We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Save
You added Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
hove
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Luxor to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary - the whole holiday was marvellous and truly memorable thanks to the staff and owners of the Nile Valley Hotel. On our Wedding Anniversary we were presented with a card and a basket of fruit which was very thoughtful. The room was kept clean every day with the added fun of arriving back to find the towels folded into different shapes! The view from our bedroom and the rooftop restaurant was idyllic - an ideal vantage point to watch life going by on the West Bank. We would thoroughly recommend staying on the West Bank as it is far more peaceful than the East Bank which is easily accessible via the local ferry (costing 10p per journey). Hamada and Karin Khalifa were extremely helpful with organising trips for us which were very relaxing as we were driven to each site and left to wander round without the pressure of a guide. The Nile Valley was a haven after the heat of the day with the rooftop restaurant and the inviting pool. We enjoyed the food provided by the hotel which was reasonably priced and tasty. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer part of the building overlooking the pool. It was quiet with perfect view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilevalleyluxor, Owner at Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you enjoyed your time at the Nile Valley.
We are looking forward meeting you again hopefully next year for your 31 st Wedding Anniversary. We wish you all the best, kind regards, Hamada and Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    72
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
75
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spent 10 days in this hotel in Luxor recently and the whole experience was one of friendliness, hospitality and fun. From the views of the Nile, from the rooftop bar/diningroom and the bedroom window, to the novelty folded towels each morning, everything combined to make me want to go back as soon as possible. In fact I've started saving! This holiday is not for those who want sun, sea and sand, but to experience the real Egypt, go to Luxor and if you do, go to the Nile Valley hotel.

Room Tip: The new rooms are more spacious and overlook the pool, but the older rooms look out onto the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mydarling150145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have just spent ten days at the Nile Valley Hotel on the West Bank in Luxor. This is a family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. There is nothing more pleasant than sitting with a cool glass of wine in the rooftop restaurant, watching the constant activity on the Nile. My friends and I felt welcome and comfortable amongst an excellent team of staff and their creative talents with towels have to be seen to be believed. Their creations made us laugh every day. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter but do not have a view of the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetrosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a great week at Nile Valley hotel.
The hotel is clean and quiet (luxor west bank is a lot more quietter than east bank). It has a nice swimming pool that we used every day.
The restaurant on top of the hotel have a nice view on the Nile.
The staff and the boss are really friendly and helpful.
If I go back to Luxor, I will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having stayed at most hotels on each side of the Nile over a 20 year period, I had always overlooked the Nile Valley Hotel, much to my regret now!
What a fantastic place, very clean, great rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant for breakfast and meals overlooking the Nile.
Has a nice swimming pool area, secluded and great sunbathing area, my only negative would be the very cold water temperature, but nevertheless great for cooling down.
I did try eating at other places but could not find anything better than the rooftop for quality, price and of course the view.
I had a view of the street/ferry and was fantastic for watching normal Egyptian life go by each day, including the odd camels passing each morning.
Other rooms face the pool area and looked very nice and have the sun all day.
Only a minute walk to the local ferry where you can easily cross to the east bank for 10p, another nice way to see Egyptian life and the ferry runs constantly day and night.
One great thing about the hotel is that they have a system of a communal tip at the end of your stay, so no need to tip individual services, just wait until the end of your holiday, makes things easier that way.
I would have no hesitation about staying here again and have already recommended to friends and family.
Should anyone want details of private tours etc, just PM me.
Can't wait to go back.
Thank you Nile Valley.

Room Tip: Street room for viewing everyday life, but don't have sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David Rigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having stayed there for one month, my husband and myself cannot praise this hotel enough. We were in one of the new rooms in the new block,it was large ,spacious ,very clean, and had the most spectacular view from our balcony.We ate most days on the rooftop restaurant and found the food execelent and good value. If we required anything at all the owner Hamada or his wife Karin was there to help or organise for us. The staff are all helpful and polite.they also have a superb swimming pool Witch is kept spotless. So anyone wanting to stay on the West Bank (where most of the temples etc are) look no further than the Nile Valley hotel, for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandGrandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Nile Valley Hotel is, without a shadow of a doubt, the best hotel in Luxor.
I have been travelling twice a year to Luxor now for 8 years. After two years of sight seeing on the West bank and having stayed in the other so called 4* hotels on the tourist east bank side we took the decision to try a hotel on the west side living with the true Egyptions. It is, without doubt, the best decision we made. We have stayed countless times in the Nile Valley Hotel where Hamada and Karen do their upmost to ensure your every need is catered for.
The staff, the food, the rooms the views, the atmosphere and THE PRICE!!! its all excellent. Anyone who finds something to moan about would be being picky in my opinion.
Yes you dont always have a shower mat in your bathroom and you may just have to walk over donkey poop in the streets without a sign to warn you of this but my goodness, this is Egypt at its best, in the best location with the most wonderful people.....not convinced? then go try it and you'll soon be writing a 5* review
Enjoy

Room Tip: If you want to see what goes on during the day or night get a street room. If you want peace and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#21 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#28 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant

Property: Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Address: Gesirat El Bairat West Bank Luxor | West Bank Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family hotel centrally located 2 minutes from the local ferry on the west bank,at the street that leads to the attractions such as the colossi of Memnon and the Kings Valley. The hotel has 26 rooms all equipped with bathroom, AC, TV and telephone.Swimming pool with sun beds. Roof terrace restaurant with views of the Nile and Temple serving local and International dishes, beer and wine.Free wifi for hotel guests, pick-up service, travel desk, washing and ironing service, internet cafe, lift, 24 hrs. front desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nile Valley Hotel
Hotel Nile Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing