We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of El Fayrouz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Fayrouz
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Off the main street to the ferry down a dirt track road and there it stands it was my 2nd visit so I knew what to expect and I wasnt disappointed. Greeted with a smile a cool drink and as if we were family returning home not just guests.
The garden restaurant is beautiful the birds sing, plenty of greenery and loads of shade and with the cheapest menu we found in luxour the food very good and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

A wonderful place to go when the hassle of Luxor becomes too much to deal with. We only ate at the garden restaurant, I cannot say anything about El Fayrouz, the hotel. The restaurant is lovely, the garden tranquil, filled with greenery and birdsong and lots of shade. The most extensive and cheapest menu we found anywhere in Luxor. The food is fine, average, tasty, simple stuff. Soups, salads (the seasonal salad with dressing was delicious) and typical Egyptian dishes like kebab and kofta are good. Western style dishes - lasagne, moussaka etc. are 'versions of' - tasty, but not the same as at home. The meat dishes, steak, turkey etc. were a little tough. Wine (EGP 15 a glass) and beer (EGP 11) available. A very popular place, always full in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

You'll find the El Fayrouz Hotel down a little dirt track 5 mins walk from the ferry, on the West Bank. First impressions were great: they let us check in way earlier that would be normal.
There's a wonderful garden out back were food, drinks (beer too) and sheshas are available at very reasonable prices. The team there are friendly and professional, doing everything they can to accommodate. There is also a lovely, large roof terrace, with views across Luxor in all directions. Up there is the perfect place for a beer whilst marvelling at the sunset over the Theban Hills. They can organise tours, bike rental, etc. but at no point did any of the team try and sell us any of those tours. If you want those services though, they're available. Thanks to the whole team for making us so welcome! Chris and Sandy

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms up on the roof if you can - sunbathing, sundowners and star watching will al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Wonderful little place. The style of the building is quaintly Arabesque with a great roof to relax on and get some sun. Rooms basic, but clean. Staff friendly and very helpful. It is in a very 'local' street on the West Bank of Luxor, so away from the 5* prices and hassle. It is peaceful and has a wonderful garden to relax and get away from the madness Luxor can be! Food is excellent, worth a trip just for that. (and you can get a cold beer!) Love the fires in the chilly winter evenings too. one of my favourite West Bank places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripitakaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

In November, 2011, we stayed three nights at the El Fayrouz, prior to our cruise to Aswan. The price is right. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and plesant. The location on the West Bank is a five-minute walk from the Nile, and the ferry to the East Bank. We were in the company of well-educated, well-traveled people who value a dollar. The garden resturant was a real plus and the food was excellent. It was a very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We requested a room overlooking the garden, however I didn't see even one automobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJL-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Excellent experience staying at Hotel El Fayrouz. Tucked away in a narrow lane just across the West Bank. This was a great find. The location is excellent just a two min walk down to the Nile to catch a boat to the East Bank to visit the major sights.

The rooms were simple but tastefully decorated, bathrooms were decent and maintained.
The place had a nice outdoor area a garden/patio in one could call where we found find ourselves every evening eating and playing board games and being attended to by the ever
gracious staff, excellent service and decent breakfast aswell.

All this at a very affordable price, a definite top pick for the budget conscious!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the El Fayrouz after having arrived in Luxor on a Nilecruise. Of course, the East Bank at Luxor is extremely interesting regarding sights (Karna Temple is a must see), but getting away from the tourist chase and leaving towards the West Bank was a very relaxing experience. The hotel is situated in a nice quiet area with friendly little shops.
The hotel staff arranged bikes for us to rent and we visited the Valley of the Kings and the Tombs of the Nobles on our own.
Food in the garden restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.3 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#25 of 54 in Luxor
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#15 of 54 in Luxor
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fayrouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fayrouz

Address: Gezira el Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: $28 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Fayrouz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fayrouz Luxor
El Fayrouz Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing