We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lovely base from which to explore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saint Joseph Hotel
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely base from which to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The St Joseph is a small, unassuming hotel across the street from the Nile. The decor is a little dated and the layout reminds me of the hotel my grandparents used to own in Cliftonville in the 1970s - perhaps that's why it felt so comfortable! The staff are friendly without being over the top and nothing is too much trouble. We had a triple room which was spacious, the beds were comfortable and our small balcony looked directly across the road to the Nile - fantastic sunsets! This isn't the sort of hotel to spend all day lounging around in as facilities are limited, but it is a great base for exploring all the sites which are within easy reach. The rooftop pool is quite small, but warm and not at all busy. I visited with two children during school holidays and we were the only family there. We did meet a lovely group of retirees who spend each winter here - great for some tips and info on travelling about the area. (I learnt that by wearing a black headscarf when out and about I wouldn't be accosted by hawkers, it sooo worked!) The restaurant is more than adequate with a decent choice for breakfast. They usually offer a meal plan when you arrive if you want to eat all your meals there, and I wish I'd taken it up. None of the other nearby restaurants came close. Who knew Aubergine Casserole was so wonderful! If I have one complaint, it is that there is very little sound proofing, which in a city where the car horn is used more than the brake, is a little disturbing. All through the night and day, non stop parping! I would suggest maybe some ear plugs. All in all, a comfortable, friendly and welcoming place to stay when visiting one of the most amazing historical cities around.

Room Tip: West facing rooms are noisy as they face the main road, but the view of the Nile and sunsets far out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeezy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    39
    18
    9
See reviews for
45
102
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As a single female guest I arrived late evening and when the coach dropped me off my initial reaction was ` Oh my God what have I done` from the outside it looked run down and in a rough area. How wrong I was.

The hotel is a little dated in its decor and bits need some attention. This is more than compensated by the incredibly friendly staff. Nothing was to much trouble for them. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the room was a large twin for my use and was spotless and cleaned daily. I had spectacular balcony views over the Nile.

The food was plentiful, well presented and very tasty. Breakfast had a range of choices with some cooked to order. Evening dinner was four huge courses and pool side snacks were well priced and tasty.

The rooftop pool and terrace were clean and comfortable. Sunbeds have comfortable mattress and pool towels were freely available. The pool was slightly heated which was very nice as it was the Egyptian winter.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. As a solo female guest I was looked after and felt extremely safe.

The hotel is well located for Karnak and Luxor temples and for Luxor Museum all about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by taxi for 10 le.

All in all a little gem of a hotel with its sparkle provided by the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms over look the Nile from one angle or another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine342k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in Luxor in January 2011 (though the "when did you travel?" question does not accept the year 2011). We chose the hotel for its location and good value. The Egyptian revolution began just before we left, making our stay even more memorable. The hotel was well located with excellent rooftop views over the Nile. The food was good - as it was in the many excellent restaurants nearby - and our room comfortable. Every day, the bedclothes were arranged in increasingly imaginative designs, finally in the shape of a crocodile.
Luxor was an outstanding place to visit - try a day trip to Dendera through the countryside and small towns with not a tourist boat in sight - and people were genuinely friendly even if they were trying to sell you something.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Almost all Joseph Hotel room facing Nile and the valley of King , Sunday morning can see big balloon on top of western bank while every evening can see light show on the King valley just from your room balcony.

Hotel location is perfect ,room is clean and cheap , food is OK but much better than other average.

The horse man outside Joseph Hotel no.39 with white horse, he is a little be crazy guy , he just drive the horse and wagon into the old -narrow-traditional-market, that is something ! Many thing I got the direct contact to Egyptian people in good way !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odeer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very friendly running by a Christian family. The hotel is a little dated but clean and welcoming. The rooftop pool is very good and the views over Luxor and the Nile are breath taking. The food is OK but better quality fare can be found in the plethora of restaurants in the immediate vicinity

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndyandDinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here with a friend early jan.iv been going to luxor for about 10 years and this was my friends first time.
we decided to stay here as it was cheap and in a good location.
cant really fault it the staff were friendly the rooms were cleaned daily and it was in the centre of great restaurants and shops.
the breakfast left a little to be desired.cold pancakes and not alot of choice but if you like egyptian sausages then your alright.
there was quiet a lot of hassle on the doorstep from the kalesh guys but by the 3rd day they had realised they wernt going to get anywhere with us as we just walkd past and ignored them.
all in all a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissacleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited luxor for the first time this week and chose to stay here as it was practically the only hotel avaliable to accommodate 4 people.
The hotel states it has 24hrs access to wifi all over yet we could only access the interent downstairs in the reception lobby. When we asked the man at the reception why it did not work in our rooms he seemed disinterested and told us he didnt know and it didnt matter.
The rooms were very basic and were cleaned everyday by a very nice and honest cleaner. (We left some personal belongings in the room on our day of departure and he came to the lobby to find us and return it). You get what you pay for (very little) with these rooms and I would describe them as some where just to lay your head.
The hotel was supposed to have a no smoking policy and had a smoking room in the lobby which hardly any one used and just smoked endlessly in the reception room where you had to sit to use the Internet. Our room on arrival also stank of smoke and the halls and stair ways constantly smelt strongly of ciggerate smoke. When we explained to the reception man that one of our party members had bad asthma and we did not like breathing in constant second hand smoke he told us that there was nothing he could do. - why have a policy? !

The food in the upstairs resturant was very cheaply priced and nice. The roof top is very basic and the swimming pool unheated.
The restaurant down stairs was average/bland/never hot, but had excelent service of an evening.
Avoid the breakfasts! Very bland strange tasteless combinations of food and we waited over 45 mins 3 out of 5 mornings for a boiled egg. On our 5th out of 7 days we noticed a strong smell.of smoke in the strictly "non smoking" resturant during breafast, and could see directly into the kitchen two chefs with ciggerates hanging out of their mouths with ash falling everywhere whilst they were cooking requested omlettes and eggs. We did not have our breakfast here after that during our remaining days.

The staff at the reception were incredibly unhelpfull and at times just rude.

Out side the hotel is a taxi rank for both cars and carrages. As soon as we stepped our of the door we were harrased and followed non stop every morning noon and night and when we declined their services were sworn at and insulted. It even got to the point where taxi men where opening the hotel main door and shouting at us inside. Due to this rank being outside the noise is 24/7 of constant car bibbing, men arguing and shouting and because of the dual carrage way it is on the corner of, cars are constantly turning here.

We also noticed that there is some kind of police head quarters or prison facing which some times made us feel uneasy as there seemed to be a constant flow of prision vans entering and men being dragged out.of the vans and into the building.

On a good note the hotel is in a perfect location to some lovely restaurants; the puddleduck, pizza roma etc and has a well priced english supermarket on the same road. It is within a 20 minute walk of the luxor temple and the souk market which was handy rather than paying out money for taxis or carrages.
We will be returning to luxor in the next few months to visit more historical sites but will not be staying here again as I feel it was the main thing that let our holiday down.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
New Pola Hotel Luxor
New Pola Hotel Luxor
#49 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Lotus Luxor Hotel
#24 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#25 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#19 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Property: Saint Joseph Hotel
Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing