We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful relaxation on the Nile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blissful relaxation on the Nile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

Everything about the Luxor Hilton Resort is top notch. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to see to your every need. We chose to stay here 4 nights after our Nile cruise to unwind and we did!!! The hotel is about 15 minutes outside of the center of town, but this posed no problem because there is a free shuttle on the hour that drops you off right at Luxor Temple. We wanted to see the Luxor Museum and the driver dropped us off right there. We also visited the Mummification Museum and took a caleche into the market. The pool at the hotel is crystal clear and inviting. The breakfast buffet includes so many choices, and fresh omelets, waffles, etc. can be made to order. This is the place to stay to get very spoiled!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments on trip advisor site.

We were very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the resort facilities met your expectations.

Hope you have the opportunity to back gain to our sunny resort, Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    114
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
285
547
101
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
534 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was my favorite hotel of my trip to Egypt and Jordan. I could have stayed here for a week without any problem. The public areas are gorgeous, including the lobby, pool, and restaurants. There are a few small shops off the lobby, including a bank and an ATM machine (I don’t think that ATM took American cards on the PLUS/NYCE/STAR system, though). There are several restaurant options; we enjoyed the four that we tried. We booked an upgraded room, and I would highly recommend that to everyone. We were on the second floor of the building adjacent to the Nile. I think there were only 27 rooms in that building, nine per floor on each of three floors. The main part of the hotel was farther from the Nile and pool, and more stories high. The big bonus to the upgraded rooms are the large balconies/terraces; the standard rooms in the main building have a little triangular sliver of a balcony, not even large enough to fit a chair, while we had a spacious terrace with two teak chairs with comfy cushions and a small table. The room was really comfortable, although not overly large. It certainly wasn’t the largest room we had during our trip; on the contrary, it may have been one of the smallest, but it was the one I liked best and felt completely comfortable in. The hotel seemed deserted, although I saw many people at the pool during the day; I’m not sure where they disappeared to at night. We only spent one night here, sadly. There is a little grocery store just outside the gates, but alcoholic beverages were harder to come by. There was a restaurant right outside the gates, and they sold us some beers by the can to take back to our room (we like to save a little money when we can). I don’t recall the restaurant name, and they didn’t take credit cards, so I don’t have a receipt, but it was almost directly across from the hotel driveway; the restaurant also functioned as a one-terminal internet cafe and library. We ate lunch at the poolside restaurant on the first day, followed by dinner on the outdoor Sunset Terrace, combining foods from Silk Road and Olives. In the morning, we had breakfast at Rosetta, which was included with our room rate, and very complete and plentiful. Internet access was free, but only because my spouse is a Hilton Hhonors Gold member. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. There was a metal detector to enter the lobby, and the gatekeeper at the street entrance was extremely thorough. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at our resort on trip advisor site.

It is to our utmost pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with the service you received during your stay.

We really are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you back again to your second home, Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.


Best regards,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is fabulous. Truly world class and a complete surprise given where it is located. First and foremost, the staff is superb. Every single person with whom we came into contact was attentive and tried to ensure we had everything we needed. The room was clean and well appointed and, importantly to us, very quiet. The grounds were immaculate and the pool was sparkling. The spa services were excellent.
The only negative was arranging tours. Tours are sold by the Thomas Cook office located on the property. I’d recommend avoiding it. Their tours are overpriced and the tour guides mediocre. But, you can’t beat the Hilton Luxor – a world class resort in all other respects.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share us your experience via trip advisor site
about your recent stay.

We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff efforts have ended up to your enjoyment.

I would like to inform you that your comment concerning Thomas Cook has been forwarded to the company manager to take the necessary actions in order to avoid such in convenience in the future.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you come back in the near future to your second home, Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.


Best regards,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights at the end of a Nile cruise, so that I could go on a balloon ride. It was expensive (in terms of my budget - I am travelling for a year so can't splurge like I do on shorter trips) - I booked 6 months in advance and got a rate of US $231 a night including breakfast and taxes.

I arrived early after the cruise ended, and they checked me straight in: I had a view over the nile and a small balcony - it was completely wonderful. The bed was lush, the furbishings in the room were wonderful, the bathroom was gorgeous ( a lovely stand alone shower) although no bidet (which I have grown used to). As well as breakfast (which was wonderful, varied and good quality items), there was a complementary afternoon tea delivered to my room - it was a wonderful surprise, a cool sampler tray with tiny sandwiches and cakes. On Saturday I had to leave for the airport at 6am and they provided me with a picnic box for breakfast (huge: baked goods, fruits and salad items, yoghurt, juice, water, boiled eggs etc) instead of the breakfast buffet. Two bottles of water were delivered to my room daily.

The hotel provided me with a converter plug when asked. I had room service dinner twice and it was HUGE - way more than I could eat (one night I had the mezze starter, the second night the penne) - there was a separate vegetarian dining section on the menu (kudos). the brownie with walnut icecream was incredible.

the pool at the hotel is lovely and the pool staff are incredibly attentive: they bring cool flannels, they come around and collect your sunglasses to clean them, if you get up to move the umbrella they are there to take over before you have moved from your seat etc.

the valets delivered and picked up my luggage with incredible promptness.

internet - I paid $25 for a 24 hour pass so I could finish uploading all my photos and download some of my TV shows - it was medium fast; it took a while but I got everything done.

in other words, you get what you pay for and the Hilton delivers real luxury for what would be really affordable prices in the West. I wished so much I could have stayed for longer - I flew from Luxor to Sharm, and moving to the Sheraton was a horrible shock after the Hilton.

Luxor itself - superb! do not miss the Museum - the objects inside are GORGEOUS - after spending 10 days clambering through ruins and goggling at the statues etc left inside the temples, it was a revelation to see so much beauty in one place. It is small and manageable in two hours: and much more informative than the Cairo museum.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
I would like to thank you for your comments on trip advisor site.

We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay in our resort and you were happy with the service you received during your stay with us.

All Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa team members were delighted to know that their efforts ended up to your enjoyment.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you come back for another holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at the hotel with my husband for 7 nights in feb 2010. We have done a lot of travelling and were very sceptical about Egypt at first but in the end we found it to be one of the greatest holidays ever!! If you are not travelling with a touroperator you should get your touristvisa upon arrival at the left side at the bank (15USDpp).Before you exit after customs there is a taxfree shop were you can buy upon arrival (open 24hrs) We were picked up by the hotel shuttle bus (20USD) - make sure nobody else tries to take your luggage!The ride to hotel is approx 15min.Very friendly welcome by frontdeskmgr at 3am.We choose a deluxe room (nr.20 - 250USD per nite incl breakfast) which is located in a seperate building and has only 3 floors.The rooms are very modern and clean.Flatscreen with many channels, dvd player, very comy beds, small fridge (2 free bottles water a day), slippers and bathrobe.Bathroom only has walk in shower, no bath and is pretty small but nice and comfortable.The most plus is the fantastic balcony with front Nile view to watch the sunset every night ... unbeatable and a must !!! Breakfast buffet is excellent (in or outside).Pool is relaxing (not really for kids - they can 'fall' easily into Nile when you don't watch them but I feel it is also a more adult audience) and no problem with sunbeds (of course tipping is basic : 10EL is ok / 20EL and you get big smile).We ate at Silk Road,Olives and roomservice - all okay (Egyptian food and spices were just not our kind) - you don't need to worrie about getting sick at all. It's about 200EL pp for 2 course meal without alcohol.There is also a 'safe' and nice restaurant just across the street (Gerda's Garden) with very friendly people (half price Hilton).Next to this there are 2 grocerie stores (softdrink 3EL water 1EL).There is a bank to get bills changed and a ATM machine on the premises which is very convenient. We booked a private tour to Valley of Kings (350 EL pp) with ThomasCook desk in hotel but were not very pleased with guide (Mariam) : sometimes wrong info, goes quickly over everything and then waits at cafetaria - we saw other guides stick with their group more often (cannot advise other organisation but read about Memphistours). She advised to tip the driver and when I asked Mariam what would be acceptable she said 50EL - so we did and we tipped her 100EL. Later we overheard that average wage is between 200EL and 500EL and found ourselves to be trapped again ... When you visit Karnak (65 EL pp) you can get a private guide at the ticketbooth (40EL pp for an hour) which is fine. You can walk but just ask the shuttle driver to stop on the way to the center since he passes anyway. Make sure you NEVER catch a horse ride since they mistreat their animals badly !! Taxi is also very cheap, after hassle of course (20EL from hotel to Luxor Temple)
In the end we really enjoyed the history of the city in combination with the nice weather and the very luxury Hilton which is indeed a place to come home to. Staff is very friendly and try to make your stay comfortable in every way. What Egypt concerns ... it's a different way of life and you need to get by with the hassle all the time, make sure you are prepared but Luxor (and the Hilton) is really really a great destination if you want to combine sun, history and luxury. We would go back tomorrow if we could and no doubt we would choose to stay at the Hilton again.
PS 1 with the deluxe room you get free access to the spa area which looked very nice but we never used is, maybe next time !
PS 2- forgot almost the only minor thing : internet is very expensive (50EL for 30minutes) and sooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow / do recommend to find other location

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for your comments on trip advisor site.

We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comment about the Nile area, we are in process to fix a fence for the docking as the safety of our guests is our top priority. For the time being, the security guy is available 24 hours as well as there is a sign on the Nile docking which alerts the guest.

As for the tips for the staff, this is optional and you don’t have to pay. Serving you is one of our duties to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable.

Regarding your comment about the internet has been taken into consideration and forwarded to the department involved.

I have noted your comments about Thomas cook service. I would like to inform you that this is an independently company, however, your valued comments have been convoyed to them to take the necessary actions.

Thank you again for your feedback about your stay at our property and looking forward to welcoming you soon again as you mentioned at your second home.

Yours sincerely,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

If you're looking at any other hotel in Luxor, stop.

I have done the hard work for you so you don't need to think about booking anywhere else. My hard work included lounging by the pool, sitting in the spa rooms, eating fantastic food and smoking the sheesha at the Nile Side bar which I have done all for your benefit. In 5 days i succeeded in coming back to London totally relaxed and wanting to explore more of this fantastic country.

I can tell you that this hotel (a) is fantastic in terms of service, amenities and food; (b) is very well staffed by all areas (although all staff deserve a huge thanks from us - special mention must go to Musab in the Diwan Nile Bar who is an absolute gentlemen); (c) has a great buffet breakfast and brilliant asian restaurant (the curries are top notch and for desert, the Carrot Stew with Vanilla Icecream would not be out of place in top London establishments); (d) amazing pools to sit by and relax; and most importantly (d) has a wonderful atmosphere.

The spa pool is fantastic, and so is the service there. We also very much liked the main pool which is as good as any 5 star resort I have stayed in in SE Asia. WHAT A VIEW.

The gym equipment is top shelf with a fantastic view over the VOTK and the Nile. Loved working out there.

I wouldn't hesitate giving this hotel top marks every time.

One handy tip though - the tour company operating within the hotel (Thomas Cook) we found to be quite expensive. The tour company is not affiliated with the hotel but have a tour desk in the shops there. Much better to speak to concierge who will hire you your own car (150 EGP for 4-5 hours) who will take you to the sites directly. More time for lounging by the pool in the afternoons!!!

Loved it, would head back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
I would like to thank you for your comments on trip advisor site.

It is a pleasure to see that you were happy with the service you received during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share us your experience.

It is always good to receive a positive feed back; your thank you notes have been conveyed to our team members who were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We really are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you back again to your second home.

Yours sincerely,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Unbeatable location - right on The River Nile. The sunsets were magic! We had fantastic rooms with a view over the Sunset Lounge, pool area & across the Nile. Colourful sunrises & views of the hot air balloons over the West Bank & superb sunsets to look at. Our requested interconnecting rooms were ready & available upon check-in, breakfast & all meals were not a problem to cater to any requests for the children, fruit was readily available throughout the hotel but could also be taken from the breakfast buffet for the day. The swimming areas were laid back & glamorous. Extra towels were given before being requested & the wet ones were replaced quickly enough.
The staff were discreet but always friendly & smiles on faces.
The Spa was superb & tucked away with it's own private entrance & pool - the kids seemed a world away. The rooms were a decent size (though the bathroom was small) & extra toileteries or towels were no problem. They even followed up after our departure.
A FANTASTIC hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4ofusDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxor, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for your kind comments on trip advisor site.

It was pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you soon again at your second home, Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,
Osman Khairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
3.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
Address: P.O.Box 13 | New Karnak, Luxor 13, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#1 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#1 Business Hotel in Luxor
#1 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you desire to visit Luxor, you will find Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa the ideal base from which to explore the rich and ancient culture of the Nile Valley. Situated on the east bank, you can enjoy glorious, unobstructed views of the river Nile from our unique, water's edge location, with the largest waterfront on the Nile. Luxor is the site of ancient Thebes, and has a legendary reputation as the world’s finest open air museum, with an unparalleled range of historic monuments. The Temple of Karnak and Valley of Kings are on our doorstep. Our newly renovated resort & spa offers the ultimate in luxury, unparalleled in Luxor. Lounge in one of our five stylish bars, perhaps smoking a shisha pipe while gazing at the Nile. Sample the finest in Egyptian, Eastern and international cuisine in one of our three restaurants Rosetta, Olives and Silk road. Hilton Luxor boasts a World Class Spa covering an area of 1,150 m², including a beautiful garden, a 160 m2 Spa Infinity Pool, and 12 individual treatment rooms. Our palatial Karnak ballroom is the most contemporary and cutting-edge Nile Valley venue for corporate events and celebrations.You will find the attention to service as immaculate as the hotel’s contemporary Arabic design, At Hilton Luxor our highly trained and dedicated staff will make you feel like a Pharaoh during your Egypt holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Hilton Luxor Resort And Spa
Luxor Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing