We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Quiet Cool Courtyard in a peaceful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amon Hotel Luxor
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quiet Cool Courtyard in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Amon between June 27 & 30 with my younger son, whilst travelling around Egypt. Hotel was great, perfect a/c room overlooking the lovely courtyard Mohamed, his father and staff were really welcoming and helpful. Mohamed arranged an excellent local guide and a very helpful local taxi driver. As I scroll through over other comments made recently I can only say that I echo the comments made. No hesitation at all about recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a warm welcome, great hospitality and a tranquil West Bank location.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room at the rear of the courtyard, to enjoy the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    55
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
42
72
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had the most wonderful two night stay at this beautiful family garden hotel situated in a quiet street in the village of Gezira El Boirat near Luxor. As a solo female traveller I was well looked after and the manager Mohamed organised a local registered guide to accompany me on various trips to the temples and tombs so that I could gain as much information as possible about the history of ancient Egypt. My room was comfortable, well situated and had a balcony with a cool breeze. The food was very well cooked and very tasty. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay on the West Bank of Luxor within easy reach of the archeological sights, the Nile and the desert.

Room Tip: Third floor room with balcony front and side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DessyP890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just spent another week (early june) at this wonderful hotel. As already stated in a previous review, my stays over here keep getting better and better and I can only once again confirm this. The local community has been hit very hard by economic hardship and they really deserve much better times. The situation in the north of the country cannot be extrapolated to areas like Luxor. If you are looking for extremely interesting cultural visits, relaxing in a sunny climate or dining on marvellous food, this place has it all. If you are coming here and are willing to behave like egyptians amongst egyptians, you will be rewarded a thousandfold! Memories to last a lifetime. Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: 18 rooms in 3 separate buildings, location will not really matter. A/C and free WiFi available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a 2-day felucca trip from Aswan, we stayed in this nice hotel, calm (for a change in Egypt!), the garden is charming and the home cook food is good (1st day was excellent, 2nd day was so-so). Staying on the West bank is a great choice to avoid the hassle and enjoy a village atmosphere. Rooms have AC, balcony. Mohammed is very nice and we had great discussions about Egypt and tourism. We rent 2 bikes to visit the temples from the hotel. The free wifi is faster than most places in Egypt. We recommend to stay in this hotel where we finally feel relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastilla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful charming hotel with a beautiful garden. We spent 6 nights there, most of them with our four family members and the experience could not have been better. The hotel is clean, comfortable, cool (AC and fans in each room) and very friendly and helpful. Ahmed and Mohamed welcomed us like friends. They arranges tours with excellent drivers and guides. The location is perfect, minutes' walk from the Nile and boat taxis across to Right Bank of Luxor, and a short drive to the magnificent Valley of the Kings, Queens, Tombs of Nobles, etc. The food is delicious. Our impression was that anything one wants can be arranged in a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. I would never stay anywhere else if I went back to Luxor. The Hotel Amon makes us want to return.

Room Tip: The rooms with private bathrooms and little balconies are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family and I spent four days at Amon Hotel, and it was a delight from start to finish. All the staff were caring, and helpful, the rooms were spotless and air conditioned, and the food excellent. The garden courtyard was tranquil and relaxing, a perfect refuge after hours looking at the sights. It is ideally located on the West Bank, a few minutes walk to the river and the ferries to the East Bank, and of course not far from all West Bank sites. Mohamed organised our daily sightseeing trips, and nothing was too much. We met his charming family and showed much hospitality. A perfect family run hotel that I really recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies and each seemed as good as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eharcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My mother and I enjoyed our stay. Ahmed and Mohamed made us feel very special. The garden and views were priceless. A perfect location for exploring the region. The garden was such a relaxing place to unwind and to have a cold drink. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Great photo ops from the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 59 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.3 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#20 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#28 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Property: Amon Hotel Luxor
Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amon Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing