We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel though small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philippe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Philippe Hotel
Ranked #48 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel though small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Philippe hotel, Luxor, Egypt - marvellous hotel though small in comparison to most.
May 2008
The Phillipe wad a marvellous hotel, the staff very friendly and generous. The food was far better than expexted and the range of dishes varied tremendously. The costs for the evening meals was never in excess of £10 which covered 2 starters, 2 main courses and fruit and drinks. The staff would place your table wherever you wanted it outside next to the rooftop swimming pool and were very attentive. The same must be said about the room service which was always delivered within 10/20 mins equally tasty and very apettising!!
The reception staff were very good and had a very good grasp of the English language and went out of their way to assist.
We upgraded rooms to a balconied one which overlooked the main street at the front of the hotel - it was smaller than the original room but of superior quality and had been completely refurbished withremote control air conditioning. There was no bath but the shower was large and we had hot water any time of the day!!
If anyone is looking for a very cost effective package to Luxor i can fully recommend this hotel for its closeness to all the major sites including the temples and museum, there is a side Nile view from the balconies of the superior rooms. The hotel is very clean, the staff very helpful and the food better than any ive stayed in previously in Luxor!!
I must also mention Jolleys a travel shop in front of the Winter Palace who arranged a 5 day cruise for us from Luxor to Aswan, including all excursions, 5star full board for less than £150 per person. The trip was fabulous, the guide phenomenal and the whole experience beyond our wildest dreams. We recommend this to anyone going to Luxor. We will be having a 7 night cruise next time we go, hopefully in November.
To sum up if you are looking for a hotel that is very inexpensive, clean and rated by ourselves far in excess of its apportioned 3 stars we can recommend the Phillippe!!! We will be staying again in November.
Frank & Dot May 2008

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and location in the centre of Luxor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mikefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

As you walk through the foyer area to get to the lifts, you cannot help but be impressed by the display of Egyptian wares. From colorful papyrus pictures, to statues and mosaic art.

The hotel is in a great location, within close walking distance to the Nile or the local markets. Everything that you need is within close walking distance including the Luxor museum.

The bathroom actually had a bath and was quite large compared to some. The rooms (although dated bedspreads) were comfortable, neat and clean.

The food at the restaurant was good as was the art work, paintings and mosaics.

  • Liked — Location - within walking distance to everything you needed
  • Disliked — The dreadful call to prayer at a nearby mosque at 4.45am each morning
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Philippe in Luxor. What can we say?
Excellent value for a budget hotel; it had the service of a more upmarket hotel. Situated in the heart of Luxor, away from the regular tourist hotel area (Downtown) with the temples and museums within easy walking distance, although taxis and caleches had parking areas on the road outside, which led to some hassle from the drivers. This, to us, did not present a problem as hassling is a part of the environment of the town, thus expected.
We went half board, breakfast was continental style with the offer of omelettes, scrambled eggs. The continental style breakfast we found more than adequate. In fact, it sustained us through the day as we found no need to purchase lunch. The evening meals were very good with a varied menu.
Above all, the staff were excellent; friendly, helpful with a true willingness to make our stay enjoyable.
The pool on the roof, though small, was welcoming during the afternoon in the extreme heat and provided an excellent area to cool off and for relaxation, with bar service provided.
We stayed in one of the inner rooms which had no / little daylight but this didn't impact on us very much as we used it only to sleep, shower and change clothes. The air conditioning was very welcome although a little noisy.
We would certainly stay at the Philippe again when we revisit Luxor.

  • Liked — Location, service, cleanliness, food, value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank golf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightsbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We were rather strapped for cash but desperate to have some form of honeymoon and we have to admit to choosing the holiday on the basis of the price. When we got there I was impressed with the service provided by the staff who are all very helpful. The room was clean but had no natural light as we were in one of the inner rooms. There are better rooms which have a balcony but we were quite happy with the room we had. There was very cheap room service available and satellite tv. We went half board and the food was very nice. Obviously we could have eaten out save for our budget and the area has lots of bars and restaurants to try. There is a restaurant downstairs and a rooftop bar and swimming pool. The pool looked very inviting but sadly was not heated. The hotel is very central to all the attractions. if you want to do daytrips we would advise you to ask around because we paid for a tour from the hotel but another party found someone else to do it for half the price. REMEMBER this is a muslim country and as such it is not geared up for drinking in the evenings. The poolbar is shut at night and the restaurant had no idea why we would want to sit of an evening with a glass of wine. There are some english bars but they are of the Irish Pub/karaoke kind. Some of the larger hotels allow you to use their facilities but unfortunately we were so broke we couldn't really try this out. We recommend the felucca trips, the pony trap transport and the temples. This is an awesome location and all in all we had a fantastic time. We went in January. it is hot during the day but not scorching but the sun goes down between 4 and 5 pm and you will need a jumper or coat for the evening.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment and social area in the evening
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Knightsbridgewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Besides the comfy beds, there's really not much positive things I can say about this hotel. The breakfast was so-so. They always gave us one egg and bread. When I turned on the shower, the water was brown and I had to let it run for 10 minutes to get the water to clear up and get warmer. The room was clean but very dark. Overall the entire hotel needs more light! It's very depressing inside.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Disliked — brown shower water, boring breakfast, internet never worked
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lumpia916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed at the Phillipe for 7 night and were very happy with all aspects of the hotel.It was clean,the food was very good and the staff were all without exception cheerful and friendly. The Hotel is very convienient for all the sights being within easy walking distance of most.Would recommend it to all.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

Staff could not be more helpful if they tried! Just remeber though if they do you a favour it will cost you :-). the hotel is basic but exceptionally clean. The food is also basic - but there was nothing at al that we could not eat! All staff had "family and firends" that had boats and taxis to take you on trips - but be warey. Hotel is on six floors and there are 2 lifts. The roof has a small pool that is always VERY cold, but spotlessly cleaned every night. Roof top bar with sun beds and tables and chairs - take your pick in shade or sun.
We are booking at same hotel next year.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank julieanne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.3 mi away
Susanna Hotel
Susanna Hotel
#43 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Pola Hotel Luxor
New Pola Hotel Luxor
#49 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emilio Hotel
Emilio Hotel
#36 of 59 in Luxor
3.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#19 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#39 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippe Hotel

Property: Philippe Hotel
Address: Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Philippe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing