We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and my parents for a week at the beginning of September 2010. This was my first time to Egypt.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy. If you wish to have tea and coffee facilities in your room, this is available for GBP25 a week or GBP5 a day. All rooms have a balcony, which although small, is a fantastic bonus. Our patio overlooked the central courtyard. There is a good selection of television programs available and internet access (an essential for me) was reliable and reasonably priced at LE 495 for the week.

Breakfast is a buffet offering and there is something for everyone there. You will never have an empty tea/coffee cup - sometimes we barely had taken a sip before being offered a refill. If you are not on half/full board accomodation, the buffet meals served in the same restaurant area as breakfast is expensive in comparison to the other restaurants the hotel offers. The Thai restaurant was excellent, reasonably priced and the service was very efficient. The waiter was knowledgeable of the dishes and made some excellent recommendations.

The pool area overlooks the river and has a wonderful view of the Nile's west bank. In peak season, I can imagine it being very busy but there was plenty of space and a good mix of full sun and shady areas in which to sit. The pool bar serves a good range of light meals and drinks which can be brought to your sun lounger if you wish.

There is a bank and a currency change machine in the hotel lobby which both offered a favourable rate (8.735 LE to the pound during our stay). You can also swap your large notes for smaller change, as we found tipping used up all of our small notes and coins far quicker than expected.

The service received was excellent - all members of staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel also offers boat trips for a reasonable price. Although they may not be the cheapest on offer, there is no pressure from the captains and the fee is fixed, with tips at your discretion. We took a spur of the moment sunset felucca boat trip on the Nile at a cost of LE35 each and had the most wonderful and relaxing hour out on the water. The captain was relaxed, funny and helped make the trip something worth remembering.

We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffymitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for sharing us your experience about your recent stay at Steigenberger Nile Palace, through trip advisor site.

I was very happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us . I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff which will be conveyed to them as they will appreciate them very much.

Looking forward to seeing you again to our Hotel.

Best regards
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    484
    124
    54
    35
See reviews for
346
877
130
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Would definately recommend this hotel to all. Its attractive, clean and the staff will do anything to make you feel welcome.
The buffet breakfast has much variety, something for all. Hotel caters for all ages.
Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiedophieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor site.

It is pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that the staff efforts ended up to your enjoyment.

Hope to give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Overall this was a good hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was nice. There wasn't a lot of noise after the courtyard show was over(10ish) Saw the show from my balcony and it was a bit cheesy. Most of the guests here are European and British.

The pool area is on the small side. Most people sightsee in the morning to beat the heat and hang out at the pool in the afternoon which was crowded at this time.

There is a huge breakfast buffet which was fairly good. We ate at the Italian and Thai restaurants and they were ok. There are plenty of other restaurants within in walking distances and a lot of them serve beer and wine which is not common in the rest of Egypt.

It is much quieter here than Cairo. There are plenty of taxis with or without A/C.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trene123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments on trip advisor site about your recent stay at our hotel .

I was delighted to see that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. It is also a relief to read your encouraging feedback about the hotel and food.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again to your second home, Steigenberger Nile Palace

Best regards
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights at the nile palace through thomson holidays. We found all of the staff friendly and they could not do enough for you. We upgraded to a nile view room and asked for a high floor. Definatly worth paying that little bit extra as our room was lovely and the views of the nile and sunset are spectacular. We ate in all 3 of the themed restaurants and found them all reasonably priced and tasty, particulary the thai restaurant.
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and available from 06.30 - 10.30. And if you have an early start for an excursion then you can request a breakfast box that you can collect from reception on your way out.
The pool was lovely and there were plenty of sun loungers to go around. Towels are free for hotel guests and the pool bar serves meals and drinks to your lounger which is heaven!
We tried a few restaurants outside of the hotel and we found them to be a lot cheaper but not as good quality. Go to the Kings head pub (right opposite the hotel entrance) for cheap drinks and a very 'english' atmosphere.
We have tryed to think of something about the hotel that we were not happy with but we can't! It is beautiful, located perfectly for all excursions/places of interest, has spectacular views and serves excellent food. I would definatly recommend it for couples/families and I hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments on trip advisor site.

The pleasure was extremely ours having you and hosting you in our property Steigenberger Nile Palace.

It is always good to receive a positive feedback. Many thanks for taking the time to advise us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to your second home, Steigenberger Nile Palace .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel is excellently situated, with the required Nile views, but quite walkable into town. Most importantly the public minibuses run past the door, and so you can get around very cheaply (though if you use them you may annoy the taxi drivers!). On the side streets nearby are a wide range of restaurants and cafes, and so we ate very well.
Our room faced the street, which was fine, as there was little noise, and the tiny balcony was actually quite pleasant to sit on (and very good for drying swimming costumes).
Breakfast was a vast buffet, with plenty of choice. My eccentric request for hot water rather than tea or coffee was always swiftly and cheerfully sorted by the charming waiting staff. We took breakfast outside some mornings, enjoying the attention of friendly cats.
The pool is a fair size, and we enjoyed it, but it might struggle to cope when the hotel is full. Towels are readily available and the poolside area is very pleasant.
We only took one evening meal in the hotel, at the Italian restaurant, which was nothing special. The meal was perfectly adequate, but about 30% more expensive than in Italian restaurants nearby. The Lebanese restaurant is even pricier, and had a more restricted selection than we're used to on the Edgware Road.
The hotel is outstanding value for money. We used it as a base for doing our own rather thorough sightseeing, but clearly many people were happy to spend their days around the pool and others took their package operators' excursions. It had a much more democratic clientele than I was expecting, but I imagine that it is used by several major British and European package operators. An international 5 star is often stuffy, but that was not the case here, and everyone seemed pretty relaxed.
Don't go for the entertainment! You've got satellite tv in the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hotel is located on the banks of the Nile, a superb location, and within walking distance of Luxor centre.
The hotel I have stayed at twice before and within the last 12 months, the last stay extended due to flight disruptions, my most recent stay August was a single parent family holiday, and was pleasantly surprised that hotel staff not only remembered my children, but greeted them with their first names, not something I have experienced in any other hotel.
The hotel was as always, very clean with all staff very helpful and friendly, which makes for a very relaxing holiday.
Looking forward to my fourth visit to this hotel in December.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnalyticsConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just returned from a two week holiday in Luxor. The Steigenberger hotel was great. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel and pool area was clean and well kept. The Nile view room was fantastic as you watch the sun set every evening. Food in the Nubian restaurant was very good and varied each night. I would definitely stay in this hotel again in the future. August is extremely hot, so if you can't take the heat go later in the year.

Outside the hotel there are lots of cab drivers and carriage drivers waiting to take you for rides and excursions. This does get on your nerves a bit as they don't always take no for an answer so you have to be firm and walk away. There are other local companies near the hotel that will do the same excursions for about half the price of your tour operator.
Overall, great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing