We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a must see” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colossi of Memnon

Colossi of Memnon
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Tour to the Valley of the Kings and Queens with Late Lunch
Ranked #12 of 82 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two enthroned statues of Amenhotep III, each soaring more than 60 feet into the sky, are the first monuments visitors see on arriving in the West Bank.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not a must see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped by as it was on our way to the Valley of Kings. The temple is under restoration, so all you visit are the two statues. If you are seeing the other temples in Luxor, this one can be missed. Pro: free attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    361
    249
    44
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“overrated, needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

These great statues are part of a much greater temple complex which has been ravaged by later kings of Egypt and the stones and mud bricks taken to the temple of Karnak on the other side of the nile and also quarried and ground down to fertiliser by farmers. Such a shameful waste that I don't like what these colossi remind me of: Desecration and irreverence!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Impossing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I don t really know what I was expecting. This is absolutely massive so worth seeing for the sheer size, unfortunately it was spolit by the hassle.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pretty big!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very impressive but just as well seen from the road - there are other tall statues nearby too. You'll pass it on the way to the Valleys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
420 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Famous from a point that no longer exists - The colossi of memnon would not be on my must see list. Known in ancient Greece for haunting voices created by the wind howling through the stone, on a calm sunny day the lack of sound effects puts this site onto the "I will go if I have time to visit one more place" list.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colossi of Memnon also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Colossi of Memnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing