We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here in April/May 2013 and found that the best thing about the hotel was the service. It claims to be a 5 star hotel but we found certain items missing which I would expect at a 5 star hotel i.e slippers, bath robes.

The Thai restaurant at the Steigenberger served up some nice food but the other restaurants were poor. I would recommend one of the local restaurants as there are a couple of decent ones in the area.

The room itself was of a good standard and clean and the sleep quality very good. The location was great to get around Egypt and there is a tour operator opposite the hotel- very useful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review here on Trip Advisor .It was nice to know that the service met your expectations. We sincerely apologize for you not receiving the amenities that you mention. We would have certainly obliged if you had requested these items.
The missed items that you highlight in your review are available in all of our “superior” rooms
Also, we apologize if the restaurants that you mention did not meet your expectations. We strive to ensure that all our guests are entirely satisfied at every restaurant and we always improve on any negative feedback when notified by our guests.
However, despite this issue it appears that you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope that you will return sometime in the future.
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    493
    126
    55
    36
See reviews for
353
886
135
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I will be returning to the hotel again in a couple of weeks and I cannot wait to get myself spoilt once again by the attentive, understand and patient members of staff, they make you feel like an extended family member.
The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, well equipped and very well look after by a fantastic room service staff.
I will review the hotel again after my stay, but I am certain everything will be extremely positive, I can't wait to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank 186337Geoff1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you Geoff for your pre-holiday review!
Its appears that you are looking forward to returning to your second home here at Steigenberger.As always, we will look forward to seeing you once again and will give you the best possible service…
Nile Palace awaits you!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our stay at the Steigenberger in Luxor was nothing less than FANTASTIC!! We were treated like "family" every single day. The rooms are very comfortable (get a Nile view room on the 3rd or 4th floor...it's a wonderful view day or night), the service is absolutely the best, and the food and drinks are excellent. During these trying political times in Egypt, the Luxor area is quite safe. In the 8 days that we were there (and visiting many historical sites from Luxor to Abu Simbal), we did not experience any dangerous moments. The people of southern Egypt need tourists badly....especially the Luxor to Abu Simbal area. Tourism is really all they have to offer the visitor in order to feed, house, and clothe their families. You will not be disappointed with all of the temples, tombs, and other archaeological finds. The trip is well worth every Egyptian pound.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms are the best to book....or, the suites facing the Nile. Sitting on the balcony early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank GlobalGalloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It was lovely to receive your review so promptly…and also a pleasure to host such a nice couple like your selves in our hotel. On meeting you on several occasions during your stay with us it appeared that you were delighted with the hospitality which you received both in and outside of the hotel. It was reassuring to learn that you felt safe and enjoyed the history which Egypt including Luxor is so famous for. As an American couple travelling to Egypt it was a joy to know that you had a peaceful and relaxing holiday!
We hope that you and your wife Jean will return, as you mentioned prior to your departure. You will certainly be welcomed back as part of our family here at the Steigenberger! Thank you for your outstanding review it is much appreciated.

Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham, glos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for one week after a week on the nile in june 2012 - I'm only writing my review now as have only just realised I didn't do it at the time! We had already been pleasantly surprised by the food quality, cleanliness and pleasantness of staff on the cruise but this hotel was something else. It called itself 5 star and it really was. We upgraded to a nile view room (which I cannot recommend enough) which had a huge balcony from which to watch the beautiful sunsets of an evening and it also came with a huge bed which was so comfortable I would have loved to bring it home! The room and indeed all areas of the hotel were spotless and the staff were all very friendly and helpful and clearly took great pride in working there. We did only eat breakfast at the hotel simply because we wanted to explore but that also leads me on to another point that the hotel is brilliantly located if you do want to eat out as most nice restaurants were pretty much just across the road. That said, breakfast at the hotel was lovely and I expect other meals would also meet the standards set everywhere else. We absolutely loved our stay here and as soon as we can get back to luxor this is where we'll stay. Incidentally, I know we were there before things got really 'bad' in Egypt but tourists were already staying away - elections were on while we were there but we felt completely safe the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank slv30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and we do hope that you will return again.
Thank you for mentioning the amenities within our hotel.
It is always lovely to receive comments from our guests residing in the USA.
Nile Palace awaits your return!!
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

lovely courtyard with nice places to eat and friendly staff. Room was pretty basic but we did get a balcony. Lots of breakfast choices but very busy with only one sitting. Not a 5 star hotel - maybe the top rooms are. However nice views of the Nile.

Helpful?
4 Thank funkiestginger
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It seems that you had a nice stay with us and found all the amenities including the restaurants to be of a high standard. However, we do apologize if you felt that the hotel was not a five star standard.
We hope that you will continue to use the Steigenberger name in the future.
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Steigenberger's design and services are excellent. Despite of the recession in tourism, the hotel employees maintain high levels of activity and their attitude helps this fantastic hotel keep the status as the Nile Palace. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank EducationalPaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your supportive opinions during these trying times for Egypt. Despite the past troubles in Cairo it is important for us to continue to provide the best possible service for all of our valued guests at present and in the future…
We hope that you will use our facilities again and invite you to stay with us should your travels bring you this way again….
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week whilst sightseeing in Luxor. When we first arrived I wasn't too sure we had made the right choice as from the outside it didn't seem like much. However one step inside and I was sold. The hotel is much bigger than it seemed and it was elegant in its decoration. A large courtyard with a fountain and huge baskets of flowers was the perfect place to eat in the evenings with the food being good value for money. We ate in both the Italian and Lebanese resteraunt which served us lovely meals. Breakfast had lots of choice, and y could eat outside facing the Nile. The swimming pool was small, but it never felt overcrowded and was easy to get sun loungers which was perfect after a busy day sightseeing. There was even loungers that faced straight into the Nile where u could watch all the traditional boats passing by. Our room was big and was always cleaned to high standards. Our balcony faces onto the straight, which provided us with entertainment every night from the locals passing by on overloaded donkeys and carts! All the staff were very friendly and the location if the hotel was perfect for sightseeing! There was also many resteraunts, bars and shops straight on our doorstep. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Chisy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to place a review here on wonderful Trip Advisor.
It appears that all the amenities within the hotel met your expectations especially our range of beautiful restaurants….We hope that you will recommend us to any future guests visiting Luxor. We invite you to return and it was lovely to host such a lovely couple like yourselves!!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#15 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing