We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews, good v bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews, good v bad”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My review is mixed.
The good, the hotel has lovely views of the nile, but only if you choose a nile view suite which is more expensive, a city view is noisy till about 2 am, my elderly mother had no sleep for 2 weeks. Pay extra for a nile view its worth it. the hotel pool is lovely and the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is spotless.
The all inclusive package isnt very good, only snacks are avaliabe for an hour outside mealtimes and then limited to chips. the bar for all-inclusive shuts at 10pm, after that the drinks are expensive, there is no entertainment in the hotel so at night it feels as if you are sitting in an airport loung having a drink. Food was limited and nothing for children, good job kfc was near.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxi9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    253
    98
    79
    62
See reviews for
192
250
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

On arrival at the hotel check in was very fast,we booked a Nile view room for a family of 4 on an all inclusive basis.

The room only had three beds in so this matter had to be resolved,they were very helpful and got it sorted quickly,the room was also small for 4 people but was worth it just for the amazing view,it was also very clean and furnished to a high standard,it was cleaned every day.

The food was very good,none of us suffered any kind of upset during our stay.There was always something we wanted to eat and it was always very tasty.

The staff are very helpful and efficient , especially the pool man Abou who always had a friendly warm smile and kind words.

We booked our flights and accommodation seperatley with no transfers as we intended to get a cab. The trips we went on were very good value a trip to the west bank 4 attractions including the Valley of the Kings cost us £63 for the four of us(the kids are 6 and 11) we also got a boat ride directly back to our hotel included.
Luxor temple is within walking distance of the hotel as is the Luxor museum which are well worth a visit,there are the remains 2 mummies in the Luxor museum,and there are many fascinating artifacts.

As part of the all inclusive you get a free falluca ride which was amazing,make sure you take advantage of that one if you go all in.

My only little complaint would be the all inclusive,every single thing you eat or drink has to be signed for,we have been on many all inclusive holidays and we have never had to do this before. Also the only drinks included are beer wine and soft drinks,no spirits or anything and there wee only a few small snack available from 11am-12 when most people had just had breakfast. The all inclusive also stopped at 10pm and at £4.50ish for a glass of wine and £2.50 for a beer it could work out costly. This was not an issue for us really as our kids were always in bed for 10ish anyway,but its worth a mention.

All in all we had an excellent holiday,we had a few days of trips and spent the rest of the week chilling by the pool by the river Nile,it was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murton
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Pyramisa Isis Hotel is the best hotel i have been to. Everything from the service to the rooms were exceptional. The porters and the reception staff were very friendly, greeting us when we passed. The pool attendants were amazing, they kept 2 beds for me and my mam everyday, even if we didnt turn up to the pool til 3pm. They sometimes patrolled around the pools telling the guests that if we needed any assistance he would help with the parasols. The waiters and waitresses were really friendly and we got to know them better. Abdul and Rokkaya were excellent.
The room was directly in front of the nile, gorgeous view especially the sunset WOW! Two beds, balcony, tv, fridge, safe and wardrobes. there were a few hangers but we requested more. The tv had a couple of english channels with good movies on too which we didnt watch as we were out most of the time. B+B is ideal, as there are loads of restaurants outside the hotel which was nice to get out and meet other people and visit the sites.
The hotel itself was built around the trees, so it does look quite tropical. Everywhere within the hotel and outside, pools and restaurants were spotless. What i like most about the hotel was having a bite to eat next to the stone border of the hotel and watching the boats sail up and down the Nile.
The hotel is situated within walking distance to bars and restaurants along with the temples and museums. Outside the hotel you do get hassled alot but if you say La (no) they will back off. This was ideally the perfect holiday for me, i would go back again and i would definately recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxorlover1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLLewis
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Pyramisa Isis hotel in Luxor is well and truly 5*.

There are a number of restaurants on site including an italian and chinese.

The two swimming pools are huge, clean and at a perfectly refreshing temperature!

The rooms are clean and well equipped with TV, mini bar, balcony and a beautiful view of the Nile.

There is a shisha bar that serves various drinks and the traditional shisha pipes for relaxing and chatting in a casual atmosphere with friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2009

we have just returned from our holiday in egypt and we stayed at the pyramisa isis hotel,
this was our fourth time there and once again we had a brilliant time.the room we were allocated was a nile view and it was lovely, the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.the staff at the hotel from the management down to the cleaners cannot do enough for you to make your stay pleasant. the pool areas are lovely and clean and the staff on there are walking round all day to ensure that you have everything that you need everybody is really helpful.the reception staff are always on hand if you need them,you can sit in the reception area or in the bar and have a drink which is nice and relaxing. when you go outside the hotel the people are very friendly, you do get a bit of hassle which is only to be expected but not to much. the sightseeing is excellent the luxor and karnak temples are amazing to see, these are within walking distance or you can get a taxi,there are plenty of these outside the hotels.we will certainly be booking to return there next year as we always enjoy our time there.
mick and sue
preston
lancashire

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We are seasoned travellers to Egypt, 4 times to Isis Luxor, once to Gaddis, Luxor and once to Albetros Gardens Hurghada over a 4 year period.

Luxor is very insular and can seem imposing. Isis Hotel is regarded as a basement hotel locally and not great value for money but the character and warmth of the hotel is worth every penny. The staff are all very freindly and helpful, the bell boy with the bad teeth perhaps too friendly especially with young girls given half a chance and the location is fantastic. Murphy's irish bar is a short walk and the regular sevice busses cost in 5p per person per trip are the best and most hassel free mode of transport.

My familiy and I love the Pyramisa Isis and do not hesistate in recommmending it but you must have a sense of humour and not expect European standards.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spursman4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We have been taking all inc. hols twice a year for 10years and the last four years red sea riviera every march so this year we thought to do a bit of culture and see some sights!! Have never known such limited choice on an all inc. package and such poor quality food!! When we arrived we were bit disappointed with quality of room but the nile view was incredible. All inc guests can only dine in the hotel restaurant and drink in the hotel bar of an evening. If you like peppers and chillies on your breakfast hot dog sausages,in your scrambled egg usually with a few peas thrown in and almost anything else that they think needs colouring, meatballs in a meditteran tomato sauce with potatoes then your in luck!! Lunch and dinner was always a choice of fish beef and chicken and only the chicken drumsticks came in their original form as everything else is cut into small strips and smothered in one sauce or another probably to hide the poor quality and soaked to soften it up!!! Want meat without sauce on then the cold meat plate is usually processed chicken slices and thats it!! You can get drinks on all inc. from the pool bar but you have to pay for the snacks (unless you have the sandwich on the late breakfast between 11 and 12noon which consists of an extremely small breakfast roll with a processed chicken slice, two wedges of cucumber and some green olives!!)You have to pay for drinks at the outside cocktail bar. You pay at reduced rate at the italian and chinese restaurants which to be fair is usual practice on every all inc. package! However on all the outlets steak and lamb meals were available but even the staff in the hotel restaurant looked embarrassed when they told me that I would have to pay if i wanted lamb or steak. After about four days of chronic heartburn we just ate at the snack bar and restaurants which were quite reasonable and food of a much higher standard or just ate out.

The young lady on guest relations made a mistake one day and decided to come over and ask us what we thought of the hotel. When we told her that our room only had 5 hangers for the two of us for two weeks that the carpet had a layer of thick dust running along the edges, the nets on the windows were heavily stained and the safety deposit box didnt work she was very apologetic but was suprised that we hadnt complained! We just assumed that was the standard of the hotel and lets face it we brits dont like to make a fuss!!! Too much hassle!!! Everything was sorted straight away and she took the time to check back with us that it had all been done. The hotel does offer returning guests discounts if they write good reports on trip advisor .

The pool and public areas were well kept and maintained and the staff were very friendly without exception especially young mohammed the bar waiter who made sure we got our water, last drinks etc. before 10pm deadline when all inc. finished.

The hotel is quite old and lets itself and the staff down by penny pinching. I would only recommend this hotel on a b+b basis as a central location for people who are planning to be out and about most days. A tip is if you are not on all inc. check your receipts that you sign when ordering food+drinks!!! Also if you order a drink in the restaurant finish it there as they dont alow you to take it out to the bar with you after your meal. Its very busy outside and you do get hassled for taxi/horse cab but they will take no or 'maybe tomorow' with good humour and dont push it like they do in sharm el sheik.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersunshineWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Property: Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Address: Khaled ibn El Walid St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest 5 star hotel directly on the Nile in the heart of Luxor. Most of the large 350 rooms and 100 family suites enjoy panoramic views of the Nile, gardens and 2 large swimming pools. In addition to a heated swimming-pool, resort facilities include Italian, Chinese and oriental restaurants, bar, lounge, children playground and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Isis Hotel And Suites
Pyramisa Isis Luxor
Isis Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing