We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Moudira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Al Moudira Hotel to your Saves list
Al Moudira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bank | Hager Al Dabbeya, Luxor 23502, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here one night whilst staying elsewhere in El Gezira. It's a bit of a drive from the town (about 15 minutes). The atmosphere at the restaurant was amazing. It's stunningly beautiful with the main restaurant (about 6 tables) in a courtyard, and bar at the back with sofas and comfortable arm chairs. We had a drink at the bar first, and the staff were very helpful. We ate in the courtyard, with mezze to share to start, and then salmon for our main courses. The food was the best we had in our whole time in Egypt - beautifully made and presented, and excellent quality.

Much recommended for a romantic evening out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    31
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
95
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thika
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were told of this hotel by friends and we are so delighted we were able to stay for two nights. An extremely peaceful stay with chaos of busy roads, dust and streams of tourists left outside. The atmosphere was lovely. The rooms delightful, clean, spacious and charming. Food was good, and staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme, so any room would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masharubu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This really is like something out of a storybook. Every detail is beautiful and you feel like royalty. The bathroom is bigger than my apartment. My girlfriend was ecstatic. Nothing like the big chain hotels. Pricey for my budget, but definitely an experience everyone must have at least once in their life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we spent here towards the end of May. This is the perfect antidote to the frenetic hustle and bustle of Luxor and the temples and tombs of ancient Egypt. Gently splashing fountains in lovely courtyards with great rooms and huge bathrooms, delicious fresh food and a super pool with delightful sitting. areas - this is the perfect peaceful retreat and a great alternative to the 5* hotel chain accommodation in Luxor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucestershireLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We are a family of 4 (boys 9 & 11) and have just returned from a fantastic trip to Egypt where we felt safe and cared for the entire time - without exception the Egyptians were utterly lovely people. Being our 1st trip travelling 'off piste' with children we stayed only in 5 star hotels. Our family favourite was Al Moudira. On arrival one is struck by the authentic middle eastern styling and vibrant colours. There are pockets of outdoor living areas scattered around the grounds - antiques, fountains, lanterns etc..Our interconnected family was beautiful, huge, v.comfortable and simply like no other I have stayed in. I had concerns that our (lively) boys would have to hush around the pool area, however their laughter and pool antics were very much embraced by the staff. The staff were outstanding, v.friendly, nothing a problem, and loved children. Day trips were great value and I booked our tour guide (the great Ali) and driver on arrival, as well as the sites, we rode horses and watched the sun go down on a nile boat trip - all organised through reception. In the evening we dined alfresco in the beautiful courtyard area lit by candlelight and were loathed to eat anywhere else as the food was so good.The real beauty of this hotel is it's rural location away from the bustle of luxor, tucked in a small village 20 mins from the centre. It was such a treat after a day's sightseeing to witness rural egypt whilst driving through sugar cane fields back to our oasis.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very special hotel and we loved it. An earlier reviewer thought it looked tired, we thought it looked wonderful. The quirkiness of the antiique furniture, the thought which has gone into creating so many places to relax, the eccentricity of the bedrooms and bathrooms, the fabulous pool and the gardens all make for a wonderful place to stay. The staff are excellent and look after their guests with the lightest of touches. If this is your first trip to Luxor it is worth paying the tiny extra amount to have the concierge organise your excursions and engage a driver or boatman known to them when you explore the sites or the river. It takes about 15 minutes to get to the ferry by car, which gives you a chance to see how life is lived in the area, something you would not do at a glossy hotel on the East Bank of the Nile. All in all a real treat for the discerning traveller. Not for anyone who likes glossy hotels with masses of marble and night life on the doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moudira, Manager at Al Moudira Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for your review, and we think your description fits us excellently.
We hope to welcome you again one day.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a delightful respite in Luxor. From the moment we arrived the staff tended to our every need. The room was lovely, the pool area was very comfortable and we found the food quite delicious. Yes, you do need to take a taxi to go anywhere but it certainly is not a long distance to the sights we were interested in seeing. It was always a comfort to actually go back to Al Moudira to rest and relax. We stayed for three nights and we were amazed how few tourists there were in Luxor. What a shame!!!!!! We vacationed in Egypt for three weeks and never felt unsafe. The Egyptians were kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lanser61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
2.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 59 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#2 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.6 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#18 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Moudira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Moudira Hotel

Property: Al Moudira Hotel
Address: West Bank | Hager Al Dabbeya, Luxor 23502, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Moudira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Moudira Hotel is a very unique, privately owned boutique hotel in Luxor, resembling an oriental palace with its courtyards, fountains, archways, domed ceilings, and lush gardens.Al Moudira Hotel Luxor is located between the desert and farm fields on the West Bank; close to the Valley of the Kings and Queens, and is roughly 25 minutes from Luxor International Airport and ca. 15 minutes from the Nile.All of the guest bedrooms at Al Moudira Hotel are individually decorated and furnished. The spacious rooms with sitting area and hand painted murals are equipped with climate control, telephone, satellite TV, mini bar, room safe, hair dryer and full-sized bathroom with tub / shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Al Moudira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Moudira Luxor
Hotel Al Moudira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing