We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

THe hotel management and staff was very helpfull We stayed here for 8 nights

food very good and every day something else on the buffet

location on the nile beautifull

distance for luxor temple no problem free shuttle service from the hotel every hour

Room Tip: if its possible choose an de luxe room it has very nice balcony and view from second or third floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa thru the tripadvisor site. I am very honoured that you have chosen our hotel for your precious holiday time. It is my utmost pleasure to read that we exceeded your high expectations.

Many thanks for taking the time to advise us that our personalised service was up to your entire satisfaction. I shared your compliments with our team members and rest assured they are extremely pleased.

I look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, your "Home away from Home", in Egypt.

Kind Regards,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Hilton, Luxor and it was fantastic - one of the best hotels I've stayed in...service excellent, facilities great and food tremendous. Thoroughly recommended.

Tips for fellow travellers.. if you want a peaceful pool area to relax away from the noise of the main pool, try the Spa infinity pool, it's stunning in terms of location, service and facilities.

Couple of points - we booked a 'Nile View' room and the room we were allocated was a 'side' on balcony where you could see the Nile...just but it was a stretch. We complained and were then allocated a full Nile view room, no problem but it was a bit naughty to suggest that all the Nile View rooms actually have a decent view. The balcony is more ornamental than anything else, you could stand on it but no room for chairs and sitting out which was a shame.

Booking excursions. We waited till we got there to book the excursions. Be wary of who is actually a proper rep...we had two saying that they were from Thomas Cook and had all the right accreditation, both saying that the other was not insured...the office in the hotel is apparently Thomas Cook International whilst the rep who rings you up and arranges to see you is from Thomas Cook UK!! we booked a one day Nile cruise from the rep not the hotel office and were told that we could pay by credit card but only in US dollars, not Sterling. The dollar exchange rate they used was $1.98 to the pound, whereas the official exchange rate was $1.50, a 32% difference in their favour. We refused to use anything other than the official rate which was published in the paper - we got all sorts of excuses why it was different but they eventually agreed at $1.50, it helps that you can just walk away and say you'll go to the hotel office.

So don't fall for the exchange rate con....

Enjoyed the temples - the light show at Karnak was interesting but you just get the feeling that Disney would have done so much more...did try to walk round Luxor but the hawkers, shopkeepers, taxi drivers and carriage drivers were all over you all the time and it spoit the experience, so we cut it short and went back to the hotel...shame.

All in all, hotel fantastic, temples interesting, weather great...but once you're out of the hotel beware about being hassled for tips all the time.

Room Tip: Use the Spa pool, check that your Nile View room has a good view of the river
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on tripadvisor site and to share your positive impressions about the Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

I am delighted to know that our services, facilities and food exceeded your expectations. It has been a immense pleasure having you with us during your precious holidays.

Regarding your comment about the room, I would like to inform that during your stay with us we had some maintenance work so some rooms were out of order. However, I am happy to read that the room you stayed in met your satisfaction.

Looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, “your Home away from Home” in Egypt.

Kind Regards,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights as a base for visiting the local sights rather than going on a Nile cruise. Excellent hotel, right on the Nile so with marvellous views: sitting on one of the long divans outside the bar watching the sunset was perfect.

Extremely comfortable hotel which is obviously working hard to build on existing strengths. Staff standards could be a little variable , as could the food, but undoubtedly the best place to stay in Luxor- we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

I really appreciate your kind comments that you have posted on tripadvosr site about your recent stay in the Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

I am very proud to see that you enjoyed an outstanding stay for your holiday and that you judge us to be the best hotel in Luxor.

Looking forward to seeing and welcoming you soon back again to our sunny resort.

Kind regards,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the Hilton in Luxor after a week cruising the Nile and visiting all the temples etc.. The Spa is great, the food excellent, the staff and management very attentive - maybe overly so at times - we upgraded to a deluxe room which we felt was a good deal. A service charge is added to all bills so we did not feel obliged to tip all the time, only when we were exceptionally pleased with the service. Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look at upgrades to deluxe if you have booked a standard room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you indeed for your comments on tripadvsior site which really were appreciated by Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa team members.

It has been our honour to have you as our guest and we are very proud to read that our facilities and staff services exceeded your high expectations. I personally shared your positive remarks with all of the team members and rest assured that your feed back support our continued strive for excellence. Our goal is to make your stay the most memorable one and that your precious time is hassle-free.

Looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, “your Home away from Home” in Egypt.

Kind Regards,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have just returned from what is probably the finest hotel, with the most efficient management, and overall the most pleasant staff that we have ever encountered. I can add very little to all the recent glowing reviews, simply to add my endorsement. Thank you Christoph for a truly wonderfull two weeks, and many thanks to all you team. J & M R. 019

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northantsshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and impressions following your visit to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

It has been our honour to have you as our guest and to meet you personally during your stay.

We are really proud and very delighted to know that our services exceeded your expectations and that you had the most enjoyable holiday with us.

I personally shared your comments with our team members who are very happy and they will be most happy to serve you again during your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing and welcoming you soon back again to your "Home away from Home", in Egypt.

Yours sincerely,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hilton Resort & Spa Luxor

Luxor is one of those (few) places where it pays to invest a bit more on the hotel you are staying in. Hilton is apparently the best in town. Two nights in Luxor should be enough for the most as there is little to see or do other than visiting the age old temples and tombs. Hilton is worlds away from all the hassle you are likely to encounter outside.

Location

For location Hilton gets my 4 out of five points.

Hilton is located on the east bank of the Nile and about 1 kilometre from the temples of Karnak and some 3 kilometres from the Luxor Temple and the town centre. It is not exactly a prime location in relation to the major sights in the town but at least on appearance far better than the other hotels closer to the centre. Unless you are on an organised tour you will need to rely on the taxis anyway. Or better still rent your own wheels if you are not faint hearted. During day time the traffic is not extremely bad - the donkey and horse carriages being the biggest hassle. Navigate your car yourself and you'd as well be speared from the hassle you will encounter when using taxis or walking. In the night time it is somewhat more problematic as there are lots potholes and especially speed bumps on the streets.

Grounds and amenities

Taking into consideration that you are in Egypt 5 / 5 points for the grounds and especially the up keeping.

Hilton Luxor is a true five star hotel with service to match. Even though the hotel building is from 70s/80s the hotel has recently gone through a major face lift. Some of the rooms and exterior walls were still being painted and redone in October 2011. The marble lobby with its arabesque tones sets the scene: opulent at a reasonable level. There are two pools facing the Nile one level down from the lobby and a third one in the gated spa area. On the other side of the Nile you have fields and the cliffs of the Valley of the Kings.

The recent make over has cleverly managed to hide the slowly aging features and constant tending and cleaning ensures that every pillow is on its right position. Gym, spa, many restaurants and bars the hotel matches any five star locale any where.

The spa area takes up a large area of the hotel and at least while being there was largely deserted. A herbal sauna, 'Turkish bath', steam room and loads of other stuff including the trendy 'must haves' for every top hotel: the massages. I was looking for the 'Mummy Wrap' but unfortunately they only had some Cleopatra stuff on the menu ;-).

Rooms

Yet again, for Egypt, the rooms are out of 'the real world' and get my 5 / 5 points.

All rooms have balconies, some of the more modest ones over overlooking the backside of the hotel and the neighboring grounds. Rooms facing the backward and the pool area have smaller balconies than the ones facing directly the Nile. As well as in the public areas the make over has been well done. There is everything one could expect. The rooms are of standard size with some local / arabic flavours.

Service

For service 4 / 5 points - just for being a bit too pushy and fussy.

Service at the Hilton is attentive - even to the level that it may become intrusive. Once you are asked for the fourth time 'is everything all right' or 'how domyou like the food' while having your dinner one may feel the need to stick the waitrer with a fork ;-). Have plenty of small denomination Egyptian pounds with you as the number of service personnel is high - giving an odd look if you do not hand them some pounds. In mid-October there were very few guests and the staff-to-client ratio must have been at least 20:1.

Conclusions

Obviosly the best hotel in Luxor in terms of the grounds, rooms and service Hilton has a nice location facing the Nile despite it is some kilometres to the major sights in town. There is little else in Luxor than the major sights and therefore I would recommend investing on the hotel you are staying in. Just for the sake that once you see the restaurant options for dinner available in the downtown you might want to resort back to your Hilton hideaway. Even there you migh not be able to escape 'the pharaonic curse': diarrhea and severe stomach ache. There's a McDonald's next to the Luxor Temple.

Tips:

For Valley of the Kings it is about 40 kilometres by road. You will need to pass south from the Luxor city centre to get to the bridge over the Nile and then drive back north. Taking the public ferry from the downtown over the Nile might be a better option than taking a taxi all the way from your hotel. Be ready for a major hassle with the taxi drivers. If you do not have your own wheels it might be worth paying the extra for pre-booking your tour through your hotel.

Once you enter or exit any of the major sights there is a shopping area attached. Some of the sellers might turn aggressive if you even stop at their shop and do not buy anything so it's better to just run through. I'm pretty sure you can live without the stuff they are trying to sell.

Luxor Temple is better visited after the sunset. The lighting makes it far more impressive in the nighttime. It was open until 21:30 while there. Access the Temple through the underground passage on the square facing the town centre (not from the Nile side). Just look for the parked tour busses - they are many. Entrance fee 50 EGP per person in October 2011.

If you arrive early in Luxor you might do the Karnak Temple before 2 pm (entrance 65 EGP), go back to Hilton for an afternoon by the pool and after sunset leave for the Luxor Temple. On day 2 be at the Valley of the Kings before the tour busses arrive - say between 9 and 10 am. In October 2011 the extrance price was 80 and allows access tomthree tombs. Allow two or three hours for the Valley. You could ship the other sights on the West Bank exept the Temple of Hatsepsut and head again back to Hilton pool. If you are up to it the tacky Light and Sound Show at Karnak might do for evening entertainment (100 EGP per person).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Dear customer,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for the time you spent to write your feedback about your stay on tripadvisor site. It has been a great pleasure for all of us to have you with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments, which enable us to constantly strive to achieve the highest quality and service standards. Our Leitmotiv is to provide a personalized and hassle-free service to each of our guests.

We are very happy to learn that our services exceeded your expectations. I assure you that I have discussed your comment about the Spa treatment “Mummy Wrap” with the Spa Manager to see the possibility to have such this treatment offered in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future at the Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, your "Home away from Home", in Egypt.

Kind regards,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed for one week at the Hilton Resort and really enjoyed my stay. This is a special place that is both convenient for sightseeing (you can walk to Karnak Temple) and a wonderful place to relax.

As a HHonors Gold, I received a number of free perks. The resort does complimentary airport transfers in a plush SUV, complete with refreshing cold washcloths and bottled water. We were upgraded from a basic room with a city view to a deluxe room with an "oh wow" Nile view. We received fruit and other treats in the room each day. The best perk however was a total surprise for us. The hotel arranged a complimentary candlelight dinner including wine right alongside the Nile. It was very thoughtful of them and we had a great time.

In addition to the perks we received, my overall opinion of the resort is that it is of the highest class. The star attractions are the two infinity pools, one in the main area and one in the spa area. These are set nicely against the Nile and offer great views, especially for sunsets. The staff is very attentive and polite and unlike other hotels in Egypt is not constantly looking for tips. I know lots of people say they go to a hotel and like the staff, but I sincerely mean it - they were terrific.

There are some very good food options too. Breakfast is buffet and is superior to the standard Hilton fare. There are inexpensive (relatively speaking) poolside options from the restaurant on the pool level. There is also a pan-Asian place called Silk Road that was quite good too.

We really enjoyed the spa area which was very relaxing. It wasn't very crowded at the hotel so most of the time you have the entire area to yourself.

We also used the on-site Thomas Cook agency to arrange some day trips. We did some comparison shopping and they were like 10% more expensive than other options, but we were happy to pay for the convenience of booking onsite. Our guided tours were very good.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing place in Luxor. It is the nicest property in Luxor. I'm actually quite surprised this flies the Hilton flag, as it performs at a much higher standard than the typical Hilton. You will love this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen our resort to spend your holiday and for sharing your observations on the tripadvisor site. It has been a honour for all of us to have you as our guest.

I was really very happy to know that you have enjoyed your precious time with us and that our services exceeded your expectations. Your great comments about Thomas Cook will of course be shared with them and it is great to read that you followed our Leitmotiv: Relax, Unwind, Explore.

Your lovely feed back about the outstanding service you received from all of the team members made me very proud. I personally met with the team and passed your message on to them. Your appreciation is the token, which will support our continued strive for excellence.

The whole family of Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa is looking forward to seeing and welcoming you soon back again to our sunny resort.

Kind regards,
Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
3.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa

Address: P.O.Box 13 | New Karnak, Luxor 13, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#1 Business Hotel in Luxor
#1 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#1 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $110 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you desire to visit Luxor, you will find Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa the ideal base from which to explore the rich and ancient culture of the Nile Valley. Situated on the east bank, you can enjoy glorious, unobstructed views of the river Nile from our unique, water's edge location, with the largest waterfront on the Nile. Luxor is the site of ancient Thebes, and has a legendary reputation as the world’s finest open air museum, with an unparalleled range of historic monuments. The Temple of Karnak and Valley of Kings are on our doorstep. Our newly renovated resort & spa offers the ultimate in luxury, unparalleled in Luxor. Lounge in one of our five stylish bars, perhaps smoking a shisha pipe while gazing at the Nile. Sample the finest in Egyptian, Eastern and international cuisine in one of our three restaurants Rosetta, Olives and Silk road. Hilton Luxor boasts a World Class Spa covering an area of 1,150 m², including a beautiful garden, a 160 m2 Spa Infinity Pool, and 12 individual treatment rooms. Our palatial Karnak ballroom is the most contemporary and cutting-edge Nile Valley venue for corporate events and celebrations.You will find the attention to service as immaculate as the hotel’s contemporary Arabic design, At Hilton Luxor our highly trained and dedicated staff will make you feel like a Pharaoh during your Egypt holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Hilton Luxor Resort And Spa
Luxor Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing