoes was a problem (too bad no mosquito netting), but the hard beds seem to be standard for Egypt. Birgit was so nice, as were all staff even though they weren't always able to answer our questions about local activities and attractions. Still, it was lovely, and we were so happy to come back to it after our Aswan excursion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

still one of my favourite hotels ever after travelling to several other countries since.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

we have just spent 5 nights at the el nakhil hotel and were very impressed with the value for money.
the owners and staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was to much trouble.we split our trip up by going to cairo and they allowed us to leave our luggage with them.
the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and the food very good.
if you do not need tv and minibar etc this place meets all your needs in luxor,we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

A haven of tranquillity marred only by the access road (mud track). Lovely rooftop restaurant with stunning views of the Nile and Luxor Temple on the other side. Freshly cooked traditional food, with occasional buffet lunches for passing groups in which we were invited to share (4 courses for LE45 (about a fiver!) Birgit and Salah (the German/Egyptian owners)could not have been more helpful and solicitous and the rest of the staff were the most polite and charming we'd met anywhere. The room was large and very clean with a huge well-appointed bathroom. Clean and comfortable beds with a little sitting area/balcony with comfy cane chairs for each room plus the garden with aromatic plants and sunbeds. 5 mins walk to the Nile.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uptonlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#22 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#18 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#26 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.1 mi away
Al Moudira Hotel
Al Moudira Hotel
#15 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Property: El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing