We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

went there december 2012 for a family holiday

Good points;
Great staff
great tasting food large selection
free gym
clean pools
Really Really nice reception area

Bad points;
some gym equipment a little run down
only 2 CDs where played throughout the whole week
place seamed a little run down

overall thoughts; would defintily go again to this excellent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingwesleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    253
    98
    79
    61
See reviews for
191
250
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel itself is dated and in serious need of an overhaul. But, with tourism down in Egypt, that is not likely to happen any time soon. The rooms were small, but the view was magnificent. The beds in our room were very hard and we woke with stiff backs each morning. The technology in the room is extremely dated, but, since we were rarely in the room, it did not make much of a difference. There are NO safes in the rooms which was very surprising to us. The food was average and the breakfasts were the same every morning. After a week it became very monotonous to head down for breakfast. If you stay here, I recommend not having the all inclusive experience because the food is just okay and there are many great restaurants nearby (see PuddleDuck and Jewel of the Nile). There are two pools, one is heated and one is not, which is great because the warmer pool was nice in the morning and the cooler pool was great after a day of exploring in the desert.

But, where the accommodation is average, the service is great. We were very quickly checked in, and when we requested a cot for the room, it was brought to us in less than 5 minutes. The rooms were always immaculately clean. The housekeeping staff was always very pleasant and greeted us every morning. The women in charge of guest relations was very quick to make amends when the pool restaurant staff completely botched up our order, yet insisted that it was our mistake (something that a waiter should never do) and became confrontational when we refused to sign the bill to charge the food to our room. We signed it, but, immediately went to the guest services woman and she immediately removed the charge, reprimanded the waiter (he was retrieved to apologize to us) and gave us replacement food. If that was not enough, she had a fruit basket delivered to our room with beverages later in the day. That was above and beyond our expectations as we only wanted the charge to be removed.

We would stay at this hotel again because the outdoor facilities are very good, and, while it is a bit farther from some of the big sites on the east bank, there is no shortage of taxis and/or horse carriages outside the hotel waiting to take you where you need to go.

If you stay here and want to take a horse carriage, ask for Aly. His station is outside the hotel and he is fantastic. Negotiate a price with him beforehand and pay when you arrive at your destination. He will wait for you and take you back for the same price (re-negotiate before you get back on).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Nile and on the second floor. The second floor has huge balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrary, KY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed (wife and I) our 2-night stay at the Pyramisa prior to embarking on a 7-day Nile cruise to the Aswan dam and back. Upon our return we again stayed at the same hotel.
There is free wi-fi in the lobby, which is important to me as the rates in the room (and on the cruise boat) were pretty expensive (56 LS, or about $9, per hour).
We ate the buffet breakfast, which is quite adequate, but opted to eat at the Italian restaurant for dinner. The Italian restaurant is simply cordoned off from the buffet area by screens, but with a menu,. The food was excellent. I get the impression that the building housing the original Italian restaurant is closed because there are very few tourists due to much adverse publicity about Egypt in the news.
In example, we were told that of the 400 cruise boats normally working the Nile, only 35 to 40
are presently in service.
We found no reason that we should not have visited Egypt. There is absolutely no trouble here in Luxor, but it is a good time to visit because the Nile is not crowded, nor are the hotels.

We were lucky to have Dr. Waleed, and Egyptologist, as our guide during the 7-day cruise, as he is much more versed in the history of the ancient tombs and monuments than than is the average tour guide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henlem02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Twice a year I visit this hotel and the city of Luxor with pleasure, for about 25 years. Once again I'd like to point out that life in Luxor goes on as usual, and is not to compare with Tahrir Square in Cairo. So do not hesitate to visit and book for Upper Egypt, where all is at ease, be sure.
As a result all hotels in Luxor have a low room occupancy. Despite that the Pyramisa Isis hotel in Luxor is clean and in order on every spot. I 've noticed that the dinner buffet is of very good quality, despite the small number of guests. As usual there was a warm and sincerely welcome for me, by all waiting staff members. Wish for them and the hotel more guests and more work!
My next booking for this hotel: november 2013, with all pleasure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street/city side are more noisy, because of the traffic and the mosque prayer calls nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOONAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our camera dissapeared from our bag as we were having a cup of coffee in hotel restaurant before departing for airport.The hotel porter met us as we came out of lift and placed our bags in reception lobby.
We were the only guests about as early morning depature.When time to get on transfer looked in bag, camera missing. Management no help and deny everything.
Uncooked chicken left lying at room temperature in buffet area.Problems with toilets flushing.
Smell of cigarette smoke coming thru ventillation in room.
The location on Nile and Pool area both good but not worth the risks .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bebe401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got home from a week in Luxor. Received a warm welcome from the staff who treated our children really well. First impression of the room were that it could do with some modernisation but is clean and tidy. We had a junior nile suite and once we walked out on our balcony we had a fantastic view of the nile, and pool and beautiful gardens, which made up for the room. The only gripe was that there was not enough storage space to unpack all our stuff and I lived out of a suitcase for the week. In the restaurant the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, my daughters who had never been abroad before were treated like princesses. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was sad to see the hotel so quiet and we felt that this contributed to the lack of variation in the menu (we were fully inclusive). All in all a great holiday, the hotel needs modernisation but is probably stuck in a vicious circle that the hotel is so quiet that there isn t the money to revamp it. We feel that the people make the place and were treated so well that its easy to overlook the need of a modern overhaul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here just one night as part of trip - what can I say? The rooms were spacious and clean, the pool area was just amazing, and the staff were excellent! Would love to have stayed longer. I will definitely use this hotel again, should I ever return to Luxor...

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms have a Nile view, but both sides are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morganlefey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
4.0 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Property: Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Address: Khaled ibn El Walid St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest 5 star hotel directly on the Nile in the heart of Luxor. Most of the large 350 rooms and 100 family suites enjoy panoramic views of the Nile, gardens and 2 large swimming pools. In addition to a heated swimming-pool, resort facilities include Italian, Chinese and oriental restaurants, bar, lounge, children playground and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Isis Hotel And Suites
Pyramisa Isis Luxor
Isis Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing