We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

Temple of Medinat Habu
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Private Half Day Tour to West Bank Tombs and Temples from Luxor
Ranked #4 of 84 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient complex is dominated by the massive memorial temple of Ramses III, similar to the mortuary temple of Ramses II at Ramesseum.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was a stop on my second trip to the area and I'm glad I got to check it out. Like most sites these days, it was mostly empty, which allowed me the time to wander sort of aimlessly and take everything in.

The temple has beautiful engravings, as well as a lot of beautiful and intact paint- all of which is wonderful to explore (and which photographs well!).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThisPlceHsEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    111
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Medinat Habu”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you are tired make this a first place to visit in the day as the approach is long and then you have a long gradual flight of steps to the Temple.
If you look over the right hand side of the wall on the steps there are lots of empty coffins which look as if they have been awaiting for thousands of years.
Do not buy goods at the market or sellers but ask your guide to take you to the alabaster factories while on the west bank and a visit to the market in the evening, a glass of sugar cane juice is well worth it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“This temple is definitely worth visiting”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The West Bank of the Nile at Luxor has a large number of monuments to choose from. This Temple is definitely one to include in your visit.
We had a tour organised for the day through our hotel, Nefertiti Hotel, at a cost of E£400 for the day for 3 of us, for a car and English Egyptology guide. It was definitely worth paying for a guide, to get the most out of the sites.
I loved this Temple, but if had to choose between this and Hatshepsut's Temple, then I would choose the second. However, both were beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“my favourite place in luxor”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This temple is not on the standard itinerary for boat cruises or organised tours so tends to be quieter in high season. It is very complete and not too big to walk around for those with disabilities. Balloons flying above are impressive. Some unique features such as a carving of all the crowns of Egypt. Small restaurant outside called habi habu good for breakfast or light lunch with decent loos! I make a point of visiting this temple every time in Luxor and for me is one of best visits there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Luxor”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good for us as we had the whole site to ourself. Not good for the local economy. The detail and colors were fantastic and our guide Ahmed was brillant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Medinat Habu also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Temple of Medinat Habu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing