We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Out of time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Moudira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Moudira Hotel
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a marvelous hotel, the setting and the energy is incredible, I spent five days there, at first the location seemed remote but it was really the perfect spot for me to enjoy Egypt, it was a bit like being back in time.
The hotel is on the Nile's west bank, the town of Luxor is on the east bank so there isn't much in way of conveniences but I wasn't there for this, this way I enjoyed all the riches of the ancient Egypt and in some way I have been able to connect with the place.
The hotel in itself is charming with a nice swimming pool and tastefully decorated in arabo-pharaonic style.
My room was spacious and everything was working fine and very clean.
The gardens are nice of course but I was more attracted to the minerality of the place, the desert and the mountains.
The restaurant was quite good and it is really enjoyable at night under the clear sky and the stars.
The staff was competent enough and very polite not at all pushy like some are in Egypt.
I really had a wonderful time there and I think it makes me appreciate all the more the treasures I came to see, it is a must in itself I say.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    31
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
95
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a great place to stop, relax, eat good food and have access to Luxor. The service was excellent, the food great. The pool is refreshing in the egyptian sun. The room was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A wonderful 7 days. Introduced by two separate friends. For those who have had enough of "cookie cutter" 5 star hotels this a real gem. Family run, this has been beautifully designed as a cross between a Turkish/Lebanese palace, with huge really comfortable rooms all beautifully decorated. The owner's eye for detail is apparent everywhere. Food relatively simple but delicious - everything fresh from the market. The staff are all extremely friendly, as was everybody we met in this part of Egypt. About 20 minutes from the Valley of the Kings, this is perfect as a base for this fascinating part of Egypt, or just for total relaxation in a really sophisticated Middle Eastern environment.
I note that the previous reviews seem to all agree with us! Egypt is off the tourist agenda at present so a great time to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here one night whilst staying elsewhere in El Gezira. It's a bit of a drive from the town (about 15 minutes). The atmosphere at the restaurant was amazing. It's stunningly beautiful with the main restaurant (about 6 tables) in a courtyard, and bar at the back with sofas and comfortable arm chairs. We had a drink at the bar first, and the staff were very helpful. We ate in the courtyard, with mezze to share to start, and then salmon for our main courses. The food was the best we had in our whole time in Egypt - beautifully made and presented, and excellent quality.

Much recommended for a romantic evening out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thika
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were told of this hotel by friends and we are so delighted we were able to stay for two nights. An extremely peaceful stay with chaos of busy roads, dust and streams of tourists left outside. The atmosphere was lovely. The rooms delightful, clean, spacious and charming. Food was good, and staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme, so any room would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masharubu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This really is like something out of a storybook. Every detail is beautiful and you feel like royalty. The bathroom is bigger than my apartment. My girlfriend was ecstatic. Nothing like the big chain hotels. Pricey for my budget, but definitely an experience everyone must have at least once in their life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we spent here towards the end of May. This is the perfect antidote to the frenetic hustle and bustle of Luxor and the temples and tombs of ancient Egypt. Gently splashing fountains in lovely courtyards with great rooms and huge bathrooms, delicious fresh food and a super pool with delightful sitting. areas - this is the perfect peaceful retreat and a great alternative to the 5* hotel chain accommodation in Luxor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucestershireLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
2.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 59 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#2 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.6 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#18 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Moudira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Moudira Hotel

Property: Al Moudira Hotel
Address: West Bank | Hager Al Dabbeya, Luxor 23502, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Moudira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Moudira Hotel is a very unique, privately owned boutique hotel in Luxor, resembling an oriental palace with its courtyards, fountains, archways, domed ceilings, and lush gardens.Al Moudira Hotel Luxor is located between the desert and farm fields on the West Bank; close to the Valley of the Kings and Queens, and is roughly 25 minutes from Luxor International Airport and ca. 15 minutes from the Nile.All of the guest bedrooms at Al Moudira Hotel are individually decorated and furnished. The spacious rooms with sitting area and hand painted murals are equipped with climate control, telephone, satellite TV, mini bar, room safe, hair dryer and full-sized bathroom with tub / shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Al Moudira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Moudira Luxor
Hotel Al Moudira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing