We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of serenity”
Review of Al Moudira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Moudira Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2010

A wonderful place - it feels like it was created by an artist. The architecture, the layout, the colors, and furniture all work so well together. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed its location on the west bank of the Nile. It's a peaceful contrast to the hotels and congested city on the east bank. We were either touring in a private car or just spending "down time" at the hotel. If you need instant access to "city stuff" this is not the location for you.

We stayed 3 nights in a junior suite (see photo). We enjoyed the room but it had some drawbacks. The shower had to be used at very low volume to avoid spraying buckets of water on the floor. The A/C was adequate for the room but not the bathroom so we moved the (provided) floor fan into the living room to blow cooler air in the bathroom. The seating area that looks so plush in the website photos is a bit firm - although still easy to lay around on.

Overall a terrific stay. A great place to return to after a day of touring and a peaceful place to take a break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed four nights in this beautiful oasis, prior to boarding a Star Clipper sailing from Safaga to Athens. Our choice could NOT have been more perfect. We toured the sites/sights in the morning (our 2nd visit to this area) and enjoyed a delicious lunch poolside in the afternoon. The grounds are beautiful (flowers, birds, fountains, courtyards!), the staff are possibly the kindest and nicest we have ever enjoyed, the food is excellent, and we found the location MUCH more pleasing that in the hubub of touristy Luxor on the East Bank. We adopted/were adopted by a taxi drive, whose company worked with the hotel, and each day explored more and more. He and his brother even drove us to Safaga to board our ship. The entire experience made our trip even more memorable.

Barry and Christine Howlett
Westfield, New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The hotel arranged an airport pick-up for a pm arrival. No one came! We were on our own and approached by too many "drivers". My husband made arrangements with one at a much higher rate than Al Moudira had quoted. It was a 40 minute drive in the dark-a bit daunting. Upon arrival, there was little in the way of an apology for lack of proper arrangements. Not a good begining.
The hotel is quite a distance from the airport and the sites which I consider a big negative. I found the "suite" mediocore with lots of mosquitoes and flies. The breakfast was fair and you were compelled to have dinner there due to its distance from town. The food was average as was the entire experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovetotravel027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The drive to the hotel, through the countryside around Luxor, was a little unsettling--not that it was that bad, just lots of shacks and cultivated fields. The hotel, however, was an oasis. Very beautifully decorated, just the right about of shabby chic Middle Eastern style. The court yard where the restaurant is located is to die for, the lounge and the bar right out of an old black and white movie. The rooms were very beautiful and HUGE. I must say that the bathrooms were spacious but not ulra luxury, and I did have a minor ant infestation and a drainage problem with the tub. We did also have issues with our AC, and had to move rooms, but i wasn't too much trouble. Normally the bugs/tub/AC would turn me off to recommending the hotel, but it really was just so charming. The food was very nice too--which is important as you are somewhat isolated--20 min from Luxor. The staff is slightly disorganized, but otherwise helpful and friendly. While in Luxor we stopped in the Winter Palace, and I was glad we stayed in Al Moudira. The common areas were very nice, but it looked like all the standard rooms were in a very boring shoe box of an annex. The pool was a bit cheesy looking too, and the staff were not friendly at all, which is bad for Egypt since everyone is friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kikico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our intention was to stay in the center of Luxor, but the tour agency (Backpacker Concierge) booked us at Al Moudira — and now we show everyone the pictures of our room, the pool, the fountains, our plates of food, etc. — what a treat! It was so peaceful. Fresh, clean air (a switch from the pollution of the ships in town. Plus the drive through the farming area and villages was very interesting. I write this with a smile!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peta4meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times,We have always found it to be a true chill out hotel,The staff are wonderfull, always keen to help and please,
It is a little oasis, with a great pool area,
to go into Luxor in the afternoon or evening is great fun, all you have to do is ask reception to get you a taxi to the ferry,get on the ferry and travel across the nile,coming back( the taxi driver will given you his telephone number)as you get back on the ferry just phone the driver and he will be on the other side to take you back to the hotel,its great fun.
As for the complaints of the food,we have always found it to be of a good high standard,with good frendly service, the simple breakfast is wonderful.
Having stayed at many of the best 5 star hotels in Egypt this one is a little gem.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham, A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayted at Al Moudira last week with my husband and 11 year old daughter. We came from Cairo and loved the remote, quiet location of Al Moudira! It is an oasis on the West Bank out of the hustle and bustle of Luxor and I would highly recommended this property to anyone touring through the area The rooms are large and beautifically deorated and the property has a great pool area.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent. The dinner menu changed nightly and was also supurb!
I would go back to this property the next time I am visiting Luxor!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
5.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.9 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
4.9 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
7.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Moudira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Moudira Hotel

Address: West Bank | Hager Al Dabbeya, Luxor 23502, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $228 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Moudira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Moudira Hotel is a very unique, privately owned boutique hotel in Luxor, resembling an oriental palace with its courtyards, fountains, archways, domed ceilings, and lush gardens.Al Moudira Hotel Luxor is located between the desert and farm fields on the West Bank; close to the Valley of the Kings and Queens, and is roughly 25 minutes from Luxor International Airport and ca. 15 minutes from the Nile.All of the guest bedrooms at Al Moudira Hotel are individually decorated and furnished. The spacious rooms with sitting area and hand painted murals are equipped with climate control, telephone, satellite TV, mini bar, room safe, hair dryer and full-sized bathroom with tub / shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Al Moudira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Moudira Luxor
Hotel Al Moudira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing