We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$34
View deal
Hotels.com$34
Travelocity$34
Orbitz.com$34
Tripadvisor$34
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
9
14
9
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
14
9
14
5
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 51 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is within half an hours walk of Luxor’s centre and main sites. The hotel was looking rather tired and shabby and some of the adjacent buildings appear derelict. The roof top swimming pool and relaxation area was rather nice and there are limited views to the Nile and Luxor. The breakfasts were small and uninteresting. The practical downside of this place was the fact that there was no internet facility. A cafe/restaurant just up the road does provide WiFi and there is a cheap shop for drinks (cheep bottled water) opposite and a good pharmacy for your needs (including over the counter Viagra) next door.

Our impression of the Philippe Luxor Hotel was marred by the failure of the hot water system, the staff were able to get it working after a couple of hours but we had been looking forward to a hot bath on arrival. The hotel appears to be suffering from the economic crisis and poor tourist numbers following the revolution and unless there is an upturn this place is sure to decay beyond rescue. After my experience at the hotel I would not choose to stay here again.

Room tip: If you intend to use the roof pool you may benefit from a room on a higher floor.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was OK - I wouldn't stay again, although the staff seemed nice enough (even if I'm not convinced that pasta is a traditional Egyptian dish.....)
tired room decor with old furniture and carpet, and seemingly only twin bed rooms as my husband and I weren't offered a 'large bed' as we had been in other Egyptian hotels. Bathroom was clean,and the pool area was was reasonable and a good size.
The hotel is a bit jammed in amongst other buildings - so our bedroom windows looked out into another hotel, and the hallway windows looked into another building being renovated (and a large pile of old bathroom fittings). The hallways are very poorly lit, and the breakfast poor too (hard boiled eggs and bread in our 'breakfast bag'). But I understand from people joining our tour group in Luxor that compared to other hotels in the area it was in a good and quiet location. And if you're out and about sightseeing, and just sleeping there, clean and a reasonable bed is all you need after all.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingactress03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Sorry to say this hotel, which was probably excellent in its day is now in a sad decline. The lobby and hallways are poorly lit, even though there are light there, no doublt to save costs. The room was acceptably clean, but tired, with torn carpets and a view of a wall. Even though there were only a handful of us staying, breakfast was no where to be seen, even 20 min after the official start time. The table cloths were stained and the breakfast rudimentary. We wouldn't recommend it, even if you are on a budget.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The staff at the Philippe hotel could not do enough for us. They were curtious and friendly,nothing was too much trouble.Of course it is not a five star hotel, and things do go wrong from time to time,particularly with the small family hotels,but this should not worry the season traveller. If you are the type that likes to be pampered in a luxury hotel,and pay rip-off prices for food and drink then the Philippe is not for you! My overall praise goes to the waiter George who made our stay most enjoyable,nothing was too much trouble, and he spoke excellent english.If you want a small friendly hotel without the frills,then you will enjoy the Philippe.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

As my partner and I were looking for a hotel in Luxor, we came across this really nice hotel website, the pictures were so well taken that we thought, right thats the one but we were SO WRONG! It's the worst hotel we've ever stayed in! When we got to the hotel everything was 10 times smaller, it was dark and has a rotten egg smell.

Location:
We have to give them a thumbs up for the location, its close to most of the major sites on the East Bank (within walking distance). However, there are many other hotels in the same location.

Room:
The room we had was small and smelly, bed sheets were dirty, balcony door cannot be closed properly. The toilet seat was broken, shower water cannot be controlled to a constant temp.. Fridge was broken, TV and lamp wires were frayed.

Reception:
The reception agreed to help us with a reservation on the overnight train to Cairo so they told us everything is fine & reserved. However, when we got to the train station there was no reservations at all and that screwed us over, as all the trains were fully booked for the next couple of days. Also whenever we asked the reception for help, they wanted to charge us more!

Breakfast:
One word - CRAP! It consists of one boiled egg that was not fresh, one small mini jam, butter and cheap spread cheese. OH forgot, they also provide cheap stale bread.

Other Services:
Internet - extra charge!

I would actually rate this hotel as extremely terrible if I could! I would never come back to this hotel ever, not even if you pay me!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gregwa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews