We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run hotel, perfect for independent travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family-run hotel, perfect for independent travellers”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just got back from a two-week trip to Egypt, with our first four nights at the Nile Valley Hotel. We booked it based on good reviews in the Lonely Planet and on Tripadvisor, and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the ferry landing at Al Gezira, making it very easy to get into Luxor town to see the sights. It's also perfect for visiting the West Bank sites, and we either took a taxi arranged through the hotel, or picked up a taxi or mini bus from the main road, to the ticket office.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was pleasant and the staff were attentive. The manager, Hamada, was very kind and keen to make sure that we had all we needed. He arranged a taxi to take us to Aswan on our last day, stopping off at a couple of sights, with a driver that we had used before.

The swimming pool is really lovely, and a great bonus for a small hotel like this.

All in all, this was a great choice for us, as the staff seemed used to helping independent travellers make their own arrangements. It was great value as well. Thanks a really good stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
78
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This charming 3 star hotel has a perfect location on the West Bank of Luxor, next to the jetty. From the rooftop terrace, day and night, you have the best view ever on Luxor temple and the Nile river.

As we travelled with our 2 children we had booked the family room. This basic room has a (too) small bathroom with a bath and shower in one, two bedrooms connected by a door and is based on the ground floor. Unfortunately this room is based on the front side of the hotel and therefor resulted in lack of a good night sleep. Furthermore the toilet pot is leaking some water, leaving you with wet feet.

Breakfast is basic and cooked to order, which is nice. Of course this is served on the rooftop, making the start of the day very enjoyable.

The pool is of a nice size, surrounded by more than enough deck chairs for all guests.

The really nice owner arranged all sorts of trips that we asked for. To start with, he provided us with the hotel's motorboat to got to Karnak Temple to see the sound and light show. The next morning (really early) a very good English speaking guide took us to the Kings' Valley, Hatshepsut temple and Hamu temple, explaining all ancient Egyptian history to us, making us wish we had made this trip when we were in high school. (We would for sure have scored higher rates then...)

Lunch and dinner at the rooftop were perfect. The staff makes you feel welcome although they could speed up a bit. Waiting 45 minutes for lunch (while being the only guests) feels a bit on the long side.

To recap; this hotel is a great place when wanting to go in a less posh place than the western brand hotels n Luxor, without losing the hygiene!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A seven night stay at the Nile Valley Hotel made the perfect base for a leisurely exploration of both the west and east banks of the Nile at Luxor in March 2012. Not only was the hotel perfectly located for sightseeing at famous tombs and temples, but also for the ferry across the river to bustling Luxor city. It was great to return to the quiet, cool and relaxing hotel after a busy day.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, spoke good English and made us feel comfortable and welcome. The roof terrace restaurant overlooking the river was a splendid viewpoint and we enjoyed all meals there. The menu is simple, the food cooked to order and includes Egyptian specialites as well as international dishes. Rooms are scrupulously clean, modestly comfortable and well-maintained. The swimming pool is a welcome bonus. I wholeheartedly recommend the Nile Valley Hotel to discerning visitors to Luxor who appreciate Egyptian hospitality at its best and whose main aim is to visit the archaeological sites and monuments.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapolca, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Nile Valley Hotel is a special becouse off the location, opposit the Luxor Temple at West Bank, 100 m.walk from the ferry boat landing. You have to wait 5 minutes for the public ferry to take you to East Bank for 1 LP all day and night. A family run hotel, very friendly and helpful staff /and owner Mr.Hamada Khalifa/. The hotel offers air conditioned rooms with beautifull panorama of the Nile and the Luxor Temple. Great place for relaxing in the clean swimming pool and have a ice-cold coctail or Stella beer /!/.My room was on 2.nd. floor, very clean eqwipped with a good working air-condition, fridge and bathroom and TV with balkony. A very good restaurant on the roof with good egyptian food and wine /try the Obelisk red rose !!!/, and for dessertes try Om Ali!!. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel, I whish to be there next time for two weeks or more! I'm sure you will enjoy too!!

Room Tip: rooms on the swimming pool side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 534GOttfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location right next to the Nile with a green park area in front. It is on the West bank of the Nile which means it is quieter and you're much closer to Valley of the Kings etc. But also right next to the ferry (EGP1, USD 0.15) to the east bank (drops you off by Luxor Temple). The hotel has a roof terrace which has good views and we enjoyed having breakfast and a good quality dinner here. Service friendly. We also spent less time than planned visiting the sights of Luxor as we were distracted by the pool (and poolside bar...)

The hotel is clean and in general well-presented. At the moment there are building works which are a little noisy by the pool but they look nearly done (probably in time for November 2012). Our room was on the ground floor and was fairly basic and didn't have much light but this doesn't seem to be indicative of most of the other rooms many of which have balconies overlooking the pool or the Nile (I think try to avoid staying on Te ground floor if possible).

Hotel is able to arrange daytrips, transfers etc though sometimes these were more expensive than arranging them independently. They arranged us an excellent hot air balloon flight at sunrise over the Valley of the Kings which was at a good price.

Overall a good hotel which I would recommend and would probably stay in again if I returned to Luxor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great room with a balcony overlooking Luxor temple. After an early start and 5 hours of temples chilling by the pool with lovey staff bringing endless Turkish coffee I was recharged and ready for Luxor temple!!
Great food and great staff. Clean rooms and the pool is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leavinglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Absolutely no problems or discomfort at all considering all the rebbellion in Cairo or the Middle East. It was really 100% safe and we only found warm-hearted people at this site of the river Nile.

In Nile Valley we found beautiful and clean rooms, good beds, nice food, and good bathrooms. The staff is polite, helpfull and friendly and we had a great time in and next to the pool.

Breakfast and dining on the rooftop is a miracle!

The spot of the hotel is perfect to visit all the tombs and other acient You are already on the Westbank, away from the hassle in town.
Ask for a bike, it is great to discover Luxor and its friendly people greeting you.
We also took a daytrip to Dendera, with the integer hotel-driver; an absolute recommendation!

You can take the local ferry or a small motorboat, both in front of the hotel, to the Eastbank, the temples, the museum and the city of Luxor.

In this hotel/restaurant you feel at home!
We would like to come back, Luxor and Egypt really deserves to have more tourism again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#15 of 54 in Luxor
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant

Property: Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Address: Gesirat El Bairat West Bank Luxor | West Bank Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family hotel centrally located 2 minutes from the local ferry on the west bank,at the street that leads to the attractions such as the colossi of Memnon and the Kings Valley. The hotel has 26 rooms all equipped with bathroom, AC, TV and telephone.Swimming pool with sun beds. Roof terrace restaurant with views of the Nile and Temple serving local and International dishes, beer and wine.Free wifi for hotel guests, pick-up service, travel desk, washing and ironing service, internet cafe, lift, 24 hrs. front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nile Valley Hotel
Hotel Nile Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing