We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”

Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut)
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to Luxor West Bank with Private Guide and Lunch
Ranked #10 of 82 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tomb of King Tut was discovered in the Valley of the Kings in 1922 by Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very small tomb as he was so young when he died, very basic and not as detailed etc as other tombs in the valley, but as he is such a famous king, his tomb is worth a shot at

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    166
    112
    31
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ALL TOMBED OUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were advised not to bother with this one as most of the relics have been moved to cairo but as we were there anyway we thought we might as well and glad we did it cost100LE £10 on top of the 80LE £8 entrance fee for the valley of the kings which entitles you to visit 3 tombs.
well king tut he's there (or is it a model)head and feet in a case body covered with a sheet (cleaner than the napkins on our cruise ship) the paintings in king tut's tomb are excellent pharoahs on 1 wall babboons on another the colours are fantastic though there is no photography allowed unless you pay the guard but turn off your flash otherwise you will have to pay both guards and give the game away or you can just buy a pack of photos for about £5 to £10

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dangerous_doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see.... while you still can !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

So many tourists means like other tombs in the Valley of the kings it is in serious risk of being closed down due to humidity levels caused by the thousands of tourists.
Although a relatively small tomb, well preserved and King Tut is still keeping guard.
Have read that a replica is going to, or has been, made to be sited somewhere near on the West bank but to see the real thing is something that shouldn't be passed up lightly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATraveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I wanted to see this as I heard that they might be closing it due to deterioration of the frescoes in the tomb. We were the only people there and to enter the tomb and see the mummified body of the Boy King lying there only inches away was mindblowing! The sarcophogus was on the other side of the small tomb and is wonderful in it's detail and decoration. I was just so privileged to actually be in the tomb where he was discovered by Howard Carter and to ponder on the thousands of years he had lain there undiscovered. I saw some of the treasures found in the tomb displayed at the Luxor Museum, which is also worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

... but has to be seen. It is the smallest and least decorative of the tombs - he was only 19 when he died. My visit was spoiled a little by the three archeologists working around the sarcophagus at the time - it is tiny in there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lili1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut) also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing