We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“an oasis in Luxor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amon Hotel Luxor
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an oasis in Luxor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in Luxor east last time four years ago. How glad I am to choose Gezira to stay this time, especially, Amon Hotel being the jewel of jewels. Everyday we returned from the hot, noisy, hassling outside to this delightful sanctuary which does have a beautiful garden with exotic trees and birds. The room is spacious, clean and has a private balcony to overlook the garden. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we had dinner almost everyday during our five-day stay here. The tagen (either okra or molokhia) was very tasty, ice cold beer was welcoming at reasonable price. Breakfast was fulfilling too: I often had to request to be given one egg instead of two!:) Hotel can aldo do laudry, and is easily accesible to west bank ferry as well as bicycle rentals. There is a camel/horse stable right in the next alley.

The owner, Mr. Ahmed Soliman was a gracious, respectable old gentleman who speaks very good English. He invited us to see his house nearby to get a feel of Egyptian life. The other night he drove us in his car to the Gurna village and pointed us some interesting sights not otherwise known to casual tourists. The staffs were all courteous and kind to us during our stay. We were very reluctant to leave Luxor at last but do wish to stay there again if we revisit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    56
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
42
74
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

At first, a little difficult to find. But once close- well signed. Great staff, and excellent food available. Room was clean with great courtyard view. AC was ice cold. Easy access to ferries once the hotel is found. Ordered us a taxi exactly as needed...highly recommend the hotel for the quieter side of Luxor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whysodifficult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff are great really helpful, really friendly without being overly friendly. The rooms are relaly good, in particular the balcony which overlooks the garden, overflowing with cool trees and beautiful plants. We had breakfast on our balcony every morning and it was super.

It's nice being away from the main city as it can be a bit hectic, plus you can hire bikes and go see all the different touristy activities as you're on the right side.

The ferry across is really easy, either the public ferry for 1egp or a boat for 5egp (for both of us) and then there afre clear signs to find it - you don't need a taxi

Lovely place I'd definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

What can I say. I just love this hotel. The owner is lovely, the staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast is great, dinner is tasty. The rooms are simple but spotless with lovely balconies. I love the area- it's away from the city on the North Bank of the river- so perfect for getting to the ancient sites and a 10 minute walk from the passenger ferry which will take you into town in 10 minutes and goes every 15. The hotel itself is situated in a residential area so you will get a true Egyptian experience rather than being hidden away in a chain hotel somewhere. If you want a true upper Egypt experience this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bricabrackitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff are friendly, responsive and affable. They help you with every need. The location is within walking-distance to everything you could want, including the ferryboat that takes you to the East bank. It is also a calm area.

The hotel itself is unusually nice and decorated, with a lovely and exotic garden. The rooms are very clean and tidy, with strong air-conditioning for the summer heat.

They also provide local tours, although I would recommend haggling with taxi drivers for a better price as the tours can be a bit pricey for solo backpackers.

Overall, I had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Amon hotel, and the owner of the place made me feel right at home and provided me with much local insight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigChief014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Located on the east bank tucked away is Amon Hotel. It was spacious, clean and quiet (once I managed to drown out the rooster :) Breakfast consists of omletes, toast and tea/coffee.

If you want something a bit different from the large tourists hotels on the west bank I suggest the Amon Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I loved this hotel. Super food, calm atmosphere, gorgeous garden and quiet (so rare in Egypt!). The staff is super helpful and really great. Nice and close to everything on the West Bank-- including the ferry and boats to the other side. Much much much calmer than staying on the East Bank, and much less hassle while walking around. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#18 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Property: Amon Hotel Luxor
Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amon Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing